CSR Issues

Corporate social responsibility (CSR) aims to optimise the benefit to an enterprise’s stakeholders and to prevent or dampen the potential adverse affects of its activities. CSR therefore covers a broad spectrum of issues that must be taken into account in business conduct. This includes working conditions, human rights, the environment, preventing corruption, corporate governance, gender equality, occupational integration, consumer interests and taxes.


Human Rights

An enterprise’s responsibility to respect human rights relates to internationally recognised human rights, particularly those of the United Nations. Human rights due diligence enables enterprises to identify any adverse effects resulting from its activities and in its value chain in good time and to prevent or reduce them. The shape it takes in practice depends above all on the size of the enterprise and on certain risk factors such as the region and sector.


Working Conditions

By ensuring the best possible employment conditions based on the applicable statutory provisions and international labour standards, in particular those of the International Labour Organization, enterprises can play a role in creating high-quality jobs. This primarily concerns the granting of trade union rights, the abolition of child and forced labour and the elimination of employee discrimination (e.g. based on where they come from, their social background, skin colour, religion or political views). Constructive cooperation with social partners is also an important part of this.


The Environment

Responsible environmental management aims to continuously improve an enterprise’s impact on the environment. This includes a progressive internal environmental management system based on high standards, environmental due diligence, an environmentally friendly strategy with closed cycles, consistent reduction of greenhouse gas emissions and a contingency plan for reducing harmful effects on the environment.


Combating Corruption

Corruption has an extremely harmful effect on democratic institutions, good corporate governance, investments and international competition. Enterprises can play a key role in combating corruption by introducing internal control mechanisms to avoid and expose it. It is also important to publish the policy on combating corruption supported by the management and to train employees.


Disclosing Information

As part of a transparent reporting process, enterprises inform the public about their business activities and their effects in terms of the economy, society and the environment. The regular, timely and pertinent disclosure of information improves an enterprise’s transparency and credibility. The reporting process also gains the trust of the enterprise’s stakeholders (e.g. shareholders, financial institutions, employees and interest groups) and can facilitate access to capital.


Corporate Governance

Good corporate governance involves striving towards transparency and a balanced ratio of management and control while protecting the decision-making power and efficiency at the topmost corporate level. These are underpinned by good accounting und reporting practices, supervision by the Board of Directors and respect for shareholder rights and the concerns of key stakeholders.


Consumer Interests

For consumers, it has become increasingly difficult to compare products and services and to make informed decisions about purchases, particularly due to the increasing numbers of products on offer and the complexity of many markets. They are therefore reliant on enterprises adopting fair business and marketing practices and guaranteeing the safety and quality of their products and services. This involves providing accurate and clear product information, promoting sustainable consumption and taking customer concerns seriously.


Gender Equality

As part of their activities, enterprises should be guided by the basic principle of gender equality in employment and, in this regard, should refrain from any discrimination towards their employees based on gender. Balancing work and family and equal pay are key corporate challenges.


Occupational Integration

By identifying its employees’ health issues early on and quickly taking the appropriate measures, enterprises can safeguard their staff's employability. This will reduce the number of people leaving the job market due to health problems as much as possible. Employees with a health problem should be supported throughout the reintegration process.


Taxes

If an enterprise lawfully pays its taxes both in Switzerland and also on its overseas business transactions, it is contributing to public finances and to the development of its host countries. It also avoids putting its finances, reputation and supervision by authorities at risk. It is also important for enterprises to cooperate well with the competent authorities so that these can apply the relevant taxes.


Last modification 31.08.2018

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Gesellschaftliche_Verantwortung_der_Unternehmen/CSR-Themen.html

Thèmes liés à la RSE

L’objectif de la responsabilité sociétale des entreprises (RSE) est d’optimiser l’utilité de l’entreprise pour les parties prenantes et d’éviter ou d’atténuer les éventuels effets négatifs des activités de l’entreprise. La RSE embrasse une large palette de thèmes dont les entreprises doivent tenir compte. En font partie, entre autres, les conditions de travail, les droits de l’homme, l’environnement, la prévention de la corruption, la gouvernance d’entreprise, l’égalité des sexes, l’intégration professionnelle, les intérêts des consommateurs et la fiscalité


Droits de l’homme

En matière de droits de l’homme, la responsabilité des entreprises se fonde sur les droits de l’homme reconnus internationalement, notamment par les Nations Unies. Un examen de diligence permet aux entreprises d’identifier à temps et de prévenir ou d’atténuer d’éventuelles conséquences négatives de leur activité ou de leur chaîne de valeur. Sa nature concrète dépend de la taille de l’entreprise et de facteurs de risque tels que la région et le secteur.


