Full-text search

Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator



Foreign Investment

What are International Investments?

The Swiss National Bank draws a distinction between ‘direct investment' and ‘portfolio investment'. Direct investment refers to general capital outlays from an investor made for the purpose of influencing the business activities of a company abroad in a direct and lasting manner. Statistically, international direct investment includes the following two cases: formation of a subsidiary or branch office abroad or an investor shareholding with voting rights of at least 10% in a foreign company. In contrast, portfolio investment occurs when capital is invested abroad without the intention of directly influencing company management. Examples of portfolio investment include: debt certificates (money market securities, bonds), dividend-paying securities (shares, participation certificates, profit certificates) and mutual fund certificates.

Economic Importance of Foreign Investment for Switzerland 

As in most other countries, international investments are a key factor for economic growth and prosperity in Switzerland. Swiss-based companies have traditionally exported not just industrial goods and services but also capital, particularly in the form of direct investment. At the same time, Switzerland has successfully positioned itself as a location for capital investment from abroad.

According to the Swiss National Bank, the stock of direct investment by Swiss companies in production, distribution and research facilities abroad stood at CHF 809 billion by the end of 2008. In addition to large-sized enterprises, there are also several thousand small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) that have contributed. Combined, they employ nearly 2.44 million people outside of Switzerland. In comparison, foreign direct investment (FDI) in Switzerland currently stands at CHF 467 billion (2008), which corresponds to roughly 242,000 jobs. Compared to other countries, Switzerland maintains relatively high levels of foreign direct investment (FDI). This can be seen in the ratio between the level of Swiss foreign direct investment (FDI) and gross domestic product (GDP). According to the Swiss National Bank, the ratio at the end of 2008 was 149%. The importance of foreign investment for the Swiss economy can also be seen from a historical perspective as the stock of Swiss FDI has quadrupled since 2000.

What Role does SECO play with respect to International Investment?

The State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) is responsible for negotiating international law disciplines on foreign investment, particularly in the form of bilateral investment promotion and protection agreements (BITs). These agreements seek to protect Swiss foreign direct investments in the event that the recipient country's government acts in breach of international law. In investment chapters of free trade agreements, SECO negotiates the terms for market access of (direct) investments so as to ensure that international law provisions apply to all economic activities carried out by Swiss companies in the recipient country, i.e. that no restrictions are placed on the right to establish business activities and that discriminatory practices are avoided. SECO represents Switzerland in bodies of international institutions dealing with investment policy and investment law (e.g. WTO, OECD, UNCTAD, etc.). It is also actively involved in the formulation of Swiss investment policy (e.g. the handling of sovereign wealth funds in Switzerland).

International Investment Rules relevant to Switzerland 

WTO
International rules on investment have been established multilaterally within the framework of the World Trade Organization (WTO) through the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) and the Agreement on Trade-Related Investment Measures (TRIMS). Attempts at the Doha Round to broaden the scope of international investment rules to include non-services sectors failed in 2004 when capital exporting and importing countries were unable to reconcile their different expectations.

OECD
As a multilateral regulatory framework, the OECD's Code of Liberalisation of Capital Movements is also important for Switzerland. Under this code, Switzerland undertakes to refrain from discriminatory practices against foreign investments made by investors from fellow OECD member countries, regardless of the economic sector involved. At the same time, Swiss investors may also benefit from the principle of non-discrimination for their investments in other OECD member countries. The OECD's Code of Liberalisation of Capital Movements and its Code of Liberalisation of Current Invisible Operations allow for certain reservations that have to be spelled out in lists. Attempts to reach a comprehensive Multilateral Agreement on Investment (MAI), which would have liberalised and afforded protection to international investments and introduced legally binding dispute settlement mechanisms, failed in 1998 after several years of negotiations.

