Full-text search

Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator



Foreign Investment

What are International Investments?

The Swiss National Bank draws a distinction between ‘direct investment' and ‘portfolio investment'. Direct investment refers to general capital outlays from an investor made for the purpose of influencing the business activities of a company abroad in a direct and lasting manner. Statistically, international direct investment includes the following two cases: formation of a subsidiary or branch office abroad or an investor shareholding with voting rights of at least 10% in a foreign company. In contrast, portfolio investment occurs when capital is invested abroad without the intention of directly influencing company management. Examples of portfolio investment include: debt certificates (money market securities, bonds), dividend-paying securities (shares, participation certificates, profit certificates) and mutual fund certificates.

Economic Importance of Foreign Investment for Switzerland 

As in most other countries, international investments are a key factor for economic growth and prosperity in Switzerland. Swiss-based companies have traditionally exported not just industrial goods and services but also capital, particularly in the form of direct investment. At the same time, Switzerland has successfully positioned itself as a location for capital investment from abroad.

According to the Swiss National Bank, the stock of direct investment by Swiss companies in production, distribution and research facilities abroad stood at CHF 809 billion by the end of 2008. In addition to large-sized enterprises, there are also several thousand small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) that have contributed. Combined, they employ nearly 2.44 million people outside of Switzerland. In comparison, foreign direct investment (FDI) in Switzerland currently stands at CHF 467 billion (2008), which corresponds to roughly 242,000 jobs. Compared to other countries, Switzerland maintains relatively high levels of foreign direct investment (FDI). This can be seen in the ratio between the level of Swiss foreign direct investment (FDI) and gross domestic product (GDP). According to the Swiss National Bank, the ratio at the end of 2008 was 149%. The importance of foreign investment for the Swiss economy can also be seen from a historical perspective as the stock of Swiss FDI has quadrupled since 2000.

What Role does SECO play with respect to International Investment?

The State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) is responsible for negotiating international law disciplines on foreign investment, particularly in the form of bilateral investment promotion and protection agreements (BITs). These agreements seek to protect Swiss foreign direct investments in the event that the recipient country's government acts in breach of international law. In investment chapters of free trade agreements, SECO negotiates the terms for market access of (direct) investments so as to ensure that international law provisions apply to all economic activities carried out by Swiss companies in the recipient country, i.e. that no restrictions are placed on the right to establish business activities and that discriminatory practices are avoided. SECO represents Switzerland in bodies of international institutions dealing with investment policy and investment law (e.g. WTO, OECD, UNCTAD, etc.). It is also actively involved in the formulation of Swiss investment policy (e.g. the handling of sovereign wealth funds in Switzerland).

International Investment Rules relevant to Switzerland 

WTO
International rules on investment have been established multilaterally within the framework of the World Trade Organization (WTO) through the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) and the Agreement on Trade-Related Investment Measures (TRIMS). Attempts at the Doha Round to broaden the scope of international investment rules to include non-services sectors failed in 2004 when capital exporting and importing countries were unable to reconcile their different expectations.

OECD
As a multilateral regulatory framework, the OECD's Code of Liberalisation of Capital Movements is also important for Switzerland. Under this code, Switzerland undertakes to refrain from discriminatory practices against foreign investments made by investors from fellow OECD member countries, regardless of the economic sector involved. At the same time, Swiss investors may also benefit from the principle of non-discrimination for their investments in other OECD member countries. The OECD's Code of Liberalisation of Capital Movements and its Code of Liberalisation of Current Invisible Operations allow for certain reservations that have to be spelled out in lists. Attempts to reach a comprehensive Multilateral Agreement on Investment (MAI), which would have liberalised and afforded protection to international investments and introduced legally binding dispute settlement mechanisms, failed in 1998 after several years of negotiations.

Multilateral Investment Rules applying to specific sectors
As far as multilateral investment rules applying to specific sectors are concerned, Switzerland adheres to the Energy Charter Treaty (ECT), which affords investment protection for non-commercial risks associated with investments in the energy sector. The ECT also includes an investor-state dispute settlement mechanism. However, an initially planned schedule to this treaty that would have covered the liberalisation of investments in the energy sector did not materialise. The ECT is the first multilateral investment treaty that includes a dispute settlement mechanism. In addition to Switzerland, the signatory countries to the ECT include all EU member states, all Balkan countries as well as all members of the Commonwealth of Independent States CIS (with the exception of Russia) and Japan.

