World Trade

A commitment to open foreign markets

Open foreign markets are of crucial importance to the Swiss economy. In addition to the bilateral agreements with the European Union, Switzerland’s foreign economic policy also relies on additional pillars. One of the Foreign Economic Affairs Directorate’s core tasks in the field of world trade is to help shape the world economic framework and, together with the special services concerned, to represent Switzerland’s economic interests in important multilateral organisations, particularly the World Trade Organization (WTO), the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

World Trade Organization (WTO)

Switzerland’s high share of foreign trade indicates just how close Switzerland’s ties are with other countries. Reliable international rules for international trade are particularly important. Our active membership of the World Trade Organization (WTO), one of the most important platforms for trade and commerce, is therefore a key element of our foreign economic policy. We participate in the negotiations in the WTO rounds and in WTO bodies (the Ministerial Conference, councils, committees, working groups, etc.). Through our commitment to the dismantling of trade barriers, including the improvement of access to public procurement markets, we contribute to increasing market opportunities for the Swiss export industry and to the strengthening of the domestic market over the longer term. The WTO’s dispute settlement rules, which prevent unilateral rulings and retaliatory measures and which promote overall stability, legal certainty and legal equality among members as well as the monitoring of the trade policy measures in order to combat potential protectionist trends at an early stage, are also very much in Switzerland’s interests. In the framework of the WTO, we are working towards the shaping of a coherent balance between trade and other areas of policy, such as environmental protection and health, the safeguarding of basic labour standards and consumer protection.

Free trade agreements/European Free Trade Association (EFTA)

Even though EFTA currently consists only of three states (Liechtenstein, Iceland and Norway) in addition to Switzerland, it has demonstrated for decades that it is capable of establishing a functioning and dynamic free trade area among its members and with other partner states. Furthermore, EFTA membership provides Switzerland with a useful observer status in the bodies of the European Economic Area (EEA). EFTA is, however, of particular importance to Switzerland as a forum for the negotiation of free trade agreements with non-EU partners. The conclusion of free trade agreements, for the most part within EFTA but also on a bilateral basis, is essentially aimed at guaranteeing Swiss companies conditions for economic cooperation that has legal certainty and is as predictable, free of obstacles and non-discriminatory as possible. These conditions include, in particular, at least the same level of access to international markets as that of Switzerland’s key foreign competitors. At present – in addition to the EFTA convention and the free trade agreement with the EU – Switzerland has a network of 28 free trade agreements with 38 partners outside the European Union. Negotiations are being conducted or planned with numerous other partners. While traditional agreements are restricted mainly to the movement of goods, i.e. first and foremost, to the elimination of customs duties and to the protection of intellectual property rights and competition regulations, more recent agreements also contain substantial provisions relating to public procurement, services, investment and sustainability. These negotiations require collaboration between SECO’s various special foreign economic services with whom we are working to ensure that the interests of the Swiss economy are represented as best as possible.

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

The OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) currently comprises 34 member states. It offers the government representatives of these countries a permanent platform for multilateral economic cooperation covering all economic, social and environmental areas, with the exception of defence and cultural policy. The OECD prepares legally binding decisions, politically binding recommendations or country specific evaluations and analyses, for example on economic growth, unemployment, education, trade, development cooperation, SMEs, sustainability, green growth, biotechnology, healthcare, competition, investment, corruption, research and innovation, etc. We monitor the work of the OECD and coordinate the relevant federal offices and special services to represent Switzerland in the OECD’s varied work.

G20

The basis for a new, global economic governance was created with the establishment of the “Group of 20” (G20) at the Summit of Heads of State and Government in Washington in 2008. Following the initial urgent decisions which had to be taken during the economic and financial crisis, the G20 has since established a structured method of working. As such, Switzerland saw itself faced with a new starting basis but remained convinced at all times of the importance of convergence towards the G20. It consequently reorganised its approach in order to actively defend its commercial and financial interests and to make a contribution towards resolving international problems. With this in mind it passed a strategy that provides for Switzerland to take a proactive position with regard to the central points of the G20 agenda and a stronger position within the international organisations appointed by the G20. Together with the State Secretariat for International Financial Affairs, SIF, and representatives of other departments, the SECO chairs the interdepartmental working group on the implementation of this strategy.

Last modification 29.02.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Welthandel.html

Welthandel

Im Einsatz für offene Auslandsmärkte

Offene Auslandsmärkte sind für die Schweizer Wirtschaft von entscheidender Bedeutung. Die Aussenwirtschaftspolitik der Schweiz stützt sich denn auch – nebst den bilateralen Verträgen mit der EU – auf weitere Eckpfeiler ab: Zu den Kernaufgaben der Direktion für Aussenwirtschaft im Bereich Welthandel gehört es, die weltwirtschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen mitzugestalten und zusammen mit den zuständigen Fachdiensten die schweizerischen Wirtschaftsinteressen in den wichtigen multilateralen Organisationen zu vertreten – insbesondere in der WTO, in der EFTA, in der OECD und in der G20.

