EFTA - Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC)

Gulf Cooperation Council GCC



In the framework of EFTA, Switzerland launched negotiations with the countries of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC, namely United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Katar and Kuwait) in June 2006. These negotiations were concluded on 23rd April, 2008 and the competent ministers signed the agreement on 22nd June, 2009. It has entered into force on 1st July 2014.

In addition to the list of specific commitments, which follow a positive approach, and a list of MFN exemptions, the services chapter contains the following four annexes: Recognition of qualifications of services suppliers, movement of natural persons, financial and telecommunications services. This chapter does not contain obligations on standstill and ratchet.

Please find below the full texts in English and non official Arabic translation:



Last modification 06.03.2019

Top of page