The EFTA-Convention

Convention establishing the European Free Trade Association (EFTA)

The Convention of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) establishes a preferential relationship for services among Switzerland and its three EFTA partners (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway). Articles 29 to 33 of the EFTA Convention provide for preferential treatment in services between the EFTA Member States. Under Article 29 of the Convention the EFTA Member States are committing themselves not to apply restrictions on the right to supply services within the territory of a Member State in respect of natural persons, companies or firms of Member States who are established in the territory of another Member State. Exceptions to this obligation are listed in the Annexes L to O of the EFTA Convention. Article 20 and Annex K of the Convention set out further disciplines on the supply of services by natural persons.

Below are the full texts:

Last modification 03.02.2016

Top of page