Case study – Evaluate the situation

The following scenarios allow you to test and deepen your understanding of the issue. Try to evaluate the various fictional situations and weigh up their consequences. Media coverage of corruption cases may also help you to identify the risks involved.

Initial situation

Your company is willing to strengthen its presence in Country X. To this end, management has decided to set up a subsidiary there. Your research indicates that the process of setting up a company in Country X is very complicated and can take more than a year.

Possible scenarios

(1) Your goal for the subsidiary is to begin operations as soon as possible. According to reports, other foreign companies have successfully been entered into the register of companies within a few weeks, without meeting all the necessary requirements, in return for a payment of approximately 100,000 USD to a certain government agency. You direct your project manager to make a similar offer to this agency.


(2) Would the legal situation be judged differently if it was not money being offered to the government agency, but a holiday by the sea for the responsible civil servant's family or education in Switzerland for his or her child?


(3) What if it was not your company offering money, but it was being requested by the government agency?


(4) Would the legal situation be judged differently if, rather than your project manager contacting the government agency, he or she authorised a local legal representative to 'manage' the registration of your company within a few weeks in return for 100,000 USD?


(5) Would the legal situation be judged differently if you did not yet want to establish a subsidiary in Country X, but in anticipation of a potential future need, you asked your local representative to offer an expensive gift to the head of the government agency each year?


(6) For almost a year, your company has undertaken all the necessary legal steps to have the subsidiary registered in Country X. All that remains is the certification of the required documents and the entry into the register of companies, both simple formalities that are particularly time-consuming in Country X. The responsible authority is faced with an overwhelming workload, and a delay of several more weeks is expected. To speed the process up, you send them 2,000 USD.


(7) Would the legal situation be judged differently if the registration were overdue even according to local custom, with only the affixing of a stamp still required, and you were to send 100 USD to the responsible public official so that he or she would finally handle the matter?


(8) In the meantime, your subsidiary in Country X has been registered and is now operational. It participates in the bidding on a major public procurement by the local authorities of the capital city. Receiving such a large order so soon after establishment would represent a significant success for your subsidiary. The subsidiary attempts to influence the decision to award the bid in its favour by paying 20,000 USD to a high-ranking official in the city administration. This action is brought to light. In response to questions from the media, company headquarters in Switzerland states that all parts of your company follow a code of conduct declaring that 'all forms of corruption are unacceptable'. If the subsidiary in Country X has nevertheless offered a bribe, this has been done without the knowledge or instruction of headquarters. The Swiss parent company therefore maintains that it cannot be accused of having acted unlawfully. Is this reasoning sufficient?


(9) Would the legal situation be judged differently if your subsidiary in Country X had not bribed an official of the city’s government, but rather the purchasing agent of a company in the private sector?


(10) Your subsidiary in Country X has participated in a proper way in the public tender procedure mentioned above, and its offer fared well among the others. Nevertheless, the city government chooses a less favourable offer from a company in Country Y. In documents that were leaked to you, it emerges that the bid was accepted as a result of bribery by your competitor.


Specialist staff
Last modification 17.04.2020

Top of page

Contact

The Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO)
International Investments and Multinational Enterprises Unit
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Bern

Tel. + 41 (0)58 463 12 75
Fax + 41 (0)58 465 73 76

E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Korruptionsbekaempfung/Informationen_fuer_Unternehmen/korruption_faelle.html

Fallbeispiele – Schätzen Sie die Situation ein

An den folgenden fiktiven Fallbeispielen können Sie Ihr Verständnis der Problematik testen und vertiefen. Versuchen Sie, die verschiedenen Situationen einzuschätzen und die Konsequenzen abzuwägen. Auch die Berichterstattung über Korruptionsfälle in den Medien kann Ihnen wertvolle Hinweise auf konkrete Risiken geben.

Ausgangssituation

Ihr Unternehmen möchte seine Präsenz in Land X verstärken. Die Geschäftsleitung hat entschieden, dort eine Tochtergesellschaft zu gründen. Wie Ihre Abklärungen ergeben, ist das entsprechende formelle Verfahren in X ausserordentlich kompliziert und kann sich über mehr als ein Jahr hinziehen.

Mögliche Szenarien

(1) Sie wollen, dass Ihre Tochtergesellschaft in X möglichst bald den Betrieb aufnehmen kann. Anscheinend wurden andere ausländische Unternehmen gegen Zahlung von ungefähr 100 000 US-Dollar an eine bestimmte Regierungsstelle innerhalb weniger Wochen ins Handelsregister aufgenommen, ohne alle gesetzlichen Anforderungen zu erfüllen. Sie erteilen Ihrer Projektleitung den Auftrag, dieser Regierungsstelle ein entsprechendes Angebot zu unterbreiten.


