What is corruption and why to fight it?

What is corruption ?

Corruption is the act by which a person provides or offers an undeserved advantage to lead a person to carry out an act that goes against his or her duties or depends on his or her discretionary powers. The act of soliciting or accepting such an advantage also falls within the definition of corruption.

Corruption can take many aspects: small gifts in anticipation of a future advantage, large sums of money, holidays to a purchasing manager, false invoices, etc.

For many Swiss companies operating abroad, corruption is a real problem. Obtaining a contract, an authorization, marketing a product are all important elements. In such situations, you might be made to understand that "greasing the palm" could facilitate many processes.

Why fight corruption ?

According to estimates from the World Economic Forum (WEF), the costs generated by corruption amount to 2,600 billion dollars (5% of world GDP) per year.

Above all, corruption has a very high economic and social cost. It increases inequalities in access to state benefits. It undermines social cohesion. It prevents transparency and distorts competition.

A Swiss company bribing a public official or private individual, in Switzerland or abroad, commits a criminal offence in Switzerland, punishable according to the Criminal Code (art. 322). Natural persons shall be sanctioned by deprivation of liberty or a pecuniary penalty. Companies that have "failed to take all reasonable and necessary measures to prevent" corruption will also be prosecuted and punished with a fine of up to five million francs.

A conviction for corruption leads to other consequences. The concerned company may be excluded from state service programmes or international projects. In addition, its reputation can be seriously damaged if investors, partners or the public learn that corruption has occurred. Finally, a company that corrupts is exposed to blackmail from those who are aware of it.

Specialist staff
Last modification 17.04.2020

Top of page

Contact

The Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO)
International Investments and Multinational Enterprises Unit
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Bern

Tel. + 41 (0)58 463 12 75
Fax + 41 (0)58 465 73 76

E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Korruptionsbekaempfung/Informationen_fuer_Unternehmen/Was_ist_Korruption.html

Qu’est-ce que la corruption et pourquoi lutter contre ?

Qu’est-ce que la corruption ?

La corruption est l’acte par lequel une personne octroie ou offre un avantage dans le but d’induire une personne à accomplir un acte qui soit contraire à ses devoirs ou dépende de son pouvoir d’appréciation. L’acte de solliciter ou d’accepter un tel avantage tombe également dans la définition de la corruption.

La corruption peut revêtir différentes formes : petits cadeaux, importantes sommes d'argent versées, vacances offertes, fausses factures établies, etc.

Pour beaucoup d'entreprises suisses actives à l'étranger, la corruption est un véritable problème. L’obtention d’un contrat, une autorisation, une mise sur le marché sont autant d’éléments importants. Dans de telles situations, il est possible que certaines personnes vous fassent comprendre que le fait de « graisser la patte » pourrait faciliter bien des processus.

Pourquoi lutter contre la corruption ?

Selon les estimations du World Economic Forum (WEF), les coûts engendrés par la corruption s’élèvent à 2’600 milliards de dollars (5% du PIB mondial) par an.

La corruption engendre surtout un coût économique et social très élevé. Elle accroît les inégalités dans l’accès aux prestations étatiques et nuit à la cohésion sociale. Elle empêche la transparence et fausse la concurrence.

Une entreprise suisse qui corrompt un agent public ou un particulier, en Suisse ou à l'étranger, commet une infraction punissable en Suisse, au sens du Code pénal (art. 322). Les personnes physiques seront punies d'une peine privative de liberté ou d'une peine pécuniaire. Les entreprises qui n’auront « pas pris toutes les mesures raisonnables et nécessaires pour empêcher » la corruption seront aussi poursuivies et punies d'une amende pouvant atteindre cinq millions de francs.

Une condamnation pour corruption mène à d’autres conséquences. L’entreprise concernée peut se voir exclue de programmes d'octroi de prestations étatiques ou de projets internationaux. En outre sa réputation peut être sérieusement écornée si des investisseurs, des partenaires ou le public apprennent qu'il y a eu corruption. Enfin, une entreprise qui corrompt s’expose au chantage de ceux qui en ont connaissance.

Contact spécialisé
Dernière modification 17.04.2020

Début de la page

Contact

Secrétariat d'État à l'économie SECO
Secteur Investissements internationaux et entreprises multinationales
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Berne

tél. + 41 (0)58 463 12 75
fax + 41 (0)58 465 73 76

Courriel

Imprimer le contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Korruptionsbekaempfung/Informationen_fuer_Unternehmen/Was_ist_Korruption.html