Bilateral Investment Promotion and Protection Agreements (BITs)
Due to the absence of a multilateral framework to protect international investments, Switzerland negotiates on bilateral tracks international law disciplines on the protection of investments in the form of BITS. There are over 2,500 such agreements worldwide, a complex network which explains the interest in a multilateral solution. Additional information regarding the bilateral investment treaties of other countries can be found on the UNCTAD website. Switzerland also negotiates free trade agreements through the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), some of which contain provisions on investment.


End Content Area

Full-text search



http://www.seco.admin.ch/themen/00513/00594/04174/index.html?lang=en

Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO

Diese Ausgabe ist für Browser ohne zureichende CSS-Unterstützung gedacht und richtet sich vor allem an Sehbehinderte. Alle Inhalte sind auch mit älteren Browsern voll nutzbar. Für eine grafisch ansprechendere Ansicht verwenden Sie aber bitte einen moder

Beginn Sprachwahl



Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Auslandinvestitionen

Was ist eine internationale Investition?

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank unterscheidet zwischen Direktinvestitionen und Portfolioinvestitionen. Unter Direktinvestitionen werden allge­mein Kapitalanlagen verstanden, die ein Investor vornimmt, um die Ge­schäftstätigkeit eines Unternehmens im Aus­land direkt und dauerhaft zu beeinflussen. Statistisch als internationale Direktinvestitionen erfasst werden die Gründung einer Tochtergesell­schaft oder Zweigniederlassung im Ausland sowie die Beteiligung eines Investors von mindestens 10% am stimmberechtigten Kapital einer Unternehmung im Ausland. Internationale Portfolioinvestitionen sind demgegenüber Kapitalbeteiligungen im Aus­land, die ohne Absicht direkter Management-Beeinflussung vorgenommen werden, wie z.B. Schuldtitel (Geldmarktpapiere, Obligatio­nen), Dividendenpapiere (Aktien, Partizipationsscheine, Genussscheine) und Anlage­fondszertifikate. 

Volkswirtschaftliche Bedeutung von Auslandinvestitionen für die Schweiz

Internationale Investitionen sind für die Schweiz, wie auch für die meisten anderen Volkswirtschaften, ein zentraler Faktor für Wirtschaftswachstum und Wohlstand. Die Schweiz hat nicht nur eine Tradition als Ausfuhrland für Industriegüter und Dienst­leistungen. Seit langem exportieren hier an­sässige Unternehmen auch bedeutende Kapi­talien, insbesondere in Form von sog. Direktinvestitionen. Gleichzeitig bietet sich die Schweiz mit Erfolg als Standort für Kapi­talanlagen aus dem Ausland an.

Gemäss der Schweizerischen Nationalbank beläuft sich der statistische Wert der als Pro­duktions-, Distributions- und Forschungs­einrichtungen von Schweizer Wirtschaftsak­teuren im Ausland gehaltenen Direktinvestitionen per Ende 2008 auf 809 Mrd. CHF. Neben den grossen Konzernen sind auch mehrere Tausend kleinere und mittlere Unter­nehmen (KMU) daran beteiligt. Gemeinsam beschäftigen sie im Ausland fast 2.44 Mio. Personen. Umgekehrt erreicht der Bestand aus­ländischer Direktinvestitionen in unserem Land derzeit 467 Mrd. CHF (2008), was 242 000 Arbeitsplätzen entspricht. Die Schweiz verfügt im Vergleich mit anderen Ländern über verhältnismässig hohe Direktinvestitionen im Ausland. Dies zeigt sich am Verhältnis zwischen dem Bestand der schweizerischen Direktinvestitionen im Ausland und dem Bruttoinlandprodukt (BIP), welches gemäss der Schweizerischen Nationalbank Ende 2008 bei 149% lag. Auch in einer historischen Perspektive wird die Bedeutung von Auslandinvestitionen für die schweizerische Volkswirtschaft ersichtlich, denn seit dem Jahr 2000 hat sich der Kapitalbestand schweizerischer Investitionen im Ausland vervierfacht.

Welche Rolle spielt das SECO im Bereich internationale Investitionen?

