Organisation and Procedures

In Switzerland, the NCP is located at the State Secretariat of Economic Affairs (SECO) at the International Investment and Multinational Enterprises unit. Specific instances are handled by an internal working group composed of members of the Federal Administration responsible for the issues addressed in a specific instance. The organization and activity of the NCP is based on the Declaration of the OECD Ministerial Council on International Investment and Multinational Enterprises and on the Decree of May 1st 2013 on the Organization of the National Contact Point for the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises and its advisory board (Classified compilation 946.15).

The approach of the National Contact Point in concrete cases

The NCP receives credible information that a company has not respected the Guidelines - or at least part thereof. In a preliminary examination, the NCP collects facts of the specific case (substantial content of the submission, justification, relevance) as well as the parties involved (identity, interest in the input) and decides whether a connection with the OECD Guidelines can be established. If this is the case, the NCP contacts the parties involved. The NCP may offer a platform for dialogue or assumes the role of a mediator and thus tries to contribute to an agreement between the parties. The mediation process is in general confidential and requires the consent of all parties. However, with respect to the results of the procedure, the NCP needs to find a balance between transparency and confidentiality. The NCP publishes the results of a procedure if both parties agree and a solution is found for a conflict. In the case where no agreement is reached, the NCP publishes this result as well. Furthermore, the NCP can make recommendations where appropriate.

The outcome of the NCP's involvement in specific cases is made public on the website of the Swiss National Contact Point and the OECD Database on Specific Instances.

Submissions to the National Contact Points

The NCP is at any time available for general questions as well as comments with regards to the OECD Guidelines or the National Contact Point.

Both individuals and any interest groups may address the NCP if they wish to raise a company behaviour which might be inconsistent with the Guidelines. The issue should be raised in the country where the violation occurred. If this country is not a signatory country of the OECD Guidelines and consequently does not have a NCP, the issue should be raised in the country where the multinational company has its headquarters. Although there is no formal template for such a submission, it is recommended to disclose its own identity and interest in the case as well as details about the company concerned. Furthermore, it is helpful for the work of the NCP to indicate reference to the specific provisions of the Guidelines, which might have been violated (Specific Instance Procedure (PDF, 117 kB, 24.02.2016)). The NCP has established a Checklist for the wording of a submission (PDF, 173 kB, 01.06.2018). The Swiss NCP can use the following languages for the handling of submissions: German, French, Italian, and English.

Specialist staff
Last modification 05.10.2021

Top of page

Contact

Contact in Switzerland

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
National Contact Point of Switzerland
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Bern
              
Phone:   +41 58 464 15 03

E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/NKP/organisation-und-kontaktaufnahme.html

Organisation et procédures

Le Point de contact national de la Suisse est rattaché au secteur Investissements internationaux et entreprises multinationales du Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie (SECO). Pour traiter une demande d'examen, le PCN constitue un groupe de travail spécifique interne à l'administration où siègent des représentants des services de l'administration fédérale concernés par la demande. L'organisation et les activités du PCN s'appuient sur la Déclaration du Conseil de l'OCDE sur l'investissement international et les entreprises multinationales et sur l'ordonnance du 1er mai 2013 sur l'organisation du Point de contact national pour les Principes directeurs de l'OCDE à l'intention des entreprises multinationales et sur la commission consultative (Recueil systematique 946.15).

Démarches du PCN dans un cas concret

Lorsqu'un PCN reçoit des informations crédibles selon lesquelles une entreprise aurait manqué aux Principes directeurs (ou du moins à certains d'entre eux), il commence par effectuer un examen préalable en vue de réunir les faits (contenu matériel de la notification, motifs, pertinence) liés à l'affaire et aux parties intéressées (identité, intérêt pour l'affaire). Il décide ensuite s'il existe un lien avec les Principes directeurs. Si tel est le cas, le PCN rencontre les parties; il peut alors proposer une plateforme de dialogue ou jouer le rôle de médiateur et œuvrer au règlement de l'affaire. La procédure de médiation est confidentielle et exige l'assentiment des parties intéressées. A l'issue de la procédure, le PCN doit trouver un équilibre entre transparence et confidentialité. Si les parties se mettent d'accord quant à une solution à un conflit, le PCN publie ce résultat sous forme d'un communiqué. Si aucun accord n'est trouvé, le PCN publie également ce résultat. En outre, le PCN peut éventuellement publier des recommandations concernant la mise en œuvre des Principes directeurs.

Les résultats de la procédure de médiation sont publiés sur le site web du PCN de la Suisse et la base de données de l'OCDE concernant les soumissions aux autres PCN.

Notifications aux Points de contact nationaux

Le PCN suisse peut être contacté pour toute question ou remarque relative aux principes de l'OCDE ou au PCN lui-même. 

Toute personne et toute organisation peut informer le PCN du non-respect des Principes directeurs par une entreprise. La notification doit avoir lieu dans le pays où l'infraction a été commise. Si le pays en question n'a pas souscrit aux Principes directeurs de l'OCDE et n'a, de ce fait, pas de PCN, la notification doit être faite dans le pays où l'entreprise multinationale a son siège. Bien qu'il n'existe pas de directives sur les notifications, il est recommandé d'indiquer son identité, de préciser son intérêt pour l'affaire et de donner des détails sur l'entreprise concernée (voir PCN Guide de procédures (PDF, 223 kB, 24.02.2016)). Le PCN a établi une Checklist pour la formulation d'une soumission (PDF, 173 kB, 01.06.2018) (en anglais uniquement). Il est par ailleurs utile de mentionner, à l'intention des collaborateurs du PCN, quels sont les principes qui ont été enfreints. Pour le traitement des notifications, le PCN suisse peut utiliser les langues suivantes: allemand, français, italien et anglais.

Contact spécialisé
Dernière modification 16.12.2020

Début de la page

Contact

Contact en Suisse

Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie SECO
Point de contact national suisse
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Bern
              
Tél. :    +41 58 463 12 75

Courriel

Imprimer le contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/NKP/organisation-und-kontaktaufnahme.html