Welthandelsorganisation WTO

Die hohe Aussenhandelsquote der Schweiz zeigt, wie stark unsere Wirtschaft mit dem Ausland verflochten ist. Da sind verlässliche internationale Spielregeln für den grenzüberschreitenden Wirtschaftsverkehr besonders wichtig. Eine aktive Mitgliedschaft in der WTO – als eine der wichtigsten Plattformen – ist deshalb zentraler Bestandteil unserer Aussenwirtschaftspolitik. Wir nehmen an den Verhandlungen in den WTO-Welthandelsrunden sowie in den Organen der WTO (Ministerkonferenz, Räte, Ausschüsse, Arbeitsgruppen usw.) teil. Mit dem Einsatz für den Abbau von Handelsschranken, inklusive Verbesserung des Zugangs zu den öffentlichen Beschaffungsmärkten, tragen wir dazu bei, die Absatzmöglichkeiten der schweizerischen Exportwirtschaft zu erhöhen und längerfristig auch den Binnensektor zu stärken. Ganz im Interesse der Schweiz sind auch die WTO-Regeln der Streitbeilegung, welche unilaterale Urteile und einseitige Retorsionsmassnahmen verhindern und insgesamt die Stabilität, Rechtssicherheit und Rechtsgleichheit unter den Mitgliedern fördern, sowie das Monitoring der handelspolitischen Massnahmen, um möglichen protektionistischen Tendenzen früh entgegen zu wirken. Im Rahmen der WTO arbeiten wir auf die kohärente Ausgestaltung des Verhältnisses zwischen Handel und weiteren Politikfeldern wie Schutz von Umwelt und Gesundheit, Wahrung grundlegender Arbeitsnormen und Konsumentenschutz hin.

Freihandelsabkommen/Europäische Freihandelsassoziation EFTA

Auch wenn die EFTA heute neben der Schweiz nur noch aus drei weiteren Staaten besteht (Liechtenstein, Island, Norwegen), beweist sie seit Jahrzehnten, dass sie unter ihren Mitgliedern und mit weiteren Partnerstaaten eine funktionierende und sich dynamisch entwickelnde Freihandelszone zu errichten vermag. Ausserdem ermöglicht die EFTA-Mitgliedschaft der Schweiz einen nützlichen Beobachterstatus in den Gremien des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraums (EWR). Von besonderer Bedeutung ist die EFTA für die Schweiz als Verhandlungsplattform für Freihandelsabkommen mit Partnern ausserhalb der EU. Der Abschluss von Freihandelsabkommen – meist im Rahmen der EFTA, aber auch bilateral – zielt im Wesentlichen darauf ab, den Schweizer Unternehmen rechtlich abgesicherte, vorhersehbare, möglichst hindernis- und diskriminierungsfreie Rahmenbedingungen für die wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit zu garantieren. Dazu gehört insbesondere ein im Vergleich mit den wichtigsten ausländischen Konkurrenten mindestens gleichwertiger Zugang zu internationalen Märkten. Die Schweiz verfügt zur Zeit neben der EFTA-Konvention und dem Freihandelsabkommen mit der EU über ein Netz von 28 Freihandelsabkommen mit 38 Partnern ausserhalb der Europäischen Union. Mit zahlreichen weiteren Partnern werden Verhandlungen geführt und vorbereitet. Während traditionelle Abkommen vornehmlich auf den Warenverkehr, d.h. in erster Linie den Zollabbau, sowie auf den Schutz der Rechte an geistigem Eigentum und Wettbewerbsregeln beschränkt sind, enthalten neuere Abkommen auch substanzielle Bestimmungen über das öffentliche Beschaffungswesen, Dienstleistungen, I nvestitionen und Nachhaltigkeit. Diese Verhandlungen erfordern das Zusammenwirken der verschiedenen aussenwirtschaftlichen Fachdienste des SECO sowie mit weiteren Bundesstellen. Zusammen setzen wir uns dafür ein, dass die Interessen der Schweizer Wirtschaft bestmöglich vertreten werden.

Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung OECD

Die OECD umfasst heute 34 Mitgliedstaaten. Sie bietet den Regierungsvertretern dieser Länder eine permanente Plattform der multilateralen Wirtschaftszusammenarbeit, wobei mit Ausnahme der Verteidigung und der Kulturpolitik alle Bereiche der Wirtschaft, des Sozialen und der Umwelt abgedeckt sind. In der OECD werden rechtsverbindliche Entscheide, politisch verbindliche Empfehlungen oder länderspezifische Evaluierungen und Analysen erarbeitet – zum Beispiel über Wirtschaftswachstum, Arbeitslosigkeit, Bildung, Handel, Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, KMU, Nachhaltigkeit und Green Growth, Biotechnologie, Gesundheitswesen, Wettbewerb, Investitionen, Korruption, Forschung und Innovation. Wir verfolgen die Arbeit der OECD und koordinieren die zuständigen Bundesstellen und Fachdienste für die Vertretung der Schweiz bei den vielfältigen Arbeiten der OECD.

«Group of 20» (G20)

Mit der Schaffung der «Group of 20» (G20) anlässlich des Gipfeltreffens der Staats- und Regierungschefs in Washington 2008 wurde die Basis für eine neue weltweite wirtschaftliche Gouvernanz geschaffen. Nach den ersten dringlichen Entscheidungen während der Wirtschafts- und Finanzkrise hat die G20 inzwischen zu einer strukturierteren Arbeitsweise gefunden. Die Schweiz sah sich somit mit einer neuen Ausgangslage konfrontiert, war von der Wichtigkeit einer Annäherung an die G20 aber stets überzeugt. So hat sie sich neu organisiert, um ihre wirtschaftlichen und finanziellen Interessen aktiv zu verteidigen und zur Lösung internationaler Probleme beizutragen. In diesem Sinne hat sie eine Strategie verabschiedet, die eine proaktive Positionierung der Schweiz zu den zentralen Punkten der G20-Agenda und eine stärkere Stellung unseres Landes innerhalb der von der G20 beauftragten internationalen Organisationen vorsieht. Das SECO hat zusammen mit dem Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen (SIF) und Vertretern anderer Departemente den Vorsitz in der interdepartementalen Arbeitsgruppe zur Umsetzung dieser Strategie.

Letzte Änderung 29.02.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Welthandel.html