Das Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft (SECO) ist zuständig für die Verhandlung von völkerrechtlichen Investitionsdisziplinen. Solche werden in erster Linie im Rahmen von bilateralen Investitionsschutzabkommen (ISA) verhandelt. Diese Abkommen bezwecken den Schutz schweizerischer Auslandinvestitionen vor völkerrechtswidrigem Handeln des Gaststaates der Investition. Im Rahmen von Investitionskapiteln in Freihandelsabkommen verhandelt das SECO Marktzugangsdisziplinen für (Direkt)investitionen, womit Niederlassungsbedingungen und die nicht-diskriminierenden Rahmenbedingungen für die Wirtschaftstätigkeit im Investitionsland völkerrechtlich abgesichert werden. Das SECO vertritt die Schweiz in investitionspolitischen und investitionsrechtlichen Gremien internationaler Wirtschaftsorganisationen (WTO, OECD, UNCTAD etc.) und beteiligt sich massgeblich an der Formulierung investitionspolitischer Positionen der Schweiz (z.B. zur Behandlung von Staatsfonds in der Schweiz).

Für die Schweiz relevante internationale Investitionsregeln 

WTO
Das WTO-Recht enthält mit dem Allgemeinen Abkommen über den Handel mit Dienstleistungen (GATS) und dem Abkommen über handelsrelevante Investitionsmassnahmen (TRIMS) multilaterale völkerrechtliche Investitionsregeln. Der Versuch, im Rahmen der Doha-Runde völkerrechtliche Investitionsdisziplinen auch auf Investitionen in Nicht-Dienstleistungssektoren auszudehnen scheiterte 2004 an den unterschiedlichen Erwartungen von kapitalexportierenden und -importierenden Staaten.

OECD
Als plurilaterale Investitionsregeln sind für die Schweiz aber auch die im Rahmen der OECD vereinbarten Regelungen bezüglich der Liberalisierung von Investitionen wichtig. Gegenüber den anderen OECD-Staaten verpflichtet sich die Schweiz zur Nicht-Diskriminierung von ausländischen Investitionen in allen Sektoren seiner Volkswirtschaft. Umgekehrt kommen Schweizer Investoren in den anderen OECD-Mitgliedstaaten in den Genuss der Nicht-Diskriminierungsverpflichtung. Die OECD-Kodizes zur Liberalisierung des Kapitalverkehrs und der laufenden unsichtbaren Transaktionen lassen gewisse Ausnahmen zu, welche aber ausgewiesen werden müssen. Der Versuch, ein umfassendes multilaterales Investitionsabkommen (Multilateral Agreement on Investment, MAI) abzuschliessen, das die Liberalisierung und den Schutz von internationalen Investitionen sowie rechtlich verbindliche Streitschlichtungsmechanismen enthalten hätte, scheiterte 1998 nach mehrjährigen Verhandlungen.

Sektorspezifische plurilaterale Investitionsregeln
Sektorspezifische plurilaterale Investitionsregeln gelten für die Schweiz im Energiebereich im Rahmen des Energiechartavertrages.  Er gewährt Investitionsschutz vor nichtkommerziellen Risiken für getätigte Investitionen und enthält einen Investor-Staat Streitschlichtungsmechanismus. Nicht zustande gekommen ist ein ursprünglich vorgesehener Zusatzvertrag über die Liberalisierung von Investitionen im Bereich Energie. Der Energiechartavertrag ist der erste multilaterale Investitionsvertrag mit Streitschlichtungsmechanismen überhaupt. Vertragsparteien sind nebst der Schweiz sämtliche EU- Staaten, alle übrigen Länder des Balkans, die Länder der Gemeinschaft Unabhängiger Staaten GUS (mit Ausnahme Russlands) sowie Japan.

Investitionsschutzabkommen ISA
Mangels eines globalen Investionsschutzregimes verhandelt die Schweiz auf bilateralem Weg völkerrechtliche Investitionsschutzregeln und zwar in der Form von bilateralen Investitionsschutzabkommen.  Weltweit gibt es über 2'500 solcher Abkommen, was die Rechtslage zum Teil unübersichtlich macht und das Interesse an einer multilateralen Lösung erklärt. Weitere Informationen über ISA anderer Staaten finden sich auf der Webseite der UNCTAD.  Im Rahmen der EFTA verhandelt die Schweiz auch Freihandelsabkommen, welche teilweise über Investitionsregeln verfügen.


Ende Inhaltsbereich

Volltextsuche



Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO
Kontakt | Rechtliche Grundlagen
http://www.seco.admin.ch/themen/00513/00594/04174/index.html?lang=de