Updating Free Trade Agreements

The earliest free trade agreements concluded by Switzerland within the framework of the EFTA do not contain specific provisions on trade in services. Only as of the beginning of the year 2000 do most of the agreements include sections partaining to trade in services. Since then legislations have evolved and the services markets generally have been opened further. In addition, the main competitors of the Swiss economy have also concluded free trade agreements with the trading partners of Switzerland. Consequently, Switzerland aims atupdating its network of free trade agreements. At this point, Switzerland with its EFTA-partners is negotiating the revision of the following free trade agreements:

EFTA - Turkey

The agreement entered into force on April 1, 1992. This first generation agreement does not contain any chapter on trade in services. Following its evolutionary clause (art. 27) the Parties have launched negotiations with a view to incorporate a relevant chapter. The latest round of negotiations took place from 14 to 16 November 2017.

EFTA - Mexico

The agreement contains a section on trade in services. On the basis of the article on trade liberalisation (art. 24), the Parties have begun works in April 2004 aiming at revising the part relating to trade in services. Work continue in 2017. At this time the parties have submitted their respective propositions, which diverge. The latest round of negotiations took place from 6 to 9 June 2017

EFTA - Singapore

The Parties have launched the review process on the schedules of specific commitments on market access (art. 27) in the beginning of 2007. The aim is to update the existing schedules and replace them by new ones. This update relates only to the Services sector. These work continues in 2018.

EFTA - Chile

On the basis of the review clause of the schedules of specific commitments on market access (art. 27) and the negotiation mandate regarding financial services (art. 45), the Parties have started a revision of the part relating to trade in services in April 2006 with the goal to complete and update it. It has since been decided to revise the entire Agreement. Work continues in 2018.

EFTA - Peru

The agreement does not have a substantial chapter on trade in services, but a negotiating clause for that purpose (art. 4.1). The Parties discuss the modalities of launching negotiations.

 

Last modification 22.02.2018

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Internationaler_Handel_mit_Dienstleistungen/FAH_Bilateral_und_EFTA/Aufdatierung_FHA.html

Mise à jour des accords de libre-échange

Les premiers accords de libre-échange conclus par la Suisse, dans le cadre de l'AELE, ne comportent pas de dispositions spécifiques sur le commerce des services. Ce n'est qu'à partir du début des années 2000 que ces accords contiennent pour la plupart d'entre eux un volet sur le commerce des services. Depuis, les législations ont évolué et les marchés des services se sont dans l'ensemble davantage ouverts. De plus, les principaux concurrents de la place économique suisse ont également conclu des accords de libre-échange avec les partenaires commerciaux de la Suisse. En conséquence, la Suisse a pour objectif de mettre à jour son réseau d'accords de libre-échange. Actuellement, la Suisse avec ses partenaires de l'AELE négocie la révision des accords de libre-échange suivants :

AELE - Mexique

L'accord contient une section sur le commerce des services. Sur la base de l'article sur la libéralisation du commerce (art. 24), les Parties ont commencé en avril 2004 les travaux en vue de réviser la partie sur le commerce des services. Ces travaux se poursuivent en 2018. Pour l’heure, les Parties ont soumis des propositions y relatives qui divergent entre elles. Un tour de négociations s’est tenu la dernière fois du 6 au 9 juin 2017.

AELE - Singapour

Les Parties ont lancé un processus de révision des listes d'engagements en matière d'accès aux marchés (art. 27) en début 2007. Le but est de négocier une mise à jour des listes existantes et de les remplacer par de nouvelles. Cette mise à jour ne concerne que le secteur des services. Ces travaux se poursuivent en 2018.

AELE - Chili

Sur la base de la clause de révision des listes d'engagements en matière d'accès aux marchés (art. 27) et du mandat de négociation relatif aux services financiers (art. 45), les Parties ont amorcée en avril 2006 une révision de la partie sur le commerce des services en vue de la compléter et de l'actualiser. Depuis, il a été décidé d'entamer une révision globale de l'accord de libre-échange. Ces travaux se poursuivent en 2018.

AELE - Pérou

L'accord ne contient pas de chapitre substantiel sur le commerce des services, mais une clause de négociation à cet effet (art. 4.1). Les Parties discutent des modalités du lancement des négociations. 

Dernière modification 26.07.2018

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Internationaler_Handel_mit_Dienstleistungen/FAH_Bilateral_und_EFTA/Aufdatierung_FHA.html