Exploit the opportunities presented by digitalisation

Consumer behaviour has been changing for several years now on both the supply and demand sides. In addition, the COVID-19 pandemic has had a decisive impact on how consumers act. The pandemic has therefore accelerated the fundamental change in thinking and action that tourism already needed to make, and created significant challenges for the industry. At the same time digitalisation is a driver and enabler, and therefore offers great opportunities. It provides a basis for new tourism products, services, business processes and models, for example.

In view of the small business structure of the Swiss tourism sector, many service providers and destinations will find it difficult to meet new requirements and keep up with technological change. Connectivity is key here. To keep pace with the international market, individual company-based innovations are required alongside novel, cooperative approaches at regional to national level.

Ultimately, primary responsibility for the digital transformation lies with the tourism companies themselves. Through targeted activities, the federal government nonetheless has a crucial role to play here. In the light of experience and work to date, the ‘Exploit the opportunities presented by the digital economy’ objective is to be achieved through the following three action items in particular:


Action Item 10 : Advance the digital transformation and knowledge transfer

The Federal Government’s Tourism Strategy will continue to emphasise digitalisation in the project funding it offers and where knowledge transfer is concerned. That said, certain adjustments must be made to the financing provided via Innotour and the NRP.

Where the digital transformation is concerned, financial support is to be limited essentially to projects with a broad scope of application and open, forward- looking solutions that facilitate cooperation. Collaborative projects will be given particular attention.

In parallel with financing for digitalisation solutions, effort should be put into improving users’ awareness of and expertise with these very solutions. Knowledge transfer is an important aspect of this action item alongside project funding. Regular access to the latest information about digital solutions and applications – and their strategic potential – must be improved across the board.


Action Item 11: Generate value added from the use of data and statistics

Over the next few years, the priority for tourist data and statistics should be to generate value added. Public information should be made available as quickly as possible in a format that is of maximum benefit to users. Accommodation-related statistics (HESTA and PASTA) and the Tourism Satellite Account (TSA) that are also produced by the Federal Statistical Office (FSO), are of particular interest. Switzerland Tourism’s open data approach plays an important part in fulfilling this action item, because it enables Switzerland Tourism to provide data to interested partners, and therefore increase the value generated by its use. Furthermore, Switzerland Tourism is an active member of the Swiss Tourism Data Alliance (STDA), which was set up to further the exchange of relevant data between tourism organisations. One of areas of focus is coordinating the way in which tourist data is structured to ensure interoperability.


Action Item 12: Ensure that strategic digitalisation issues are monitored

The digital transformation remains a highly complex process, and issues such as data, data availability, new technologies, and processes such as blockchain, augmented and virtual reality, and artificial intelligence are all strategically relevant. It is therefore crucial to monitor and analyse these developments to ensure that they are given sufficient attention. Monitoring activities should deliver relevant information not only for the Federal Government’s Tourism Policy and tourism promotion, but also for actors in the sector. Open processes and an open dialogue should ensure ongoing discussion with the tourism industry.


Reports

Progress Report Digitalisation in Swiss Tourism

In August 2021, the report "Progress Report Digitalisation in Swiss Tourism" was published on the state of the art of digitalisation in Swiss tourism. The study not only looked at the status quo, but also formulated recommendations for action against the background of future developments.


Digitalisation in Swiss Tourism: Opportunities, Challenges, Implications

SECO launched a digitalisation offensive in tourism in 2017. The focus was on specific project funding and knowledge transfer. In November 2017, SECO organised the Swiss Tourism Forum on the topic of digitalisation in tourism. In this context, a comprehensive basic report on the digital tourism industry was compiled, which is now available.

Last modification 20.07.2022

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Standortfoerderung/Tourismuspolitik/digialisierung.html

Chancen der Digitalisierung nutzen

Seit einigen Jahren verändert sich das Konsumverhalten sowohl angebots- als auch nachfrageseitig. Zusätzlich hat die Covid-19-Pandemie das Verhalten der Kunden entscheidend geprägt. Entsprechend hat die Pandemie den bereits zuvor benötigten grundlegenden Bedarf eines Wandels des Denkens und Handelns beschleunigt und stellt damit die Tourismuswirtschaft vor bedeutende Herausforderungen. Gleichzeitig ist die Digitalisierung Treiber und Enabler und bietet damit grosse Chancen. So ermöglicht sie neue touristische Produkte, Dienstleistungen, Geschäftsprozesse und -modelle.

Aufgrund der Kleinstrukturiertheit des Schweizer Tourismus wird es für viele touristische Leistungsträger und Destinationen herausfordernd sein, beim technologischen Wandel Schritt zu halten. Um international mithalten zu können, braucht es deshalb neben einzelbetrieblichen Innovationen auch innovative und kooperative Ansätze auf regionaler bis nationaler Ebene.