Multilateral Investment Rules applying to specific sectors
As far as multilateral investment rules applying to specific sectors are concerned, Switzerland adheres to the Energy Charter Treaty (ECT), which affords investment protection for non-commercial risks associated with investments in the energy sector. The ECT also includes an investor-state dispute settlement mechanism. However, an initially planned schedule to this treaty that would have covered the liberalisation of investments in the energy sector did not materialise. The ECT is the first multilateral investment treaty that includes a dispute settlement mechanism. In addition to Switzerland, the signatory countries to the ECT include all EU member states, all Balkan countries as well as all members of the Commonwealth of Independent States CIS (with the exception of Russia) and Japan.

Bilateral Investment Promotion and Protection Agreements (BITs)
Due to the absence of a multilateral framework to protect international investments, Switzerland negotiates on bilateral tracks international law disciplines on the protection of investments in the form of BITS. There are over 2,500 such agreements worldwide, a complex network which explains the interest in a multilateral solution. Additional information regarding the bilateral investment treaties of other countries can be found on the UNCTAD website. Switzerland also negotiates free trade agreements through the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), some of which contain provisions on investment.


End Content Area

Full-text search



http://www.seco.admin.ch/themen/00513/00594/04174/index.html?lang=en

Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie SECO

La présente édition est conçue pour les navigateurs sans soutien CSS suffisant et s'adresse en priorité aux malvoyants. Tous les contenus peuvent également être visualisés à l'aide de navigateurs plus anciens. Pour une meilleure visualisation graphique, il est toutefois recommandé d'utiliser un navigateur plus moderne comme Mozilla 1,4 ou Internet Explorer 6.

Début sélection langue



Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Investissements étrangers

Qu'est-ce qu'un investissement international?

La Banque nationale suisse (BNS) fait une distinction entre les investissements directs et les investissements de portefeuille. Par investissements directs, elle entend les placements effectués par un investisseur en vue d'influer directement et durablement sur les activités d'une entreprise à l'étranger. Sur le plan statistique, sont considérés comme investissements directs internationaux la création d'une filiale ou d'une succursale à l'étranger, ainsi que l'acquisition, par un investisseur, d'au moins 10 % des titres conférant droit de vote, au capital d'une entreprise à l'étranger. Les investissements de portefeuille internationaux, quant à eux, sont les participations au capital à l'étranger prises sans intention d'influer directement sur la gestion, par exemple les titres de créance (titres à court terme, obligations), les titres de participation (actions, bons de participation, certificats de jouissance) et les parts de fonds de placement.

Importance des investissements étrangers pour l'économie suisse

Pour la Suisse comme pour la plupart des économies, les investissements internationaux constituent l'un des principaux facteurs participant à la croissance économique et à la prospérité. La Suisse n'exporte pas seulement des produits industriels et des services; depuis longtemps, des entreprises sises en Suisse exportent un important volume de capitaux, en particulier sous forme d'investissements directs. Mais la Suisse attire également beaucoup de capitaux étrangers.

Selon la BNS, la valeur statistique des investissements directs sous forme de sites de production, de distribution et de recherche détenus par des acteurs suisses à l'étranger s'élevait à quelque 809 milliards de francs à la fin de 2008. Ces acteurs sont des grandes sociétés, mais aussi plusieurs milliers de PME. Elles emploient au total près de 2,44 millions de personnes à l'étranger. A l'inverse, les investissements directs étrangers en Suisse s'élevaient à 467 milliards de francs en 2008 et correspondaient à 242 000 emplois. Par rapport à d'autres pays, la Suisse effectue des investissements directs relativement importants à l'étranger. Ce constat ressort du rapport entre les investissements directs suisses à l'étranger et le PIB, qui, selon la BNS, était de 149 % à la fin de 2008. Sur le plan historique aussi, l'importance des investissements étrangers pour l'économie suisse est manifeste, puisque, depuis l'an 2000, le volume des capitaux suisses investis à l'étranger a quadruplé.

Quel est le rôle du SECO en matière d'investissements internationaux?

