Case study – Evaluate the situation

The following scenarios allow you to test and deepen your understanding of the issue. Try to evaluate the various fictional situations and weigh up their consequences. Media coverage of corruption cases may also help you to identify the risks involved.

Initial situation

Your company is willing to strengthen its presence in Country X. To this end, management has decided to set up a subsidiary there. Your research indicates that the process of setting up a company in Country X is very complicated and can take more than a year.

Possible scenarios

(1) Your goal for the subsidiary is to begin operations as soon as possible. According to reports, other foreign companies have successfully been entered into the register of companies within a few weeks, without meeting all the necessary requirements, in return for a payment of approximately 100,000 USD to a certain government agency. You direct your project manager to make a similar offer to this agency.


(2) Would the legal situation be judged differently if it was not money being offered to the government agency, but a holiday by the sea for the responsible civil servant's family or education in Switzerland for his or her child?


(3) What if it was not your company offering money, but it was being requested by the government agency?


(4) Would the legal situation be judged differently if, rather than your project manager contacting the government agency, he or she authorised a local legal representative to 'manage' the registration of your company within a few weeks in return for 100,000 USD?


(5) Would the legal situation be judged differently if you did not yet want to establish a subsidiary in Country X, but in anticipation of a potential future need, you asked your local representative to offer an expensive gift to the head of the government agency each year?


(6) For almost a year, your company has undertaken all the necessary legal steps to have the subsidiary registered in Country X. All that remains is the certification of the required documents and the entry into the register of companies, both simple formalities that are particularly time-consuming in Country X. The responsible authority is faced with an overwhelming workload, and a delay of several more weeks is expected. To speed the process up, you send them 2,000 USD.


(7) Would the legal situation be judged differently if the registration were overdue even according to local custom, with only the affixing of a stamp still required, and you were to send 100 USD to the responsible public official so that he or she would finally handle the matter?


(8) In the meantime, your subsidiary in Country X has been registered and is now operational. It participates in the bidding on a major public procurement by the local authorities of the capital city. Receiving such a large order so soon after establishment would represent a significant success for your subsidiary. The subsidiary attempts to influence the decision to award the bid in its favour by paying 20,000 USD to a high-ranking official in the city administration. This action is brought to light. In response to questions from the media, company headquarters in Switzerland states that all parts of your company follow a code of conduct declaring that 'all forms of corruption are unacceptable'. If the subsidiary in Country X has nevertheless offered a bribe, this has been done without the knowledge or instruction of headquarters. The Swiss parent company therefore maintains that it cannot be accused of having acted unlawfully. Is this reasoning sufficient?


(9) Would the legal situation be judged differently if your subsidiary in Country X had not bribed an official of the city’s government, but rather the purchasing agent of a company in the private sector?


(10) Your subsidiary in Country X has participated in a proper way in the public tender procedure mentioned above, and its offer fared well among the others. Nevertheless, the city government chooses a less favourable offer from a company in Country Y. In documents that were leaked to you, it emerges that the bid was accepted as a result of bribery by your competitor.


Specialist staff
Last modification 17.04.2020

Top of page

Contact

The Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO)
International Investments and Multinational Enterprises Unit
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Bern

Tel. + 41 (0)58 463 12 75
Fax + 41 (0)58 465 73 76

E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Korruptionsbekaempfung/Informationen_fuer_Unternehmen/korruption_faelle.html

Cas de figure – Evaluez la situation

Les cas de figure suivants vous permettent de tester et d’améliorer votre compréhension de la question. Essayez d’évaluer les différentes situations imaginées et d’en mesurer les conséquences. Les affaires de corruption traitées par les médias sont également une bonne source d'information pour vous aider à identifier les risques.

Au départ

Votre entreprise voulant renforcer sa présence dans le pays X, la direction a décidé d'y créer une filiale. Selon vos informations, les formalités exigées par ce pays sont exceptionnellement complexes et peuvent prendre plus d'un an.

