Promotion Activities Directorate

standortfoerderung

Towards sustainable economic growth

The Swiss economy competes in a global market. Global economic structural change also requires our companies to adapt to constantly evolving challenges. The Promotion Activities Directorate provides Switzerland as a business location with targeted help in this adjustment process, thereby contributing towards a sustainable increase in the value added of the Swiss economy. The directorate’s priorities focus on the promotion in other countries of Switzerland as a location for business, on export promotion and export risk insurance, regional and spatial planning policy, the improvement of general conditions for SMEs and on tourism.

The founding or resettlement of leading technology companies broadens the spectrum of our economy. Stakeholders who are at a disadvantage in the adjustment process due to their size or structure benefit from the Promotion Activities Directorate’s SME policy, particularly in the shape of information flows or the creation of platforms intended to encourage cooperation. The regions receive support for their own, long-term independent economic development beyond cantonal and national borders. We strive to ensure that our economic policy measures include adequate incentive mechanisms.

SME Policy

Over 99 per cent of private sector companies in Switzerland are SMEs. In all they employ two thirds of the working population. Compared with large firms, SMEs are more heavily affected by administrative burdens and financing issues. We act as an intermediary between businesses and the federal administration, concentrating on two main tasks: Firstly, on reducing administrative hurdles for the companies, for example in the form of the SME compatibility test which is applied to test the compatibility of new laws with the needs of SMEs, or through practical and comprehensive information for existing SMEs and start-ups – for example via a specially created Internet portal for SMEs (www.kmu.admin.ch). The second area of emphasis is on corporate financing, e.g. by supporting the system of business-orientated loans for SMEs.

Export and Investment Promotion

We ensure a diverse range of services for export-orientated Swiss companies. Switzerland Global Enterprise (S-GE) carries out operational export promotion on behalf of the federal government. S-GE provides detailed information on foreign markets, helps the SME to find business opportunities abroad and lends support e.g. for attendance at key trade fairs. The Swiss Export Risk Insurance (SERV) provides Swiss companies with insurance against economic and political risks for their export business.

In terms of promoting the location, potential investors are given information and advice on all the important facts about Switzerland as a location for business and research. The federal government’s location promotion activities are conducted by S-GE and coordinated with those of the cantons.

Regional and Spatial Planning Policy

With the help of regional policy instruments we support the efforts of rural areas as well as mountain and border regions to introduce structural change and improve their competitiveness. We aim to improve the quality of the regions as a location for business through direct promotion in the form of contributions and loans for infrastructure investments, in particular incentives for cross-border collaboration in functional economic areas. By coordinating our activities with other, similarly-orientated federal tasks, we also strive to create synergies for projects in the assisted regions.

Tourism

As the federal government’s centre of excellence for tourism we strive to ensure advantageous conditions for companies in the tourism sector. Within the framework of the Federal Act on Innovation Promotion, Cooperation and Knowledge Building in Tourism, Innotour (www.inno-tour.ch) and the Federal Act on the Promotion of the Hospitality Industry, we support the innovation and investment activities as well as cooperation and knowledge building in Swiss tourism. We also provide support for marketing Switzerland as a travel destination and represent our country in international tourism organisations.

Last modification 20.01.2017

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Standortfoerderung.html

Direktion für Standortförderung

standortfoerderung

Im Dienst eines nachhaltigen Wirtschaftswachstums

Die Schweizer Wirtschaft steht im weltweiten Wettbewerb. Der globale wirtschaftliche Strukturwandel erfordert auch von unseren Unternehmen, sich an immer neue Herausforderungen anzupassen. Die Direktion für Standortförderung unterstützt die Anpassungsprozesse des Wirtschaftsstandortes gezielt und trägt so zu einer nachhaltigen Erhöhung der Wertschöpfung der Schweizer Volkswirtschaft bei. Die Schwerpunkte liegen in der Promotion des Wirtschaftsstandorts Schweiz im Ausland, bei der Exportförderung und der Exportrisikoversicherung, in der Regional- und Raumordnungspolitik sowie in der Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen und den Tourismus.

