International CSR Standards and Developments

Over the last few years, corporate social responsibility (CSR) has gained importance on the international stage and undergone conceptual changes. New tools have been developed and existing ones updated and enhanced. After the ISO 26000 Guidance on Social Responsibility was published in 2010, the updated OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises and the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights were released in 2011. The UN Sustainable Development Goals of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, which appeared in 2015, also emphasise the contribution the private sector can make to sustainable development.

OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises

The OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises constitute comprehensive recommendations for conduct provided by governments to multinational enterprises. They help enterprises exercise their responsibility and can be applied wherever the enterprises operate. The OECD guidelines are not legally binding but the National Contact Points (NCPs) of the signatory states support their implementation. Any suspected breaches against the OECD guidelines can be reported to the NCPs, which offer a platform for dialogue or a mediation procedure. Sector-specific guidelines (covering minerals, agriculture, textiles, finance, etc.) support implementation of the OECD guidelines and enterprises’ due diligence in particular.

UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights

The UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights include 31 principles and are based on three pillars:

  1. State duty: Countries must take the necessary measures (e.g. laws, incentives and awareness raising) to protect the population from human rights abuses, including by private agents (enterprises included).
  2. Corporate responsibility: Enterprises must respect human rights and to this end must exercise due diligence in proportion to the circumstances.
  3. Access to remedy: Countries and enterprises have a responsibility to facilitate effective remediation for those affected by means of judicial and extrajudicial measures.

The principles can be applied to all countries and enterprises regardless of their size, sector, location or ownership and organisational structures. However, they do not constitute international obligations. The National Report and Action Plan on Business and Human Rights demonstrates how the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights can be implemented in Switzerland.

UN Global Compact

Thanks to its 10 universal principles on human rights, working standards, the environment and combating corruption, the United Nations Global Compact (UNGC) offers an introduction to CSR issues and serves as a networking and learning platform. With more than 10,000 participating enterprises and organisations, it is now the biggest network in the world for responsible business conduct. The UNGC is a multi-stakeholder platform whose primary goal is to facilitate dialogue between the individual interest groups working together to implement the principles. Participating enterprises are obliged to publish a report on the progress they have made in implementing the principles each year. The federal government supports the Global Compact Network Switzerland by means of a partnership.

ISO 26000 Guidance on Social Responsibility

The ISO 26000 guidance on social responsibility was elaborated as part of a broad-based international process between industry and developing countries, enterprises, and workers’, consumers’ and non-governmental organisations. It helps enterprises and organisations take a strategic approach to their business processes in accordance with responsible business conduct principles. Although ISO 26000 provides a comprehensive take on social responsibility, it is not certifiable like other ISO standards.

Global Reporting Initiative

The Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) provides a globally applicable framework for drawing up sustainability reports in accordance with internationally recognised criteria. The reporting framework covers principles and indicators for enterprises and other organisations to measure their economic, environmental and social performance. At the same time, a report oriented towards the GRI also provides interest groups with a transparent representation of the relevant sustainability aspects of an enterprise.

International Developments

The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development (UN development goals) was developed by the international community in 2015 to contribute to global development, promote human well-being and to protect the environment. The 17 Sustainable Development Goals and their 169 targets form a core element of this agenda. Switzerland’s contribution to the 2030 Agenda is outlined in the Sustainable Development Strategy.

The EU Strategy (2011–14) for Corporate Social Responsibility describes the EU’s strategic approach and the specific measures it has in place regarding CSR. More information is available on the relevant European Commission website.

Last modification 15.03.2017

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Gesellschaftliche_Verantwortung_der_Unternehmen/Internationale_CSR-Standards_und_Entwicklungen.html

Les normes internationales et développements en matière de RSE

Ces dernières années, la responsabilité sociétale des entreprises (RSE) a gagné en importance sur la scène internationale, tout en subissant des modifications conceptuelles. De nouveaux instruments ont été mis au point, tandis que des instruments existants ont été actualisés et développés. La publication de la norme ISO 26000 relative à la responsabilité sociétale en 2010 a été suivie, en 2011, par l’actualisation des Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales et la publication des Principes directeurs des Nations Unies relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme. Les objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU formulés en 2015 (Agenda 2030) soulignent eux aussi la contribution de l’économie privée au développement durable.

Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales

Les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales sont des recommandations très complètes formulées par les gouvernements à l’intention des entreprises multinationales. Ils soutiennent les entreprises qui entendent assumer leur responsabilité et s’appliquent partout où celles-ci sont actives. Quand bien même ils ne sont pas contraignants sur le plan juridique, leur mise en œuvre est encouragée par les Points de contact nationaux (PCN) des États signataires. Il est possible de notifier les violations présumées des Principes directeurs aux PCN, qui proposent une plateforme de dialogue ou une procédure de médiation. La mise en œuvre des Principes directeurs de l’OCDE, et notamment le devoir de diligence par les entreprises, est soutenue par des guides spécifiques à certaines branches (p. ex. minerais, agriculture, textile, finances).

Principes directeurs des Nations Unies relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme

Les Principes directeurs des Nations Unies relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme contiennent 31 principes et reposent sur trois piliers:

  1. Obligation de l’État: les États doivent prendre les mesures nécessaires (p. ex. lois, incitations, mesures d’encouragement) pour protéger la population face aux violations des droits de l’homme perpétrées par les acteurs privés (y c. les entreprises).
  2. Responsabilité des entreprises: les entreprises doivent respecter les droits de l’homme et faire preuve de la diligence qu’exigent les circonstances.
  3. Accès à des voies de recours: les États et les entreprises doivent offrir aux personnes concernées des solutions efficaces en mettant à leur disposition des instruments judiciaires et extrajudiciaires.

Les Principe directeurs s’appliquent à tous les États et entreprises, quels que soient leur taille, leur secteur d’activité, leur lieu d’implantation, leur structure de propriété et organisation, sans toutefois avoir un caractère contraignant sur le plan juridique international. Le Plan d’action national sur la mise en œuvre des principes directeurs des Nations Unies relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme montre comment les Principes directeurs des Nations Unies sont mis en œuvre en Suisse.

Pacte mondial des Nations Unies

Les dix principes du Pacte mondial des Nations Unies, qui portent sur les droits de l’homme, les normes du travail, l’environnement et la lutte contre la corruption, offrent une introduction aux thèmes de la RSE, et constituent une plateforme d’apprentissage et de réseautage. Avec la participation de plus de 10 000 entreprises et organisations, le Pacte mondial est aujourd’hui le plus grand réseau mondial en matière de conduite responsable des entreprises. L’idée est d’offrir une plateforme multipartite avec pour but premier d’encourager les échanges entre les divers groupes d’intérêts qui œuvrent de concert à la mise en œuvre des principes. Les entreprises qui participent s’engagent à publier un rapport annuel sur les progrès réalisés dans l’application des principes. La Confédération soutient le Global Compact Network Switzerland au moyen d’un partenariat.

Norme ISO 26000 sur la responsabilité sociétale

La norme ISO 26000 sur la responsabilité sociétale est le fruit d’un large processus international entre pays industrialisés et pays en développement, entreprises, représentants du monde du travail, groupes de consommateurs et ONG. Elle facilite l’orientation stratégique des processus d’affaires des entreprises et des organisations sous l’aspect de leur responsabilité sociétale. La norme ISO 26000 permet de clarifier la notion de responsabilité sociétale mais, contrairement à d’autres normes de l’ISO, elle ne se prête pas à la certification.

Global Reporting Initiative

La Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) propose aux entreprises un référentiel global leur permettant de concevoir des rapports de durabilité selon des critères reconnus au niveau international. Le référentiel englobe des principes et des indicateurs qui permettent aux entreprises et aux organisations de mesurer leur performance économique, environnementale et sociétale. Dans le même temps, les rapports conçus sur la base des lignes directrices de la GRI offrent aux parties prenantes une présentation transparente des aspects pertinents de l’entreprise liés à la durabilité.

Développements internationaux

L’Agenda 2030 de développement durable (objectifs de développement de l’ONU) a été développé en 2015 par la communauté internationale afin de contribuer au développement mondial, de promouvoir le bien-être humain et de protéger l’environnement. Il se compose principalement de 17 objectifs de développement durable et de leurs 169 cibles (sous-objectifs). La contribution de la Suisse à l’Agenda 2030 est inscrite dans sa Stratégie pour le développement durable.

La stratégie de l’Union européenne en faveur de la responsabilité sociétale des entreprises décrit l’orientation stratégique et les mesures concrètes qui concernent la RSE dans l’UE. De plus amples informations à ce sujet figurent sur le site de la Commission européenne.

Dernière modification 31.08.2018

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Gesellschaftliche_Verantwortung_der_Unternehmen/Internationale_CSR-Standards_und_Entwicklungen.html