Fight against corruption

Corruption enriches the few, but weakens society as a whole. Corruption undermines the rule of law and democracy; it leads to the wasting of public funds; it distorts competition; it hampers trade and inhibits investments. Hence, corruption is unanimously recognized as a major evil.

Even if certainly not free of corruptive behaviours, Switzerland belongs to the group of the most virtuous countries in this field, subscribing to the highest scores of the Corruption Perception Index of the NGO Transparency International. In 20202, Switzerland ranked third out of 180 countries examined, with a score of 85/100.

Corruption is not a necessary evil. For some time now, efforts to combat corruption have been stepped up on all fronts. The Federal Council adopted in 2020 a Strategy against corruption covering the period 2021-2024. Primarily addressed to the federal administration, the Strategy defines objectives and measures in the areas of prevention, prosecution and international cooperation. It was drawn up by the Interdepartmental Working Group for the Fight against Corruption, a planning and coordination body under the leadership of the FDFA. The Working Group works together with the cantons, civil society and the private sector, ensuring co-ordination in the fight against corruption in Switzerland.

Switzerland also actively participates in the development of international instruments aimed at combating corruption and cooperating to fight against corruption. These can be seen on the following page:

Swiss companies are aware of the illegality of corruptive behaviours, both in Switzerland and abroad. When facing solicitations of bribes, they are sometimes helpless. They are then advised to refer to the following information:


Additionally, Switzerland encourages developing and transition countries to fight corruption and its causes, and supports bilateral and multilateral initiatives and programmes for fighting corruption. These are presented in the following pages:

Specialist staff
Last modification 15.04.2021

Top of page

Contact

The Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO)
International Investments and Multinational Enterprises Unit
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Bern

Tel. + 41 (0)58 463 12 75
Fax + 41 (0)58 465 73 76
E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Korruptionsbekaempfung.html

Korruptionsbekämpfung

Korruption bereichert wenige, schwächt aber die ganze Gesellschaft. Korruption untergräbt die rechtsstaatliche und demokratische Ordnung; sie führt zum falschen Einsatz öffentlicher Mittel; sie verzerrt den Wettbewerb; sie erschwert den Handel und hält von Investitionen ab. Deshalb sind sich heute alle einig: Korruption ist ein schwerwiegendes Übel.

Auch wenn sie sicherlich nicht frei von korruptem Verhalten ist, gehört die Schweiz zu den tugendhaftesten Ländern in diesem Bereich und hat sich den höchsten Werten des Corruption Perception Index der NGO Transparency International angeschlossen. Im Jahr 2020 belegte die Schweiz mit einem Wert von 85/100 den dritten von 180 untersuchten Ländern.

Korruption ist aber kein notwendiges Übel. Seit einigen Jahren werden die Anstrengungen verstärkt, der Korruption auf breiter Front entgegenzutreten. Im Jahr 2020 hat der Bundesrat eine Strategie gegen die Korruption  für den Zeitraum 2021-2024 verabschiedet. Die Strategie richtet sich in erster Linie an die Bundesverwaltung und definiert Ziele und Massnahmen in den Bereichen Prävention, Strafverfolgung und internationale Zusammenarbeit. Sie wurde von der Interdepartementalen Arbeitsgruppe Korruptionsbekämpfung, einem Planungs- und Koordinationsgremium der Bundesverwaltung unter der Leitung des EDA, erarbeitet. Die Arbeitsgruppe koordiniert die Korruptionsbekämpfung in der Schweiz mit den Kantonen, der Zivilgesellschaft und dem Privatsektor.

Zudem beteiligt sich die Schweiz aktiv an der (Weiter-)Entwicklung der internationalen Instrumente und Zusammenarbeit zur Korruptionsbekämpfung (vgl. dazu Instrumente und Initiativen), wie auf der folgenden Seite dargestellt:

Schweizer Unternehmen sind sich der Illegalität von korruptem Verhalten im In- und Ausland bewusst. Im Falle von Schmiergeldangeboten sind sie manchmal hilflos. Es wird ihnen dann empfohlen, sich auf die folgenden Informationen zu beziehen:


Ausserdem ermutigt die Schweiz Entwicklungs- und Transitionsländer, die Korruption und deren Ursachen zu bekämpfen, und unterstützt auf bi- und multilateraler Ebene Initiativen und Programme zur Korruptionsbekämpfung, die auf den folgenden Seiten vorgestellt werden: 

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 24.02.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO
Ressort internationale Investitionen multinationale Unternehmen 
Holzikofenweg 36 
CH-3003 Bern

Tel. + 41 (0)58 463 12 75
Fax + 41 (0)58 465 73 76
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Korruptionsbekaempfung.html