Scénarios possibles

(1) Votre objectif est de mettre le plus rapidement possible cette filiale sur pied. Vous apprenez que d'autres entreprises étrangères, moyennant environ 100 000 dollars versés à un service gouvernemental, ont obtenu en quelques semaines, sans même avoir satisfait aux conditions légales requises, leur inscription au registre du commerce. Vous chargez votre chef de projet de faire une offre similaire audit service.


(2) Qu’en est-il si ce n'est pas de l'argent qui est offert au même service gouvernemental, mais des vacances à la mer pour la famille du fonctionnaire responsable ou des études en Suisse pour son enfant ?


(3) Qu’en est-il si ce n'est pas votre entreprise qui offre de l'argent, mais le service gouvernemental qui le demande ?


(4) Qu’en est-il si ce n'est pas votre chef de projet qui prend lui-même contact avec le service gouvernemental, mais un mandataire local chargé d’« obtenir » l'admission de votre filiale en quelques semaines, moyennant 100 000 dollars ?


(5) Qu’en est-il si, bien que n’ayant pas encore l'intention de créer une filiale dans le pays X, vous demandez à votre représentant sur place, dans l’hypothèse d'un tel besoin à l'avenir, de faire chaque année un cadeau de prix au chef du service gouvernemental ?


(6) Après avoir régulièrement exécuté, pendant près d'un an, toutes les formalités requises pour créer une filiale, votre entreprise n’attend plus que la légalisation des documents exigés et l'inscription au registre du commerce, actes purement formels qui, dans le pays X, prennent beaucoup de temps. Surchargée, l'autorité locale compétente ne pourra s'en acquitter avant plusieurs semaines. Afin d'accélérer les choses, vous remettez 2’000 dollars à celle-ci.


(7) Qu’en est-il si, pour obtenir l'inscription au registre du commerce, à laquelle ne manque que l'apposition d'un sceau – ce qui, même au regard des usages locaux, aurait déjà dû être fait –, vous payez 100 dollars au fonctionnaire compétent pour qu'il procède enfin à cet acte ?


(8) Entre-temps enregistrée dans le pays X, votre filiale est maintenant opérationnelle. Elle participe à une procédure d'appel d'offres lancée par les autorités municipales de la capitale en vue d'un important marché public. Recevoir aussi vite un mandat de cette ampleur constituerait pour votre filiale un succès de taille. Celle-ci essaie, 20’000 dollars à l'appui, de gagner un responsable municipal influent à sa cause avant l'adjudication. La manœuvre est éventée. Aux questions posées par la presse, votre maison mère répond que toutes les entreprises de votre groupe sont tenues de respecter un code de conduite qui « rejette tout recours à la corruption ». Si votre filiale dans le pays X devait s'être néanmoins livrée à un tel acte, ce serait en l'absence d'instruction de la centrale et à l'insu de celle-ci. On ne pourrait donc rien reprocher à la maison mère suisse.


(9) Qu’en est-il si votre filiale dans le pays X, au lieu de corrompre un fonctionnaire municipal, corrompt l'acheteur d'une entreprise privée ?


(10) Votre filiale dans le pays X a pris part correctement à la procédure d'appel d'offres mentionnée plus haut. Son offre a de bonnes chances de succès. C'est pourtant sur l'offre, moins avantageuse, d'une autre entreprise (d'un pays Y) que se porte le choix de la municipalité. Selon des documents dont vous avez eu connaissance, l'entreprise concurrente doit son succès au versement de pots-de-vin.


Contact spécialisé
Dernière modification 17.04.2020

Début de la page

Contact

Secrétariat d'État à l'économie SECO
Secteur Investissements internationaux et entreprises multinationales
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Berne

tél. + 41 (0)58 463 12 75
fax + 41 (0)58 465 73 76

Courriel

Imprimer le contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Korruptionsbekaempfung/Informationen_fuer_Unternehmen/korruption_faelle.html