International CSR Standards and Developments

Over the last few years, corporate social responsibility (CSR) has gained importance on the international stage and undergone conceptual changes. New tools have been developed and existing ones updated and enhanced. After the ISO 26000 Guidance on Social Responsibility was published in 2010, the updated OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises and the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights were released in 2011. The UN Sustainable Development Goals of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, which appeared in 2015, also emphasise the contribution the private sector can make to sustainable development.

OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises

The OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises constitute comprehensive recommendations for conduct provided by governments to multinational enterprises. They help enterprises exercise their responsibility and can be applied wherever the enterprises operate. The OECD guidelines are not legally binding but the National Contact Points (NCPs) of the signatory states support their implementation. Any suspected breaches against the OECD guidelines can be reported to the NCPs, which offer a platform for dialogue or a mediation procedure. Sector-specific guidelines (covering minerals, agriculture, textiles, finance, etc.) support implementation of the OECD guidelines and enterprises’ due diligence in particular.

UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights

The UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights include 31 principles and are based on three pillars:

  1. State duty: Countries must take the necessary measures (e.g. laws, incentives and awareness raising) to protect the population from human rights abuses, including by private agents (enterprises included).
  2. Corporate responsibility: Enterprises must respect human rights and to this end must exercise due diligence in proportion to the circumstances.
  3. Access to remedy: Countries and enterprises have a responsibility to facilitate effective remediation for those affected by means of judicial and extrajudicial measures.

The principles can be applied to all countries and enterprises regardless of their size, sector, location or ownership and organisational structures. However, they do not constitute international obligations. The National Report and Action Plan on Business and Human Rights demonstrates how the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights can be implemented in Switzerland.

UN Global Compact

Thanks to its 10 universal principles on human rights, working standards, the environment and combating corruption, the United Nations Global Compact (UNGC) offers an introduction to CSR issues and serves as a networking and learning platform. With more than 10,000 participating enterprises and organisations, it is now the biggest network in the world for responsible business conduct. The UNGC is a multi-stakeholder platform whose primary goal is to facilitate dialogue between the individual interest groups working together to implement the principles. Participating enterprises are obliged to publish a report on the progress they have made in implementing the principles each year. The federal government supports the Global Compact Network Switzerland by means of a partnership.

ISO 26000 Guidance on Social Responsibility

The ISO 26000 guidance on social responsibility was elaborated as part of a broad-based international process between industry and developing countries, enterprises, and workers’, consumers’ and non-governmental organisations. It helps enterprises and organisations take a strategic approach to their business processes in accordance with responsible business conduct principles. Although ISO 26000 provides a comprehensive take on social responsibility, it is not certifiable like other ISO standards.

Global Reporting Initiative

The Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) provides a globally applicable framework for drawing up sustainability reports in accordance with internationally recognised criteria. The reporting framework covers principles and indicators for enterprises and other organisations to measure their economic, environmental and social performance. At the same time, a report oriented towards the GRI also provides interest groups with a transparent representation of the relevant sustainability aspects of an enterprise.

International Developments

The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development (UN development goals) was developed by the international community in 2015 to contribute to global development, promote human well-being and to protect the environment. The 17 Sustainable Development Goals and their 169 targets form a core element of this agenda. Switzerland’s contribution to the 2030 Agenda is outlined in the Sustainable Development Strategy.

The EU Strategy (2011–14) for Corporate Social Responsibility describes the EU’s strategic approach and the specific measures it has in place regarding CSR. More information is available on the relevant European Commission website.

Last modification 15.03.2017

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Gesellschaftliche_Verantwortung_der_Unternehmen/Internationale_CSR-Standards_und_Entwicklungen.html

Internationale CSR-Standards und Entwicklungen

In den letzten Jahren hat die gesellschaftliche Verantwortung der Unternehmen (Corporate Social Responsibility, CSR) international an Bedeutung gewonnen und konzeptuelle Veränderungen erfahren. Neue Instrumente wurden entwickelt sowie bestehende aktualisiert und erweitert. Nach der Veröffentlichung des Leitfadens ISO 26000 zur gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung im Jahr 2010 wurden 2011 die aktualisierten OECD-Leitsätze für multinationale Unternehmen und die UNO-Leitprinzipien für Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte publiziert. Auch die UNO-Entwicklungsziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung von 2015 (Agenda 2030) betonen den Beitrag der Privatwirtschaft an die nachhaltige Entwicklung.