Die Hauptverantwortung für die digitale Transformation liegt letztendlich bei den Tourismusunternehmen. Der Bund trägt aber mit spezifischen Aktivitäten entscheidend dazu bei. Aufgrund der bisherigen Erfahrungen und der durchgeführten Arbeiten soll das Ziel «Chancen der Digitalisierung nutzen» insbesondere über die Umsetzung der folgenden drei Aktivitäten erreicht werden:


Aktivität 10: Digitale Transformation und Wissenstransfer fördern

Die Tourismuspolitik des Bundes setzt auch künftig in der Projektförderung und im Bereich Wissenstransfer einen Schwerpunkt auf die Digitalisierung. Die Förderung über Innotour und die NRP soll aber teilweise adjustiert werden.

Im Digitalisierungsbereich sollen grundsätzlich nur übertragbare Projekte und «offene» Lösungen, die Kooperation ermöglichen und zukunftsgerichtet sind, finanziell unterstützt werden. Besondere Beachtung wird kooperativen Projekten geschenkt.
Neben der Finanzierung von Digitalisierungslösungen sollten gleichermassen auch das Know-what und Know-how bei den Nutzern ebendieser Lösungen verbessert werden.

Neben der Projektförderung ist auch der Wissenstransfer von Bedeutung. Der regelmässige Zugang zu aktuellem Wissen über digitale Lösungen und Anwendungen und deren strategische Potenziale muss generell verbessert werden.


Aktivität 11: Mehrwerte in der Anwendung von Daten und Statistiken schaffen

Im Bereich der touristischen Daten und Statistiken soll der Schwerpunkt in den kommenden Jahren auf der Schaffung von Mehrwerten in der Anwendung liegen. Öffentliche Daten und Statistiken sollen möglichst rasch und anwenderfreundlich zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Dabei stehen insbesondere die Beherbergungsstatistik (HESTA und PASTA) sowie das ebenfalls vom BFS erstellte Tourismus Satellitenkonto (TSA) im Vordergrund. Eine wichtige Rolle kommt auch dem Open-Data-Ansatz von Schweiz Tourismus bei, mit welchem Schweiz Tourismus seine Daten interessierten Partnern zur Verfügung stellt und damit deren Anwendungsnutzen steigert. Schweiz Tourismus engagiert sich des Weiteren in der Swiss Tourism Data Alliance (STDA). Die STDA bezweckt den Austausch von touristischen Organisationen hinsichtlich touristisch relevanter Daten. Ein Fokus liegt auf der Koordination der touristischen Datenstrukturierung hinsichtlich der Interoperabilität von Daten.


Aktivität 12: Monitoring strategischer Digitalisierungsthemen sicherstellen

Die Komplexität im Bereich Digitalisierung bleibt hoch und Themen wie Daten, Datenverfügbarkeit, neue Technologien und Verfahren, wie bspw. Blockchain, Augmented und Virtual Reality oder auch künstliche Intelligenz sind strategisch relevant. Entsprechend ist es wichtig, die Entwicklungen zu beobachten und einzuordnen, damit die strategischen Themen genügend berücksichtigt werden. Das Monitoring soll sowohl für die Tourismuspolitik und -förderung des Bundes als auch für die Tourismusakteure relevante Informationen liefern. Durch offene Prozesse und einen offenen Dialog soll eine laufende Diskussion mit der Tourismuswirtschaft sichergestellt werden.


Berichte

Progress Report Digitalisierung Schweizer Tourismus

Im August 2021 wurde der Bericht «Progress Report Digitalisierung im Schweizer Tourismus» zum State-of-the-Art der Digitalisierung im Schweizer Tourismus veröffentlich. Die Studie hat sich nicht nur mit dem Status quo befasst, sondern formuliert vor dem Hintergrund zukünftiger Entwicklungen auch Handlungsempfehlungen.


Digitalisierung im Schweizer Tourismus: Chancen, Herausforderungen, Implikationen

Das SECO lancierte im  Jahr 2017 eine Digitalisierungsoffensive im Tourismus. Im Fokus standen eine fokussierte Projektförderung und der Wissenstransfer. Im November 2017 organisierte das SECO das Tourismus Forum Schweiz zum Thema Digitalisierung im Tourismus. In diesem Zusammenhang wurde ein umfassender Grundlagenbericht zur Digitalen Tourismuswirtschaft erarbeitet, der nun vorliegt.

Letzte Änderung 25.01.2022

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Standortfoerderung/Tourismuspolitik/digialisierung.html