(2) Wäre die Rechtslage anders zu beurteilen, wenn der Regierungsstelle nicht Geld, sondern der Familie der verantwortlichen Amtsperson Ferien am Meer oder ihrem Kind eine Ausbildung in der Schweiz angeboten würde?


(3) Wäre die Rechtslage anders zu beurteilen, wenn die Zahlung nicht durch Ihr Unternehmen angeboten, sondern von der Regierungsstelle gefordert würde?


(4) Wäre die Rechtslage anders zu beurteilen, wenn nicht Ihre Projektleitung selbst mit der Regierungsstelle in Kontakt tritt, sondern eine Agentin oder einen Agenten vor Ort beauftragt, gegen 100 000 Dollar dafür «zu sorgen», dass die Zulassung Ihrer Tochtergesellschaft innerhalb weniger Wochen erfolgt?


(5) Wäre die Rechtslage anders zu beurteilen, wenn Sie im Land X vorläufig keine Tochtergesellschaft gründen wollten, im Hinblick auf einen möglichen solchen Bedarf in der Zukunft aber Ihre Vertretung vor Ort anweisen, der Leitung dieser Regierungsstelle jedes Jahr ein teures Geschenk zu machen?


(6) Ihr Unternehmen hat während fast einem Jahr alles Erforderliche unternommen, um die Zulassung der Tochtergesellschaft im Land X auf ordentlichem Weg zu erhalten. Die Beglaubigung der benötigten Dokumente und die Eintragung ins Handelsregister sind nur noch eine – in X allerdings zeitraubende – Formsache. Die zuständige Behörde ist überlastet, und es ist mit einer Wartezeit von mehreren Wochen zu rechnen. Um die Angelegenheit zu beschleunigen, lassen Sie der zuständigen Behörde 2000 US-Dollar zukommen.


(7) Wäre die Rechtslage anders zu beurteilen, wenn die Eintragung ins Handelsregister nur noch eines Stempels bedürfte – was selbst für lokale Verhältnisse überfällig ist − und Sie der zuständigen Amtsperson deshalb 100 US-Dollar zukommen lassen, damit sie dies endlich erledigt? 


(8) Ihre Tochtergesellschaft in Land X ist inzwischen eingetragen und operationell. Sie beteiligt sich an der Ausschreibung eines grösseren öffentlichen Beschaffungsauftrags durch die örtlichen Behörden der Hauptstadt. Es wäre für Ihre Tochtergesellschaft ein wichtiger Erfolg, wenn sie bereits nach so kurzer Zeit einen solch wichtigen Auftrag an Land ziehen könnte. Mit der Zahlung von 20 000 US-Dollar an eine hochrangige Person in der Stadtverwaltung versucht sie, den Zuschlagsentscheid zu ihren Gunsten zu beeinflussen. Der Vorgang wird publik. In der Schweizer Konzernzentrale lautet die Antwort auf Medienanfragen, dass für alle Teile Ihres Unternehmens ein Verhaltenskodex gilt, der festhält, dass « jegliche Korruption abgelehnt » wird. Sollte die Tochtergesellschaft in X dennoch bestochen haben, so sei dies ohne Anweisung oder Wissen der Zentrale erfolgt. Dem Schweizer Mutterhaus könne somit nichts vorgeworfen werden. Ist diese Argumentation ausreichend?


(9) Wäre die Rechtslage anders zu beurteilen, wenn Ihre Tochtergesellschaft im Land X nicht eine städtische Amtsperson, sondern die für den Einkauf zuständige Person eines privaten Unternehmens bestochen hätte?


(10) Ihre Tochtergesellschaft im Land X hat sich ganz korrekt an der erwähnten öffentlichen Ausschreibung beteiligt. Ihr Angebot lag gut im Rennen. Trotzdem entschied sich die Stadtregierung für eine weniger gute Offerte eines anderen Unternehmens (aus dem Land Y). Aus Unterlagen, die Ihnen zugespielt wurden, geht hervor, dass das Konkurrenzunternehmen den Zuschlag dank Bestechung erhalten hat. Was können Sie tun?


Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 17.04.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO
Ressort internationale Investitionen multinationale Unternehmen
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Bern

Tel. + 41 (0)58 463 12 75
Fax + 41 (0)58 465 73 76

E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Korruptionsbekaempfung/Informationen_fuer_Unternehmen/korruption_faelle.html