OECD-Leitsätze für multinationale Unternehmen

Die OECD-Leitsätze für multinationale Unternehmen stellen umfassende Verhaltensempfehlungen der Regierungen an die multinationalen Unternehmen dar. Sie unterstützen Unternehmen bei der Wahrnehmung ihrer Verantwortung und finden überall dort Anwendung, wo sie tätig sind. Die OECD-Leitsätze sind rechtlich nicht verbindlich, die Umsetzung wird aber von den Nationalen Kontaktpunkten (NKP) der Unterzeichnerstaaten gefördert. Vermeintliche Verstösse gegen die OECD-Leitsätze können den NKP gemeldet werden, welche eine Dialogplattform oder ein Mediationsverfahren anbieten. Die Umsetzung der OECD-Leitsätze und insbesondere der Sorgfaltsprüfung durch die Unternehmen wird mittels branchenspezifischen Leitfäden unterstützt (u.a. Mineralien, Landwirtschaft, Textilien, Finanzen).

UNO-Leitprinzipien für Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte

Die UNO-Leitprinzipien für Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte beinhalten 31 Prinzipien und beruhen auf drei Säulen:

1.      Pflicht des Staates: Staaten müssen die notwendigen Massnahmen (z.B. Gesetze, Anreize und Fördermassnahmen) ergreifen, um die Bevölkerung vor Menschenrechtsverletzungen auch durch private Akteure (einschliesslich Unternehmen) zu schützen.

2.      Verantwortung der Unternehmen: Unternehmen sollen Menschenrechte achten und müssen zu diesem Zweck eine im Verhältnis zu den Umständen gebührende Sorgfalt walten lassen.

3.      Zugang zu Wiedergutmachung: Staaten und Unternehmen haben eine Verantwortung, wirksame Abhilfe für Betroffene mit gerichtlichen und aussergerichtlichen Instrumenten zu ermöglichen.

Die Leitprinzipien finden Anwendung auf alle Staaten und Unternehmen, ungeachtet ihrer Grösse, ihres Sektors, ihres Standorts, ihrer Eigentumsverhältnisse und ihrer Struktur. Sie stellen aber keine völkerrechtlichen Verpflichtungen dar. Der Nationale Aktionsplan für Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte zeigt auf, wie die UNO-Leitprinzipien für Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte in der Schweiz umgesetzt werden.

UN Global Compact

Der Global Compact der Vereinten Nationen (UNGC) bietet dank seinen 10 universellen Grundsätzen zu Menschenrechten, Arbeitsnormen, Umwelt und Korruptionsbekämpfung einen Einstieg in CSR-Themen und dient als Vernetzungs- und Lernplattform. Mit mehr als 10 000 teilnehmenden Unternehmen und Organisationen ist er heute das weltweit grösste Netzwerk für verantwortungsvolle Unternehmensführung. Der UNGC versteht sich als Multistakeholderplattform, deren primäres Ziel es ist, den Austausch zwischen den einzelnen Interessensgruppen zu fördern, die gemeinsam an der Umsetzung der Prinzipien arbeiten. Teilnehmende Unternehmen sind verpflichtet, jährlich einen Bericht über ihre Fortschritte bei der Umsetzung der Grundsätze zu veröffentlichen. Der Bund unterstützt das Netzwerk Schweiz des Global Compacts mittels einer Partnerschaft.

ISO 26000 Leitfaden zur gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung

Der Leitfaden ISO 26000 ist ein internationaler Leitfaden zur gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung, der im Rahmen eines breit angelegten internationalen Prozesses zwischen Industrie- und Entwicklungsländern, Unternehmen, Arbeitnehmer-, Verbraucher- und Nichtregierungsorganisationen erarbeitet wurde. Er erleichtert die strategische Ausrichtung der Geschäftsprozesse von Unternehmen und Organisationen nach Aspekten der verantwortungsvollen Unternehmensführung. ISO 26000 vermittelt ein umfassendes Verständnis von gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung, ist jedoch im Gegensatz zu anderen ISO-Normen nicht zertifizierbar.

Global Reporting Initiative

Die Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) stellt einen weltweit anwendbaren Rahmen zur Verfügung, um Nachhaltigkeitsberichte nach international anerkannten Kriterien zu gestalten. Der Berichtsrahmen umfasst Grundsätze und Indikatoren für Unternehmen und andere Organisationen, um ihre ökonomische, ökologische und soziale Leistung zu messen. Gleichzeitig bietet ein nach GRI ausgerichteter Bericht den Interessensgruppen eine transparente Darstellung der relevanten Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte eines Unternehmens.

Internationale Entwicklungen

Die Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung (UNO-Entwicklungsziele) wurde 2015 von der Staatengemeinschaft entwickelt. Kernbestandteil sind die 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) und deren 169 Unterziele. Der Beitrag der Schweiz zur Agenda 2030 wird in der Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung dargelegt.

Die EU-Strategie (2011-14) für die soziale Verantwortung der Unternehmen (CSR) beschreibt die strategische Ausrichtung und konkrete Massnahmen betreffend CSR in der EU. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der entsprechenden Webseite der Europäischen Kommission.

Letzte Änderung 30.03.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Gesellschaftliche_Verantwortung_der_Unternehmen/Internationale_CSR-Standards_und_Entwicklungen.html