Economic Cooperation and Development

Improving living conditions, creating market access and opening up new horizons

Our division draws up the concept for the economic cooperation with selected, more advanced developing countries such as Indonesia and Peru, transition countries in Eastern Europe and Central Asia and the new EU member states (enlargement contribution). The main objective in this context is to promote economic, environmental and socially sustainable growth which creates new jobs, facilitates increased productivity and helps to reduce poverty and disparities. This is done by integrating these countries into the global economy and strengthening the competitiveness of their domestic economies. This work focuses on support measures for those countries who have committed themselves to a serious process of reforms geared towards performance. In this context, good government and equality between the sexes are seen as cross-sectoral themes. We work closely together with the World Bank group, the regional development banks and the trade organisations of the United Nations and represent the interests of Switzerland in these institutions.

Our division is organised along specialist lines and our work is focused on the five topic areas set out below for which the SECO is for the most part also responsible on the national level.

Strengthening economic and financial policy

Stable economic framework conditions and functioning institutions are essential for sustainable economic development. Our support is aimed at creating a stable monetary policy, a balanced financial budget and a strong financial sector. We provide help to our partner countries to create economic reforms which are favourable to generating growth, that contribute to greater budgetary stability, mobilise internal resources, create more efficient public services and improve governmental accountability. In the financial sector we provide support for the regulation and supervision of the financial markets, promote a healthy financial policy environment and the development of local capital markets.

Developing urban infrastructures and utility supplies

We provide support to ensure reliable and affordable energy and water supplies, to prove transport and traffic and to ensure the disposal of waste water and waste, all of which are essential for sustainable development. The aim is to establish basic public institutions and to make the operational and financial capacities of utility companies more professional. Another task is to promote the framework conditions to ensure that operating costs are placed on a sound financial basis. In this context particular attention must be placed on integrated urban development in order to increase the attraction of medium-sized city centres as a place to live and work and so that they can better fulfil their central role in generating economic growth. This will also promote social harmony and reduce the pressure on migration.

Support for the private sector and enterprise

A dynamic private sector built on a strong spirit of enterprise creates jobs, helps to increase tax revenues and, through the exchange of goods and services, plays a key role in economic integration. We are helping to improve the business environment for SMEs and to enable them to access outside financing. We contribute towards improving the efficiency of local financial markets and establishing a sustainable spirit of enterprise. Last but not least, we promote a range of measures which are aimed at prompting both domestic and foreign investment and in this way we are making a contribution towards the transfer of capital, know-how and technology to both developing countries and countries in transition.

Promoting sustainable trade

Opening up trade in a way which is geared towards rules and is non-discriminatory, creates new opportunities for all the market participants. The task is to utilise the existing locational advantages for economic development. We support measures that set out and improve the framework conditions for trade which is both socially and environmentally acceptable and which strengthen the international competitiveness of manufacturers and SMEs in the partner countries. We also smooth the way for the import of sustainably-manufactured goods and services into European markets in particular by promoting the application of quality standards as well as environmental and social criteria in the developing countries and those in transition. Last but not least, we are responsible for the system of preferential customs tariffs for imports from developing countries.

Paving the way for climate-friendly growth

The successes achieved over recent decades in combating poverty are being jeopardised by the consequences of climate change. We are helping to combat the causes of climate warming – often the result of inefficient industrial processes – and to enable the partner countries to achieve climate-friendly growth. We are concentrating on the areas of energy efficiency and renewable energies, the sustainable use of natural resources and on strengthening market and financing mechanisms in terms of climate protection. This work focuses on favourable and stable framework conditions, such as appropriate energy tariffs and standards, investment certainty, market access and protection for intellectual property.

Developing multilateral cooperation

We are responsible for the relationships between Switzerland and the World Bank group, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development as well as with the regional development banks for Africa, Asia and Latin America. In conjunction with the Development and Cooperation Directorate DEZA, we also define Switzerland’s approach and strategy on the decision-making committees of these institutions and as co-stakeholder we exercise the rights and obligations. These institutions provide financial resources and technical support as a way of contributing towards sustainable development and for reducing poverty in the developing countries and countries in transition. They are strategic partners in the implementation of the SECO’s bilateral support measures. The OECD, in particular the Development Aid Committee of the OECD (DAC) is another key partner.