Die Gründung oder Ansiedlung von technologisch führenden Unternehmen erweitert das Branchenspektrum unserer Wirtschaft. Akteure, die aufgrund strukturell bedingter Grössennachteile im Anpassungsprozess benachteiligt sind, profitieren von der KMU-Politik der Direktion für Standortförderung auf überbetrieblicher Ebene – zum Beispiel bei der Sicherung der Informationsvermittlung oder der Bildung von Plattformen zur Förderung der Kooperation. Die Regionen erhalten Unterstützung in ihrer eigenen, langfristig selbständigen wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung über die Kantons- und Landesgrenzen hinaus. Bei wirtschaftspolitischen Massnahmen werden immer angemessene Anreizmechanismen angestrebt.

KMU-Politik

Über 99 Prozent der marktwirtschaftlichen Unternehmen in der Schweiz sind KMU, die insgesamt zwei Drittel der Erwerbstätigen beschäftigen. Im Vergleich zu Grossunternehmen sind sie stärker von administrativen Belastungen und Problemen der Finanzierung betroffen. Als Schnittstelle zwischen den Unternehmen und der Bundesverwaltung konzentrieren wir uns auf zwei Hauptaufgaben: Erstens auf die administrative Entlastung der Unternehmen, zum Beispiel durch den KMU-Verträglichkeitstest, mit dem neue Gesetze auf die KMU-Verträglichkeit untersucht werden, oder durch eine zweckmässige und umfassende Information für bestehende KMU und Initianten von Unternehmensgründungen – wie etwa mit dem eigens geschaffenen Internet-Portal (www.kmu.admin.ch). Den zweiten Schwerpunkt bildet die Unternehmensfinanzierung, zum Beispiel mittels Unterstützung des gewerbeorientierten Bürgschaftswesens für KMU.

Exportförderung und Standortpromotion

Wir stellen ein vielfältiges Dienstleistungsangebot für exportorientierte Schweizer Unternehmen sicher. Die operationelle Exportförderung wird im Auftrag des Bundes von Switzerland Global Enterprise (S-GE) durchgeführt. S-GE vermittelt detaillierte Informationen über ausländische Märkte, ist den KMU beim Realisieren von Geschäftsmöglichkeiten im Ausland behilflich und unterstützt beispielsweise auch Auftritte an wichtigen Leitmessen. Die Schweizerische Exportrisikoversicherung (SERV) versichert Exportgeschäfte von Schweizer Unternehmen gegen wirtschaftliche und politische Risiken.

In der Standortpromotion werden potenzielle Investoren über alle wichtigen Fakten des Wirtschafts- und Forschungsstandorts Schweiz informiert und beraten. Die Standortpromotion des Bundes wird durch S-GE geführt und ist mit jener der Kantone koordiniert. 

Regional- und Raumordnungspolitik

Mittels regionalpolitischer Instrumente unterstützen wir den Strukturwandel und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des ländlichen Raums sowie von Berg- und Grenzregionen. Mit der direkten Förderung in Form von Beiträgen und Darlehen für Infrastrukturinvestitionen zielen wir auf eine Verbesserung der regionalen Standortqualität ab. Dabei werden insbesondere Anreize für die kantonsübergreifende und grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit in funktionalen Wirtschaftsräumen gesetzt. Durch die Koordination unserer Tätigkeiten mit anderen, ähnlich ausgerichteten Bundesaufgaben streben wir zudem Verbundeffekte zugunsten von Projekten in den Fördergebieten an.

Tourismus

Als Kompetenzzentrum des Bundes für Tourismusfragen sorgen wir für vorteilhafte Rahmenbedingungen für die Tourismusunternehmen. Im Rahmen des Bundesgesetzes über die Förderung von Innovation, Zusammenarbeit und Wissensaufbau im Tourismus Innotour (www.inno-tour.ch) und des Bundesgesetzes über die Förderung der Beherbergungswirtschaft unterstützen wir die Innovations- und Investitionstätigkeit sowie die Zusammenarbeit und den Wissensaufbau im Schweizer Tourismus. Ausserdem unterstützen wir das Marketing für das Reiseziel «Schweiz» und vertreten unser Land in den zwischenstaatlichen Tourismus-Organisationen.

Letzte Änderung 20.01.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Standortfoerderung.html