Updating Free Trade Agreements

The earliest free trade agreements concluded by Switzerland within the framework of the EFTA do not contain specific provisions on trade in services. Only as of the beginning of the year 2000 do most of the agreements include sections partaining to trade in services. Since then legislations have evolved and the services markets generally have been opened further. In addition, the main competitors of the Swiss economy have also concluded free trade agreements with the trading partners of Switzerland. Consequently, Switzerland aims atupdating its network of free trade agreements. At this point, Switzerland with its EFTA-partners is negotiating the revision of the following free trade agreements:

EFTA - Turkey

The agreement entered into force on April 1, 1992. This first generation agreement does not contain any chapter on trade in services. Following its evolutionary clause (art. 27) the Parties have launched negotiations with a view to incorporate a relevant chapter. The latest round of negotiations took place from 14 to 16 November 2017.

EFTA - Mexico

The agreement contains a section on trade in services. On the basis of the article on trade liberalisation (art. 24), the Parties have begun works in April 2004 aiming at revising the part relating to trade in services. Work continue in 2017. At this time the parties have submitted their respective propositions, which diverge. The latest round of negotiations took place from 6 to 9 June 2017

EFTA - Singapore

The Parties have launched the review process on the schedules of specific commitments on market access (art. 27) in the beginning of 2007. The aim is to update the existing schedules and replace them by new ones. This update relates only to the Services sector. These work continues in 2018.

EFTA - Chile

On the basis of the review clause of the schedules of specific commitments on market access (art. 27) and the negotiation mandate regarding financial services (art. 45), the Parties have started a revision of the part relating to trade in services in April 2006 with the goal to complete and update it. It has since been decided to revise the entire Agreement. Work continues in 2018.

EFTA - Peru

The agreement does not have a substantial chapter on trade in services, but a negotiating clause for that purpose (art. 4.1). The Parties discuss the modalities of launching negotiations.

 

Last modification 22.02.2018

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Internationaler_Handel_mit_Dienstleistungen/FAH_Bilateral_und_EFTA/Aufdatierung_FHA.html

Aufdatierung der Freihandelsabkommen

Die frühesten Freihandelsabkommen, welche die Schweiz im Rahmen der EFTA abgeschlossen hat, enthalten keine spezifischen Bestimmungen über den Handel mit Dienstleistungen. Erst seit anfangs des Jahres 2000 umfassen die meisten Abkommen einen Abschnitt zum Dienstleistungshandel. Seither wurden die Gesetzgebungen weiterentwickelt und die Dienstleistungsmärkte insgesamt weiter geöffnet. Darüber hinaus haben die wichtigsten Mitbewerber des Wirtschaftsstandortes Schweiz ebenfalls Freihandelsabkommen mit den Handelspartnern der Schweiz abgeschlossen. Deshalb ist es für die Schweiz von Wichtigkeit, ihr Netz von Freihandelsabkommen aufzudatieren.

Zur Zeit verhandelt die Schweiz mit ihren EFTA-Partnern über die Revision der folgenden Freihandelsabkommen: 

EFTA - Türkei

Das Abkommen ist seit dem 1. April 1992 in Kraft. Dieses Abkommen der ersten Generation enthält kein Kapitel über den Handel mit Dienstleistungen. Seiner Entwicklungsklausel (Art. 27) folgend, haben die Parteien im Januar 2014 die Verhandlungen aufgenommen, ein solches Kapitel dem Abkommen aufzunehmen. Eine Verhandlungsrunde fand zuletzt vom 14. bis 16. November 2017 statt.

EFTA - Mexiko

Das Abkommen enthält eine Sektion über den Handel mit Dienstleistungen. Auf der Basis des Artikels zur Liberalisierung des Handels (Art. 24) haben die Parteien im April 2004 die Arbeiten im Hinblick auf eine Revision des Teils zum Handel mit Dienstleistungen in Angriff genommen. Diese Arbeiten werden im Jahr 2017 weitergeführt. Zur Zeit haben die Parteien ihre diesbezüglichen Vorschläge eingereicht, welche sich voneinander unterscheiden. Eine Verhandlungsrunde fand zuletzt vom 6. bis 9. Juni 2017 statt.

EFTA - Singapur

Die Parteien haben anfangs 2007 einen Revisionsprozess der Verpflichtungslisten zum Marktzugang (Art. 27) begonnen. Die Verhandlungen haben zum Ziel, die bestehenden Listen aufzudatieren und durch neue zu ersetzen. Diese Aufdatierung betrifft lediglich den Dienstleistungssektor. Diese Arbeiten werden 2018 weitergeführt.

EFTA - Chile

Auf der Basis der Revisionsklausel der Verpflichtungslisten zum Marktzugang (Art. 27) und des Verhandlungsmandats zu Finanzdienstleistungen (Art. 45) haben die Parteien im April 2006 eine Revision des Teils zum Handel mit Dienstleistungen begonnen mit dem Ziel, diesen Teil zu vervollständigen und aktualisieren. Seitdem wurde entschieden, das Freihandelsabkommen insgesamt zu revidieren. Diese Arbeiten werden im Jahr 2017 weitergeführt. Diese Arbeiten werden 2018 weitergeführt.

EFTA - Peru

Das Abkommen enthält kein substanzielles Dienstleistungskapitel, aber eine entsprechende Verhandlungsklausel (Art. 4.1). Die Parteien diskutieren die Modalitäten des Verhandlungsbeginns.

Letzte Änderung 22.02.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Internationaler_Handel_mit_Dienstleistungen/FAH_Bilateral_und_EFTA/Aufdatierung_FHA.html