Promoting programme and project quality

We develop quality standards and instruments for control, evaluation, risk management and financial controls and for implementing the corresponding measures. The aim is to guarantee the effectiveness of our measures and to minimise the risks involved. With the help of knowledge management, training, taking account of internationally recognised basic principles and proven methods, we promote an ongoing learning process on various levels (effectiveness, harmonisation of the assistance, fighting corruption, reducing poverty, political coherence, migration, the gender dimension). Other key instruments of accountability include the activity with regard to information and the organisation of events.

Last modification 04.02.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit_Entwicklung.html

Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung

Lebensbedingungen verbessern, Märkte erschliessen, Einkommen schaffen, Perspektiven eröffnen

Unser Leistungsbereich konzipiert die wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit ausgewählten fortgeschrittenen Entwicklungsländern wie Indonesien und Peru, Transitionsländern in Osteuropa und in Zentralasien sowie den neuen Mitgliedstaaten der EU (Erweiterungsbeitrag) und setzt diese um. Hauptziel ist dabei die Förderung eines wirtschaftlich, ökologisch und sozial nachhaltigen Wachstums, das neue Arbeitsplätze schafft, eine höhere Produktivität begünstigt und zur Verminderung von Armut und Disparitäten beiträgt. Dies geschieht über die Integration dieser Länder in die Weltwirtschaft und über die Stärkung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit ihrer Binnenwirtschaften. Im Fokus stehen Unterstützungsmassnahmen für Länder, die sich einem ernsthaften und leistungsorientierten Reformprozess verpflichtet haben. Dabei werden eine gute Regierungsführung und die Gleichstellung von Mann und Frau als Transversalthemen berücksichtigt. Wir arbeiten eng mit der Weltbankgruppe, den regionalen Entwicklungsbanken und den Handelsorganisationen der Vereinten Nationen zusammen und vertreten die Interessen der Schweiz in diesen Institutionen.

Wir sind fachspezifisch organisiert und arbeiten mit den nachfolgend dargestellten fünf Themenschwerpunkten, in denen das SECO grösstenteils auch national zuständig ist.

Wirtschafts- und Finanzpolitik stärken

Stabile volkswirtschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen und funktionierende Institutionen sind unerlässlich für eine nachhaltige wirtschaftliche Entwicklung. Unsere Unterstützung zielt auf eine stabile Geldpolitik, einen ausgeglichenen Finanzhaushalt und einen starken Finanzsektor. Wir helfen unseren Partnerländern bei der Gestaltung wachstumsfreundlicher Wirtschaftsreformen, die zu mehr Budgetstabilität beitragen, interne Ressourcen mobilisieren, öffentliche Dienstleistungen effizienter gestalten und die Rechenschaft der Regierungen verbessern. Im Finanzsektor unterstützen wir die Finanzmarktregulierung und -aufsicht, fördern ein gesundes geldpolitisches Umfeld und die Entwicklung lokaler Kapitalmärkte.

Städtische Infrastruktur und Versorgung aufbauen

Wir leisten Unterstützung für die verlässliche und bezahlbare Versorgung mit Energie und Wasser, die Verbesserung von Transport und Verkehr und die Entsorgung von Abwasser und Abfall, die für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung wesentlich sind. Öffentliche Grundeinrichtungen sollen erstellt und die betrieblichen sowie finanziellen Kapazitäten von Versorgungsbetrieben professionalisiert werden. Hinzu kommt die Förderung der Rahmenbedingungen für eine solide Finanzierung der Betriebskosten. Ein besonderes Augenmerk gilt dabei der integrierten urbanen Entwicklung, damit mittelgrosse städtische Zentren an Standortattraktivität gewinnen und somit ihre zentrale Rolle beim Wirtschaftswachstum besser erfüllen können. Dadurch wird auch der soziale Frieden gefördert und der Migrationsdruck vermindert.

