The Plurilateral Negotiating Process

The idea of a trade in services agreement was launched by the US. Since February 2012 a group of WTO members meets regularly in Geneva and is under common chairmanship of the US, Australia and the EU. Switzerland participates actively in the discussions from the beginning. 

The goal of this initiative is to conclude a comprehensive agreement on trade in services. The work is based on the GATS. Early in the year 2013 the participants have agreed on an approach, which consists of a 'hybrid' schedule of commitments, in which commitments (most-favoured-nation treatment, market access, national treatment, localization) are taken both in a positive and negative manner. Additionally, they have decided on a “ratchet” and “standstill” clause.

Below you will find the outline of the TiSA 'hybrid' approach:

  Approach Ratchet/Standstill
Most-Favoured-Nation-Treatment negative no
Market Access positive no
National Treatment negative yes

An illustrative list of examples of national treatment restrictions has been developed by the WTO. It is contained in attachment 1 of the "Guidelines for the Scheduling of Specific Commitments" adopted by the Council for Trade in Services in 2001 (S/L/92) and is reproduced below:

At the moment the following parties are taking part in the discussions: Australia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, EU, Hong Kong, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Korea, Liechtenstein, Mauritius, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey and USA.

Chronology of the Negotiation Process:

Media releases

In the course of the 4th round of negotiations on June 28 - 29, 2012, the participants of the TISA communicated their intention to define a frame of an ambitious agreement on the trade in services.

In the course of the 11th round of negotiations on June 24 - 28, 2013, and in view of the advanced state of discussions of the agreement's text as well as the end of the necessary consultations of the participating countries the parties have agreed on the ongoing negotiations.

Possible structure content of the draft agreement

Since the negotiation of the draft agreement is still ongoing its structure and content may continue to evolve until the conclusion of the work. Baring the developments during the negotiation the draft agreement may be structured as follows :

  • A set of horizontal provisions that would take over the GATS provisions, but that would be complemented by understandings that would modify these GATS provisions, for example by adding to it a mechanism of standstill and ratchet.
  • A set of sectoral annexes whose coverage is difficult to anticipate at the moment but that could include, among others, topics such as : financial services, telecommunications services, electronic commerce, movement of natural persons (mode 4), domestic regulation, transparency, localization, the different modes of transportation and logistical services, delivery services, professional services, state-owned enterprises.
  • Country specific Schedules of commitments for market access, and national treatment and localization.

Last modification 01.02.2017

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Internationaler_Handel_mit_Dienstleistungen/TISA/Plurilateraler_Verhandlungsprozess.html

Le processus des négociations plurilatérales

L'idée d'un accord sur le commerce des services a été lancée par les Etats-Unis. Depuis février 2012 un groupe de membres de l'OMC se réunit de manière régulière à Genève sous la conduite conjointe des USA, de l'Australie et de l'Union Européenne. Dès le début la Suisse participe activement aux travaux.

L'objectif de cette initiative est de conclure un accord complet sur le commerce des services, dont les travaux se basent sur l'AGCS. Début 2013 les participants se sont en outre accordés sur une approche de listes d'engagements "hybride" selon laquelle les obligations (traitement de la nation la plus favorisée, accès aux marchés, traitement national, localisation) sont prises de manière à la fois positive et négative. De plus, ils ont convenu d'une clause de rochet (« ratchet ») et de gel (« standstill »)..

Veuillez trouver ci-après le schéma de l'approche "hybride" du TiSA:

  Approche Rochet/gel
Traitement de la nation la plus favoriséé
négative non
Accès aux marchés positive non
Traitement national négative oui


Une liste illustrative d'exemples de restrictions concernant le traitement national a été développée par l'OMC. Elle est contenue dans l'appendice 1 des «Lignes directrices pour l'établissement des listes d'engagements spécifiques» adoptées par le Conseil du commerce des services de l'OMC en 2001 (S/L/92) et est reproduite ci-après:

Pour l'heure les parties suivantes prennent part aux discussions : Australie, Canada, Chili, Colombie, Corée, Costa Rica, Etats-Unis, Hong Kong, Islande, Israël, Japon, Liechtenstein, Maurice, Mexique, Norvège, Nouvelle-Zélande, Pakistan, Panama, Pérou, Suisse, Taïwan, Turquie et UE.

La chronolgie du processus de négociation est la suivante

Communiqués

A l'occasion de la 4ème ronde de négociation du 28 au 29 juin 2012, les participants au TISA on communiqué leur intention de définir le cadre pour un accord ambitieux sur le commerce des services.

A l'occasion de la 11ème ronde de négociation qui a eu lieu du 24 au 28 juin 2013 et considérant le développement avancé du texte de l'accord ainsi que la conclusion des consultations nécessaires des membres, les parties se mises d'accord sur les négociations en cours.

Structure et contenu possibles du projet d'accord

Comme la négociation du projet d'accord est encore en cours sa structure et son contenu continueront de changer jusqu'à la conclusion des travaux. Sous réserve de développements durant la négociation il se peut que le projet d'accord soit structuré comme suit :

  • Un texte horizontal qui reprendrait les dispositions de l'AGCS, mais auquel s'ajouteraient certaines conventions visant à modifier les dispositions de l'AGCS, par exemple en y ajoutant un mécanisme de rochet (« ratchet ») et de gel (« standstill »).
  • Une série d'annexes sectorielles ou thématiques dont l'amplitude est difficile à anticiper pour l'instant, mais qui peut couvrir entre autres des sujets tels que : les services financiers, les services de télécommunication, le commerce électronique, le mouvement de personnes physiques (mode 4), la règlementation intérieure, la transparence, la localisation, les divers modes de transport et les services de logistique, les services postaux (delivery services), les professions libérales (professional services), entreprises publiques.
  • Des listes d'engagements par pays pour l'accès aux marchés, et le traitement national et la localisation.

 

Dernière modification 12.01.2017

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Internationaler_Handel_mit_Dienstleistungen/TISA/Plurilateraler_Verhandlungsprozess.html