Special Foreign Economic Services

Structuring negotiations and creating framework conditions

The Special Foreign Economic Services Division of the Foreign Economic Affairs Directorate is the federal government’s centre of excellence for the international movement of goods, non-tariff measures, trade in services, international investments and multinational enterprises, as well as international economic law. It represents the interests of Switzerland as a business location in these fields and is responsible for the early recognition of new developments. In order to obtain access to markets abroad and establishing an economic order in Switzerland conducive to competition, it participates in shaping international conditions. It is responsible for the negotiation of international agreements to safeguard the interests of the Swiss economy in various negotiations (e.g. in the context of the WTO and EFTA, with the EU, and on free trade and other bilateral trade agreements). It also represents Switzerland’s technical fields in the relevant international organisations (WTO, OECD, EFTA, UNCTAD, etc.). The Special Foreign Economic Services Division also ensures that the outcome of negotiations is transposed into Swiss law and monitors the conformity of domestic regulations with Switzerland’s international obligations providing the appropriate support where necessary.

International Economic Law

Our tasks as SECO’s centre of excellence for matters of international economic law include the negotiation of international economic agreements and representing Switzerland in international organisations. The focus being on competition law, corporate governance, as well as on institutional provisions, protective trade policy measures and the resolution of disputes. We represent Switzerland in the OECD and UNCTAD specialist committees. In cooperation with the specialised services, we ensure the coherence of the agreements in terms of rules on trade, services, investment and other rules within and between the various agreements concluded by Switzerland.

International Movement of Goods

Our section is the point of contact for autonomous, bilateral, plurilateral and multilateral matters regarding international trade in goods. With regard to the movement of goods we, along with the section responsible for non-tariff measures, form the centre of excellence for issues relating to market access for agricultural and industrial goods in Switzerland and abroad. One of our central fields of activity involves shaping general policies on customs, customs tariffs and rules of origin, including conducting negotiations on international agreements in particular with the EU (amongst others the 1972 free trade agreements including Protocol 2 for processed agricultural products, negotiations on agriculture, food safety and health) and free trade agreements with non-EU countries. Our aim is to lower customs duties and fees, and to simplify procedures at the border. We are also responsible (in collaboration with the Senior Customs Directorate and the Federal Department for Agriculture) for the implementation of the federal act on the import and export of goods made from agricultural products (so-called “Schoggi Act”).

Non-Tariff Measures

We are working towards achieving internationally harmonised or compatible product regulations and the mutual recognition of tests, certifications, conformity evaluations, inspections and approvals. Our aim is to provide Swiss businesses with access to foreign markets that is as unrestricted possible and to give Switzerland a competitive edge as a location for business through the international recognition or harmonisation of regulations and standards. We are responsible for the WTO Agreement on Technical Barriers to Trade and negotiate agreements on mutual recognition with the EU. We negotiate agreements on mutual recognition (including negotiations with the EU on agriculture, food safety and health as well as on REACH). We are also responsible for the implementation of the Federal Act on Technical Barriers to Trade and the formulation of the principles of Swiss policy on the elimination of non-tariff barriers to trade.

Services

Our task is to improve access to the markets and to eliminate discrimination in trading in services. Within the framework of the GATS/WTO agreement on services and free trade agreements, we endeavour to safeguard and improve market access for Swiss service providers and to ensure the non-discriminatory treatment on foreign markets. We pursue these aims in the various services sectors such as the financial sector, telecommunications, retail and wholesale, corporate services, freelance occupations, transport and logistics, tourism, construction, audiovisual services, postal and courier services, education and healthcare services and in the area of e-commerce. In addition, we handle issues relating to national legislation in the services sector, in particular, with the aim of ensuring compatibility with Switzerland’s international obligations and European legal standards.

