Instruments and initiatives

International Instruments

Switzerland supports various international instruments aimed at fighting corruption and is actively involved in the further development of these measures.

The OECD Convention on the fight against the bribery of foreign public officers in international business transactions

The 35 industrialised nations of the OECD and 6 further states (Argentina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Russia, Colombia and South Africa) have signed the Convention of 1997 on combating bribery of foreign officials in international business transactions. On this basis they have made amendments to their legislation in a coordinated action and made the bribery of foreign public officials a punishable offence. A far-reaching monitoring procedure has been set up to ensure that the Convention is implemented and applied in all participating states. The OECD country report on Switzerland was published and presented at a media conference in Bern in 2005. SECO has the lead role in representing Switzerland in the relevant OECD committee.

Evaluation of Switzerland, Phase 4

The OECD Working Group on Bribery regularly conducts reviews of signatory countries to the OECD Convention on Combating Bribery of Foreign Public Officials in International Business Transactions. These reviews serve the purpose of assessing the level of implementation and enforcement of the Convention. This is the fourth time that Switzerland has gone through such a review (referred to as phase-four country monitoring). On 27 March, the OECD published a country monitoring report on Swiss efforts to combat corruption abroad, including recommendations for Switzerland. The OECD welcomes the fact that Switzerland has convicted six people and five companies for bribery of foreign public officials since 2012. It also applauds the Money Laundering Reporting Office Switzerland (MROS) for its role in detecting cases of corruption abroad in connection with money laundering. At the same time, the OECD calls for stricter penalties for companies as well as greater legal safeguards for whistleblowers in the private sector.   

The Council of Europe Criminal Law Convention on Corruption

In 1999, the Criminal Law Convention on the fight against corruption was passed under the auspices of the Council of Europe . This convention goes beyond the OECD Convention as regards content in that it contains the general minimum requirements for criminal law provisions to fight corruption both private and public. Switzerland acceded to the Criminal Law Convention and became a member of the Group of States against Corruption in 2006.(GRECO)

The United Nations Convention against Corruption

The UN Convention against corruption was signed by more than 140 countries including Switzerland in December 2003 and came into force in 2005. The UN Convention differs from the conventions of the OECD and the Council of Europe due to its universal nature and the inclusion of provisions with respect to the restitution of funds acquired through illegal and corrupt practices. The UN Convention has been ratified by Switzerland in September 2009.

Further Initiatives

Alongside the efforts to fight corruption driven by the community of states, various private organisations and initiative groups are following the same goal, in particular:

Specialist staff
Last modification 25.07.2018

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Korruptionsbekaempfung/Instrumente_Initiativen.html

Instrumente und Initiativen

Internationale Instrumente

Die Schweiz trägt verschiedene internationale Instrumente zur Korruptionsbekämpfung mit und beteiligt sich aktiv an deren Weiterentwicklung.

OECD-Antikorruptionskonvention

Die in der OECD zusammengeschlossenen 35 Industriestaaten sowie inzwischen 8 weitere Staaten (Argentinien, Brasilien, Bulgarien, Costa Rica, Kolumbien, Littauen, Russland und Südafrika) haben die Konvention von 1997 zur Bekämpfung der Bestechung ausländischer Amtsträger im internationalen Geschäftsverkehr unterzeichnet. Auf dieser Grundlage haben sie in einer koordinierten Aktion ihre Gesetzgebungen geändert und die Bestechung ausländischer Amtsträger unter Strafe gestellt. Ein weit reichendes Monitoringverfahren sorgt dafür, dass die Konvention in allen Teilnehmerstaaten umgesetzt und angewandt wird. Das SECO vertritt die Schweiz federführend im zuständigen OECD-Gremium.

Länderexamen der Schweiz, Phase 4

Die OECD Arbeitsgruppe zur Korruptionsbekämpfung (Working Group on Bribery) evaluiert regelmässig die Mitgliedstaaten der OECD-Konvention zur Bekämpfung der Bestechung ausländischer Amtsträger im internationalen Geschäftsverkehr in Bezug auf den Stand der Umsetzung der Konvention. Die Schweiz unterzog sich zum vierten Mal einer solchen Prüfung (sog. Länderexamen der Phase 4). Die OECD hat am 27. März 2018 einen Länderbericht und an die Schweiz gerichtete Empfehlungen zur Bekämpfung der Auslandsbestechung veröffentlicht. Dabei würdigt die OECD, dass die Schweiz seit 2012 sechs Personen und fünf Unternehmen wegen Bestechung fremder Amtsträger verurteilt hat. Weiter lobt sie die Schlüsselrolle der Meldestelle für Geldwäscherei (MROS) bei der Aufdeckung von Auslandbestechung in Zusammenhang mit Geldwäscherei. Gleichzeitig fordert die OECD strengere Sanktionen für Unternehmen und einen rechtlichen Schutz der Whistleblower im Privatsektor.

Strafrechtsübereinkommen über Korruption des Europarates

Im Rahmen des Europarates wurde 1999 eine Strafrechtskonvention zur Korruptionsbekämpfung verabschiedet. Diese geht inhaltlich über die OECD-Konvention hinaus, indem sie generelle Mindestanforderungen an die strafrechtliche Bekämpfung von Amtsträger- und Privatbestechung enthält. Die Schweiz ist der Strafrechtskonvention und der Staatengruppe des Europarates gegen die Korruption (GRECO) 2006 beigetreten.

UNO-Konvention gegen die Korruption

Die UNO-Konvention gegen die Korruption wurde 2003 von mehr als 140 Ländern, darunter der Schweiz, unterzeichnet. Sie trat 2005 in Kraft. Die UNO-Konvention unterscheidet sich von den Konventionen der OECD und des Europarats durch ihren universellen Charakter und durch den Einbezug von Bestimmungen bezüglich der Rückerstattung von durch Korruption erlangten Geldern. Die UNO-Konvention wurde durch die Schweiz im September 2009 ratifiziert.

Weitere Initiativen

Neben den erwähnten Bemühungen der Staatengemeinschaften zur Korruptionsbekämpfung verfolgen verschiedene andere Organisationen und Initiativen das gleiche Ziel, so namentlich:

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 25.07.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Korruptionsbekaempfung/Instrumente_Initiativen.html