International Labour Affairs

Social stability, social dialogue and improved sharing of the opportunities offered by globalisation

Open markets and societies are essential for ensuring prosperity and democracy. Globalisation brings change, creating situations where not all are able to benefit from greater prosperity. That is why social protection is needed to allow all sections of society to make the most of the opportunities offered by globalisation. Supporting the social dimension of globalisation at international level is the task of the International Labour Affairs Unit.

We represent Switzerland in the International Labour Organization (ILO), the only tripartite institution of the United Nations. The ILO is therefore entrusted with the task of promoting social justice and preserving human rights in the world of work. Its primary tasks are to promote labour rights, support the creation of dignity in work, further develop social protection and to encourage social dialogue in the search for solutions to deal with the problems of the world of work. We draw up the reports relating to the legal and practical implementation of the ILO treaties which have been ratified by Switzerland and organise the work of the tripartite federal commission on ILO affairs.

In terms of a coherent foreign policy, we promote compliance with the fundamental labour standards – on the one side within other international organisations (e.g. the UN, Bretton-Woods institutions, the WTO) and on the other side through the introduction of the new model provisions on “trade and sustainable development” formulated by the EFTA within the framework of bilateral and regional trade agreements. Through economic development cooperation programmes we have a global commitment to dignity in work. The aim of these programmes is to make a contribution towards respecting employee rights, promoting sustainable enterprises, growth in employment and reducing poverty by gradually developing a base for social protection.

We monitor the compliance with the criteria for socially acceptable manufacturing conditions; for example, under the corresponding act, fuels from renewable resources in particular are exempt from the duty on mineral oil. Last but not least, we are responsible for reporting on the implementation of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (UN Covenant I).

Last modification 04.02.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/direktion-fuer-arbeit/Internationale_Arbeitsfragen.html

Internationale Arbeitsfragen

Soziale Stabilität, Sozialdialog und bessere Verteilung der Chancen der Globalisierung

Offene Märkte und Gesellschaften sind Voraussetzung für die Sicherung von Wohlstand und Demokratie. Die Globalisierung verursacht Veränderungen, die dazu führen, dass nicht alle vom Wohlstandsgewinn profitieren können. Deshalb ist eine soziale Absicherung notwendig, die es allen Teilen der Gesellschaften ermöglicht, die Chancen der Globalisierung optimal zu nutzen. Die soziale Dimension international zu unterstützen, ist Aufgabe der Stabsstelle Internationale Arbeitsfragen.

Wir vertreten die Schweiz in der internationalen Arbeitsorganisation (IAO), der einzigen tripartiten Institution der Vereinten Nationen. Die IAO ist damit betraut, die soziale Gerechtigkeit zu fördern und für die Einhaltung der Menschenrechte in der Arbeitswelt zu sorgen. Ihre Hauptaufgaben bestehen darin, die Arbeitsrechte zu fördern, die Schaffung menschenwürdiger Arbeitsplätze zu unterstützen, den sozialen Schutz weiterzuentwickeln und den Sozialdialog bei der Suche nach Lösungen für die Probleme der Arbeitswelt anzuregen. Wir verfassen die Berichte zur rechtlichen und praktischen Umsetzung der von der Schweiz ratifizierten Übereinkommen der IAO und organisieren die Arbeiten der tripartiten eidgenössischen Kommission für IAO-Angelegenheiten.

Im Sinne einer kohärenten Aussenpolitik setzen wir uns für die Einhaltung der grundlegenden Arbeitsnormen ein – einerseits gegenüber anderen internationalen Organisationen (z. B. UNO, Bretton-Woods-Institutionen, WTO) und andererseits durch die Einführung der durch die EFTA erarbeiteten neuen Musterbestimmungen zu «Handel und nachhaltiger Entwicklung» im Rahmen bilateraler und regionaler Handelsabkommen. Über Programme der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit engagieren wir uns weltweit für menschenwürdige Arbeit. Diese Programme sollen zur Respektierung der Arbeitnehmerrechte, zur Förderung nachhaltiger Unternehmen, zum Beschäftigungswachstum und zur Armutsreduktion beitragen, indem sukzessive ein Sockel des sozialen Schutzes aufgebaut wird.

Wir kontrollieren die Einhaltung der Kriterien für sozialverträgliche Produktionsbedingungen; so werden namentlich Treibstoffe aus erneuerbaren Rohstoffen im Sinne des entsprechenden Gesetzes von der Mineralölsteuer befreit.

Schliesslich sind wir dafür verantwortlich, die Berichte der Umsetzung des Internationalen Paktes über wirtschaftliche, soziale und kulturelle Rechte (UNO-Pakt I) zu verfassen und zu publizieren.

Letzte Änderung 29.02.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/direktion-fuer-arbeit/Internationale_Arbeitsfragen.html