International Investment and Multinational Enterprises

We are responsible for international rules and agreements on international investments, including Switzerland’s roughly 120 bilateral agreements on the promotion and protection of investments and the investment provisions in free trade agreements. We represent Switzerland in the specialist committees of international organisations (namely the OECD and UNCTAD). We also work towards improving the conditions for international investments and the contribution made by multinational enterprises to sustainable development. This includes helping to shape basic principles for responsible actions on the part of international companies (Corporate Responsibility), amongst other things within the framework of the OECD guidelines on what constitutes responsible behaviour on the part of business. We also focus on fighting bribery in international business transactions. We represent Switzerland in the relevant OECD committee where we aim, among other things, to prevent distortions to competition on international markets resulting from corruption.

Last modification 04.02.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Aussenwirtschaftliche_Fachdienste.html

Aussenwirtschaftliche Fachdienste

Verhandeln und Rahmenbedingungen gestalten

Die Aussenwirtschaftlichen Fachdienste der Direktion für Aussenwirtschaft sind das Kompetenzzentrum des Bundes für den internationalen Warenverkehr, die nichttarifarischen Massnahmen, den Dienstleistungshandel, internationale Investitionen und multinationale Unternehmen sowie internationales Wirtschaftsrecht. In diesen Bereichen vertreten sie die Interessen des Wirtschaftsstandorts Schweiz. Sie sind verantwortlich für die Früherkennung neuer Entwicklungen. Im Hinblick auf die Marktöffnung im Ausland und eine wettbewerbsfreundliche Wirtschaftsordnung im Inland gestalten sie die nationalen und internationalen Rahmenbedingungen mit. In den verschiedenen Verhandlungen (u.a. im Rahmen der WTO, mit der EU und der EFTA sowie über Freihandelsabkommen und weitere bilaterale Wirtschaftsverträge) sind sie zuständig für die Aushandlung internationaler Vereinbarungen zur Wahrung der Interessen der Schweizer Volkswirtschaft. Sie vertreten ihre Fachbereiche auch in den relevanten internationalen Organisationen, wie der Welthandelsorganisation (WTO), der Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD), der Europäischen Freihandelsassoziation (EFTA) oder der Konferenz der Vereinigten Nationen zu Handel und Entwicklung (UNCTAD). Die Aussenwirtschaftlichen Fachdienste stellen weiter die Umsetzung der Verhandlungsergebnisse ins Landesrecht sicher und wachen über die Konformität inländischer Regulierungen mit den internationalen Verpflichtungen der Schweiz. In konkreten Fällen leisten sie entsprechende Unterstützung.

Internationales Wirtschaftsrecht

Zu unseren Aufgaben als Kompetenzzentrum des SECO für Fragen des internationalen Wirtschaftsrechts gehören insbesondere die Aushandlung internationaler Wirtschaftsvereinbarungen und die Vertretung der Schweiz in internationalen Organisationen. Schwerpunkte bilden dabei das Wettbewerbsrecht, Corporate Governance, handelspolitische Schutzmassnahmen, institutionelle Bestimmungen und die Streitbeilegung. Wir vertreten die Schweiz in den Fachausschüssen der OECD und der UNCTAD. In Zusammenarbeit mit den spezialisierten Diensten stellen wir die Kohärenz der Vereinbarungen über Handels-, Dienstleistungs- und Investitionsabkommen der Schweiz sicher.

Internationaler Warenverkehr

Wir sind die Anlaufstelle für autonome, bilaterale, plurilaterale und multilaterale Angelegenheiten des internationalen Warenhandels. Im Bereich Warenverkehr bilden wir – zusammen mit dem für nichttarifarische Massnahmen zuständigen Dienst – das Kompetenzzentrum für Fragen des Marktzugangs für Agrar- und Industriegüter im In- und Ausland. Ein zentraler Aufgabenkreis ist die Gestaltung der Zoll- und Ursprungspolitik, einschliesslich des Führens von Verhandlungen über internationale Abkommen, insbesondere mit der EU (u.a. Freihandelsabkommen 1972 inklusive Protokoll 2 für landwirtschaftliche Verarbeitungsprodukte, Verhandlungen über Landwirtschaft, Lebensmittelsicherheit und Gesundheit) und über Freihandelsabkommen mit Staaten ausserhalb der EU. Ziele sind der Abbau von Zöllen und Gebühren sowie die Vereinfachung der Verfahren an der Grenze. In unsere Zuständigkeit fällt (in Zusammenarbeit mit der Oberzolldirektion und dem Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft) der Vollzug des Bundesgesetzes über die Ein- und Ausfuhr von Erzeugnissen aus Landwirtschaftsprodukten (sog. «Schoggigesetz»).