Privatsektor und Unternehmertum unterstützen

Ein dynamischer, von einem starken Unternehmertum getragener Privatsektor schafft Arbeitsplätze, verhilft zu höherem Steueraufkommen und spielt durch den Austausch von Gütern und Dienstleistungen eine Schlüsselrolle bei der wirtschaftlichen Integration. Wir helfen mit, für KMU das Geschäftsumfeld zu verbessern und ihnen den Zugang zu externer Finanzierung zu ermöglichen. Wir tragen zur Verbesserung der Effizienz lokaler Finanzmärkte und der Bildung eines nachhaltigen Unternehmertums bei. Schliesslich fördern wir eine Reihe von Massnahmen, die darauf abzielen, sowohl in- als auch ausländische Investitionen auszulösen und damit zum Transfer von Kapital, Know-how und Technologie in Entwicklungs- und Transitionsländern beizutragen.

Nachhaltigen Handel fördern

Eine regelorientierte, nichtdiskriminierende Liberalisierung des Handels schafft für alle Marktteilnehmer neue Chancen. Es gilt, bestehende Standortvorteile für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung wahrzunehmen. Wir unterstützen Massnahmen, welche die Rahmenbedingungen für einen sozialen und umweltverträglichen Handel setzen und verbessern sowie die internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von Produzenten und KMU in den Partnerländern stärken. Wir erleichtern auch die Einfuhr von nachhaltig produzierten Waren und Dienstleistungen in europäische Märkte, insbesondere indem wir die Anwendung von Qualitätsstandards sowie Umwelt- und Sozialkriterien in den Entwicklungs- und Transitionsländern fördern. Schliesslich sind wir für das Zollpräferenzen-System für Importe aus Entwicklungsländern zuständig.

Klimafreundliches Wachstum ermöglichen

Die Erfolge der letzten Jahrzehnte im Kampf gegen die Armut werden durch die Folgen des Klimawandels gefährdet. Wir helfen mit, die Ursachen der Klimaerwärmung – oft bedingt durch ineffiziente Wirtschaftsabläufe – zu bekämpfen und den Partnerländern ein klimafreundliches Wachstum zu ermöglichen. Wir konzentrieren uns auf die Bereiche Energieeffizienz und erneuerbare Energien, nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung der Naturressourcen sowie Stärkung von Markt- und Finanzierungsmechanismen im Klimaschutz. Der Fokus liegt bei günstigen und stabilen Rahmenbedingungen, wie angemessene Energietarife und -standards, Investitionssicherheit, Marktzugang und Schutz des geistigen Eigentums.

Multilaterale Zusammenarbeit entwickeln

Wir sind verantwortlich für die Beziehungen der Schweiz zur Weltbankgruppe, zur Europäischen Bank für Wiederaufbau und Entwicklung sowie zu den regionalen Entwicklungsbanken Afrikas, Asiens und Lateinamerikas. Zudem definieren wir mit der Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (DEZA) die Haltung und Strategie der Schweiz in den Entscheidungsgremien dieser Institutionen und nehmen die Rechte und Pflichten als Miteigentümer wahr. Diese Institutionen stellen finanzielle Mittel und technische Unterstützung, um zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung und zur Verringerung der Armut in den Entwicklungs- und Transitionsländern beizutragen. Sie sind strategische Partner bei der Umsetzung der bilateralen Unterstützungsmassnahmen des SECO. Ein weiterer zentraler Partner ist die OECD, insbesondere der Entwicklungshilfeausschuss der OECD (DAC).

Programm- und Projektqualität begünstigen

Wir entwickeln Qualitätsstandards und Instrumente für die Steuerung, die Evaluation, das Risikomanagement und die Finanzkontrolle und setzen entsprechende Massnahmen um. Ziel ist es, die Wirksamkeit unserer Massnahmen zu garantieren und die Risiken zu minimieren. Mit Hilfe des Wissensmanagements, der Ausbildung, der Berücksichtigung v on international anerkannten Grundsätzen und bewährten Methoden fördern wir einen andauernden Lernprozess auf verschiedenen Ebenen (Wirksamkeit, Harmonisierung der Hilfe, Korruptionsbekämpfung, Armutsreduktion, Politikkohärenz, Migration, Genderdimension). Die Informationstätigkeit sowie die Organisation von Anlässen sind ebenfalls wichtige Instrumente der Rechenschaftsablegung.

Letzte Änderung 29.02.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit_Entwicklung.html