The Plurilateral Negotiating Process

The idea of a trade in services agreement was launched by the US. Since February 2012 a group of WTO members meets regularly in Geneva and is under common chairmanship of the US, Australia and the EU. Switzerland participates actively in the discussions from the beginning. 

The goal of this initiative is to conclude a comprehensive agreement on trade in services. The work is based on the GATS. Early in the year 2013 the participants have agreed on an approach, which consists of a 'hybrid' schedule of commitments, in which commitments (most-favoured-nation treatment, market access, national treatment, localization) are taken both in a positive and negative manner. Additionally, they have decided on a “ratchet” and “standstill” clause.

Below you will find the outline of the TiSA 'hybrid' approach:

  Approach Ratchet/Standstill
Most-Favoured-Nation-Treatment negative no
Market Access positive no
National Treatment negative yes

An illustrative list of examples of national treatment restrictions has been developed by the WTO. It is contained in attachment 1 of the "Guidelines for the Scheduling of Specific Commitments" adopted by the Council for Trade in Services in 2001 (S/L/92) and is reproduced below:

At the moment the following parties are taking part in the discussions: Australia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, EU, Hong Kong, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Korea, Liechtenstein, Mauritius, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey and USA.

Chronology of the Negotiation Process:

Media releases

In the course of the 4th round of negotiations on June 28 - 29, 2012, the participants of the TISA communicated their intention to define a frame of an ambitious agreement on the trade in services.

In the course of the 11th round of negotiations on June 24 - 28, 2013, and in view of the advanced state of discussions of the agreement's text as well as the end of the necessary consultations of the participating countries the parties have agreed on the ongoing negotiations.

Possible structure content of the draft agreement

Since the negotiation of the draft agreement is still ongoing its structure and content may continue to evolve until the conclusion of the work. Baring the developments during the negotiation the draft agreement may be structured as follows :

  • A set of horizontal provisions that would take over the GATS provisions, but that would be complemented by understandings that would modify these GATS provisions, for example by adding to it a mechanism of standstill and ratchet.
  • A set of sectoral annexes whose coverage is difficult to anticipate at the moment but that could include, among others, topics such as : financial services, telecommunications services, electronic commerce, movement of natural persons (mode 4), domestic regulation, transparency, localization, the different modes of transportation and logistical services, delivery services, professional services, state-owned enterprises.
  • Country specific Schedules of commitments for market access, and national treatment and localization.

Last modification 01.02.2017

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Internationaler_Handel_mit_Dienstleistungen/TISA/Plurilateraler_Verhandlungsprozess.html

Plurilateraler Verhandlungsprozess

Die Idee eines Abkommens über den Handel mit Dienstleistungen wurde von den USA lanciert. Seit Februar 2012 trifft sich eine Gruppe von WTO-Mitgliedern regelmässig in Genf unter dem gemeinsamen Vorsitz der USA, Australiens und der EU. Die Schweiz nimmt seit Beginn aktiv an den Diskussionen teil.

Ziel dieser Initiative ist es, ein umfassendes Abkommen zum Dienstleistungshandel abzuschliessen. Die Arbeiten stützen sich auf das GATS ("General Agreement on Trade in Services"). Die Teilnehmer haben sich anfangs 2013 unter anderem auf den Ansatz einer "hybriden" Verpflichtungsliste geeinigt, mittels welcher die Verpflichtungen (Meistbegünstigung, Marktzugang, Inländerbehandlung, Lokalisierung) positiv und negativ gemischt verpflichtet werden. Zudem haben sie sich auf eine Bestimmung zu einer Sperrklinkenklausel ("Ratchet") und einer Stillhalteklausel ("Standstill") geeinigt.

Nachfolgend finden Sie das Schema zum "hybriden" Verpflichtungsansatz des TISA:

  Ansatz Ratchet/Standstill
Meistbegünstigung negativ nein
Marktzugang positiv nein
Inländerbehandlung negativ ja

Die WTO hat eine illustrative Liste von Beispielen an Einschränkungen der Inländerbehandlung erstellt. Sie ist im Appendix 1 der 'Guidelines for the Scheduling of Specific Commitments' enthalten, welchen der Council for Trade in Services der WTO 2001 angenommen hat (S/L/92). Er wird hier nachfolgend aufgeführt:  

Zur Zeit nehmen folgende Parteien an den Diskussionen teil: Australien, Chile, Costa Rica, EU, Hong Kong, Island, Israel, Japan, Kanada, Kolumbien, Korea, Liechtenstein, Mauritius, Mexiko, Neuseeland, Norwegen, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Schweiz, Taiwan, Türkei und USA.

Chronologie des Verhandlungsprozesses:

Medienmitteilungen

Anlässlich der 4. Verhandlungsrunde vom 28.-29. Juni 2012 haben die Teilnehmer des TISA ihre Absicht geäussert, den Rahmen eines ambitiösen Abkommens über den Handel mit Dienstleistungen zu definieren.

Anlässlich der 11. Verhandlungsrunde vom 24.-28. Juni 2013 und in Anbetracht der fortgeschrittenen Diskussionen zum Abkommentstext sowie des Abschlusses der notwendigen Konsultationen der teilnehmenden Länder, haben sich die Parteien auf die laufenden Verhandlungen geeinigt.

Mögliche Struktur und möglicher Inhalt des geplanten Abkommens

Weil die Verhandlung über das geplante Abkommen noch andauert, wird seine Struktur und sein Inhalt bis zum Abschluss der Arbeiten noch Änderungen erfahren. Unter Vorbehalt der Entwicklungen während der Verhandlung könnte das geplante Abkommen wie folgt strukturiert sein:

  • Ein horizontaler Text, der die Bestimmungen des GATS übernimmt, dem jedoch gewisse Vereinbarungen hinzugefügt würden, welche die Bestimmungen des GATS ändern sollen, so zum Beispiel mittels Hinzufügen der Mechanismen der Sperrklinkenklausel ("Ratchet") und der Stillhalteklausel ("Standstill").
  • Eine Reihe sektorieller Anhänge oder Thematiken, deren Deckungsbereich derzeit schwierig abzuschätzen ist, die jedoch unter anderem folgende Themen betreffen könnten: Finanzdienstleistungen, Telekommunikationsdienstleistungen, Elektronischer Handel, Grenzüberschreitung natürlicher Personen (Erbringungsart 4), innerstaatliche Regelungen, Transparenz, Lokalisierung, die unterschiedlichen Arten des Transports sowie die Logistikdienstleistungen, Postdienstleistungen (delivery services), freiberufliche Dienstleistungen (professional services), staatliche Unternehmen.
  • Verpflichtungslisten für die einzelnen Parteien bezüglich Marktzugang, die Inländerbehandlung und Lokalisierung.

Letzte Änderung 21.12.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Internationaler_Handel_mit_Dienstleistungen/TISA/Plurilateraler_Verhandlungsprozess.html