Nichttarifarische Massnahmen

Wir setzen uns für international harmonisierte und kompatible Produktvorschriften sowie für die gegenseitige Anerkennung von Prüfungen, Zertifizierungen, Konformitätsbewertungen, Inspektionen und Zulassungen ein. Ziel ist es, über die internationale Anerkennung oder Harmonisierung von Vorschriften und Standards einen möglichst ungehinderten Zugang zu ausländischen Märkten zu erreichen und dem Wirtschaftsstandort Schweiz ein wettbewerbsfähiges Angebot zu verschaffen. Wir sind für das WTO-Übereinkommen über technische Handelshemmnisse sowie für das Abkommen über die gegenseitige Anerkennung von Konformitätsbewertungen mit der EU zuständig. Wir handeln Abkommen zur gegenseitigen Anerkennung aus (unter anderem Verhandlungen mit der EU über Landwirtschaft, Lebensmittelsicherheit und Gesundheit sowie über REACH, das neue Chemikalienrecht der EU). Der Vollzug des Bundesgesetzes über die technischen Handelshemmnisse (THG) fällt ebenso in unsere Zuständigkeit wie die Erarbeitung der Grundsätze der schweizerischen Politik zur Beseitigung von nichttarifarischen Handelshemmnissen.

Dienstleistungen

Unsere Aufgabe ist die Verbesserung des Marktzugangs und die Beseitigung von Diskriminierungen im Handel mit Dienstleistungen. Im Rahmen des Dienstleistungsabkommens GATS/WTO sowie von Freihandelsabkommen streben wir die Sicherung und Verbesserung des Marktzugangs für Schweizer Dienstleistungsanbieter und eine nicht diskriminierende Behandlung auf ausländischen Märkten an. Dies in den verschiedenen Dienstleistungszweigen wie Finanzsektor, Telekommunikation, Gross- und Detailhandel, Unternehmensdienstleistungen, freie Berufe, Transport und Logistik, Tourismus, Bau, audiovisuelle Dienstleistungen, Post- und Kurierdienstleistungen, Bildungs- und Gesundheitsdienstleistungen sowie im Bereich des eCommerce. Ausserdem bearbeiten wir Fragen des Landesrechts im Dienstleistungsbereich – insbesondere mit dem Ziel, die Vereinbarkeit mit den internationalen Verpflichtungen der Schweiz und die Kompatibilität mit europäischen Rechtsstandards sicherzustellen.

Internationale Investitionen und multinationale Unternehmen

Wir gestalten internationale Regeln und Vereinbarungen über grenzüberschreitende Investitionen, unter anderem im Rahmen der rund 120 bilateralen Abkommen der Schweiz zum Schutz und zur Förderung der Investitionen sowie von Freihandelsabkommen. Wir vertreten die Schweiz in den Fachausschüssen internationaler Organisationen (namentlich OECD und UNCTAD). Ziel ist die Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen für grenzüberschreitende Investitionen und die Förderung des Beitrags multinationaler Unternehmen zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung. Dazu gehört das Mitgestalten von Grundsätzen für ein verantwortungsvolles Verhalten international tätiger Unternehmen (Corporate Responsibility), unter anderem im Rahmen der OECD-Leitsätze für ein verantwortungsvolles Unternehmensverhalten. Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt legen wir auf die Bekämpfung von Korruption im internationalen Geschäftsverkehr. Wir vertreten die Schweiz im zuständigen Ausschuss der OECD – unter anderem mit dem Ziel, Wettbewerbsverzerrungen infolge von Korruption auf den internationalen Märkten zu verhindern.

Letzte Änderung 29.02.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Aussenwirtschaftliche_Fachdienste.html