Conditions de travail

En garantissant les meilleures conditions de travail possibles en vertu de la législation en vigueur et des normes internationales du travail, en particulier celles de l’Organisation internationale du travail (OIT), les entreprises contribuent à la création d’emplois de qualité. Cela concerne avant tout l’octroi des droits syndicaux, l’abolition du travail des enfants et du travail forcé ainsi que l’élimination des discriminations à l’encontre des travailleurs (p. ex. en raison de l’ascendance nationale ou de l’origine sociale, de la couleur de peau, de la religion ou de l’opinion politique). La collaboration constructive avec les partenaires sociaux est également un élément important.


Environnement

Une gestion responsable de l’environnement a pour but l’amélioration continue des performances environnementales de l’entreprise. En font partie un système de gestion environnementale interne novateur se basant sur des normes élevées, un examen de diligence sous l’angle écologique, une stratégie respectueuse de l’environnement prévoyant l’emploi de cycles fermés et une importante réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre, ainsi qu’un plan d’urgence en vue d’empêcher les nuisances pour l’environnement.


Lutte contre la corruption

La corruption est préjudiciable aux institutions démocratiques, à la bonne gouvernance, aux investissements et à la concurrence internationale. Les entreprises ont un rôle important à jouer dans la lutte contre la corruption en introduisant des mécanismes de contrôle interne en vue de prévenir et de déceler ce type de délit. Par ailleurs, il est particulièrement important pour l’entreprise de faire connaître la politique de lutte contre la corruption adoptée par sa direction et de former ses collaborateurs.


Publication d’informations

Aux fins de transparence, les entreprises informent le public de leurs activités et des effets de ces dernières du point de vue économique, social et environnemental. Des comptes rendus réguliers et factuels, effectués en temps opportun améliorent la transparence et la crédibilité des entreprises. Par ailleurs, la publication d’informations inspire confiance aux parties prenantes de l’entreprise (p. ex. les actionnaires, les établissements financiers, les employés, les groupes d’intérêts) et peut faciliter l’accès au capital.


Gouvernance d’entreprise

Une bonne gouvernance vise à instaurer au plus haut niveau de l’entreprise un rapport équilibré entre les tâches de direction et de contrôle, tout en maintenant la capacité de décision et l’efficacité. Elle se fonde sur la présentation des comptes, la surveillance exercée par le conseil d’administration et le respect des droits des actionnaires et des souhaits des principales parties prenantes.


Intérêts des consommateurs

Du fait, notamment, de l’augmentation de l’offre de produits et de la complexité de nombreux marchés, il est devenu plus difficile pour les consommateurs de comparer les produits et les services, et de faire des choix en connaissance de cause. C’est pourquoi il est important que les entreprises appliquent des pratiques commerciales et de marketing loyales et garantissent la sécurité et la qualité de leurs produits et services. Fournir des informations claires et exactes sur les produits, encourager la consommation durable et prendre au sérieux les souhaits des consommateurs sont autant de moyens d’agir dans leur intérêt.


Égalité des sexes

Dans le cadre de leurs activités, les entreprises devraient s’inspirer du principe de l’égalité des sexes dans le travail et ne pas pratiquer de discrimination en raison du sexe. La conciliation entre la vie professionnelle et la vie familiale ainsi que l’égalité salariale sont des défis pour les entreprises qui revêtent une importance cruciale.


Intégration professionnelle

La détection précoce des problèmes de santé des collaborateurs et des mesures appropriées et prises à temps permettent de garantir l’aptitude des collaborateurs à participer au marché du travail. Les sorties du marché du travail pour des raisons de santé peuvent ainsi être évitées dans la mesure du possible. Les collaborateurs souffrant de problèmes de santé devraient être soutenus dans le processus de réintégration professionnelle.


Impôts

Lorsque les entreprises s’acquittent de leurs impôts conformément à la loi dans le pays même mais aussi dans le cadre de leurs affaires à l’étranger, elles contribuent aux finances publiques et au développement des pays d’accueil. Dans le même temps, elles se prémunissent contre des risques financiers, réglementaires et de réputation. La bonne coopération avec les autorités compétentes est également importante pour que ces dernières puissent prélever les impôts.


Dernière modification 09.08.2019

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Gesellschaftliche_Verantwortung_der_Unternehmen/CSR-Themen.html