Le SECO est chargé de négocier les engagements internationaux pris par la Suisse en matière d'investissements, principalement dans le cadre d'accords bilatéraux de promotion et de protection réciproque des investissements (APPI). Ces accords visent à protéger les investissements étrangers directs de la Suisse contre les pratiques contraires au droit international dans le pays où l'investissement est réalisé. Dans le cadre du chapitre consacré aux investissements dans les accords de libre-échange, le SECO négocie les conditions d'accès au marché pour les investissements (directs), qui permettent de garantir sur le plan du droit international les conditions d'établissement et des conditions-cadre non discriminatoires applicables aux activités économiques dans le pays de destination des investissements. Le SECO représente la Suisse dans les comités des organisations internationales (OMC, OCDE, CNUCED, etc.) qui traitent des investissements sous les angles politique et juridique; il joue un rôle de premier plan dans la formulation des positions de la Suisse en matière d'investissements (p. ex. concernant le traitement des fonds souverains en Suisse).


Les règles relatives aux investissements internationaux pertinentes pour la Suisse

OMC
La législation de l'OMC contient deux accords multilatéraux prévoyant des règles relatives aux investissements: l'Accord général sur le commerce des services (AGCS) et l'Accord sur les mesures concernant les investissements et liées au commerce (TRIMS). La tentative faite dans le cadre du cycle de Doha, qui visait à étendre aux secteurs autres que les services les conditions d'investissement garanties par le droit international, a échoué en 2004 du fait des attentes trop divergentes des Etats exportateurs de capitaux, d'une part, et des Etats importateurs de capitaux, d'autre part.

OCDE
La Suisse doit également respecter les règles plurilatérales relatives aux investissements conclues dans le cadre de l'OCDE (Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques) concernant la libéralisation des investissements. Elle s'engage à ne pas pratiquer de discrimination envers les investissements des autres pays de l'OCDE sur son territoire, quel que soit le secteur économique concerné. Inversement, les investisseurs suisses bénéficient également du principe de non-discrimination dans les Etats membres de l'OCDE. Les codes de l'OCDE sur la libération des mouvements de capitaux et des opérations invisibles courantes prévoient certaines exceptions, qui doivent être dûment justifiées. La conclusion d'un accord multilatéral sur l'investissement (AMI) qui aurait réglé la libéralisation et la protection des investissements internationaux et inclus des mécanismes de règlement des différends juridiquement contraignants a échoué en 1998, après plusieurs années de négociations.  

Règles plurilatérales et sectorielles en matière d'investissement
Pour la Suisse, des règles plurilatérales et sectorielles en matière d'investissement s'appliquent dans le domaine de l'énergie en vertu du Traité sur la Charte de l'énergie. Celui-ci protège les investissements réalisés contre les risques non commerciaux et prévoit un mécanisme de règlement des différends entre un investisseur et un Etat. Un accord complémentaire portant sur la libéralisation des investissements dans le domaine de l'énergie, initialement prévu, n'a pas vu le jour. Le Traité sur la Charte de l'énergie est le tout premier accord multilatéral en matière d'investissement à prévoir des procédures de règlement des différends. Outre la Suisse, les parties contractantes sont: tous les Etats membres de l'UE, tous les autres Etats des Balkans, les Etats membres de la Communauté des Etats indépendants (CEI), à l'exception de la Russie, et le Japon.

Accords de promotion et de protection réciproque des investissements (APPI)
A défaut de régime mondial de protection des investissements, la Suisse négocie au niveau bilatéral des règles de protection des investissements relevant du droit international, et ce sous forme d'accords bilatéraux de promotion et de protection réciproque des investissements. A l'échelle mondiale, il existe plus de 2500 accords de ce type, une complexité juridique qui explique bien l'intérêt pour une solution multilatérale. De plus amples informations concernant les APPI sont disponibles sur le site de la CNUCED. La Suisse négocie en outre des accords de libre-échange dans le cadre de l'AELE, dont certains contiennent des dispositions en matière d'investissements.



Fin secteur de contenu

Recherche plein texte



Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie SECO
Contact | Informations juridiques
http://www.seco.admin.ch/themen/00513/00594/04174/index.html?lang=fr