Content of the OECD Guidelines

The OECD Guidelines are divided into the following chapters:

1. Concepts and Principals

The purpose and basic idea as well as the area of application of the OECD Guidelines are mentioned, and the point is made that the Guidelines present the recommendations of the adhering governments so they are not of a binding nature. Multinationals are first and foremost subject to the laws and specific conditions in their own countries.

2. General Policies

This section summarises companies' basic obligations. These mainly concern their contribution to sustainable development, respect of human rights, the application of good business practices and the promotion of local human resources in order to create an atmosphere of confidence between multinational enterprises and the societies in which they operate.

Companies should encourage their business partners to think seriously about applying the OECD Guidelines.

3. Disclosure

There is a growing need for information from the public sector on companies' business activities. The scope of transparent business communications is described in this section both in the area of corporate governance and also in connection with socially and environmentally relevant information.

4. Human Rights

The new chapter on human rights is based on the Guiding Principles drawn up by UN Special Representative John Ruggie for the Human Rights Council. These indicate that states have a duty to protect human rights, whereas enterprises are required to respect human rights. The chapter describes the recommended human rights due diligence to be observed by enterprises, which should enable them to identify at an early stage any negative effects of their activities and therefore to prevent or lessen them. The actual form that this recommended due diligence may take depends on the size of the enterprise and on a range of risk factors such as region and sector.

5. Employment and Industrial Relations

The OECD Guidelines are modelled on the basic rights to employment identified by the International Labour Organization (ILO). They describe the areas of employment, skills training, conditions of work, industrial relations and good business practices.

6. Environment

Businesses are recommended to establish a responsible environmental system as this can go a long way towards achieving sustainable development. The majority of recommendations made are the principles and goals of the Rio Declaration on Environment and Development, Agenda 21 and the relevant ISO standard.

7. Combating Bribery

Bribery is one of the greatest hindrances to development. Companies are therefore called on not to use any bribes or other improper advantages in their business practices and to introduce the appropriate management control systems. The OECD Anti-Bribery Convention is the basis for combating bribery.

8. Consumer Interests

Companies should use fair business, marketing and advertising practices and should ensure, in particular, the safety and quality of the goods or services they provide including both consumer protection and the protection of privacy and personal data.

9. Science and Technology

Provided this is compatible with economic and competitive interests, companies are urged to have host countries be as involved as they can in research and development results, thereby favouring technology transfer. Ties with local universities and public research institutes should be developed and, where possible, co-operative research projects carried out.

10. Competition

Companies should be aware of the importance of competition policy to achieve smooth-running national and international markets. Social welfare and economic growth can only be achieved by having the prices of goods and services set by the market.

11. Taxation

Companies make an important contribution to the public finances of host countries by means of taxation. Their attention is particularly drawn to good cooperation with the relevant authorities, who can then correctly determine the taxes to be assessed.

Last modification 21.04.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/OECD-Guidelines/OECD-Leitsaetze.html

Contenu des Principes directeurs de l'OCDE

Les Principes directeurs de l'OCDE sont répartis, par thèmes, entre les chapitres suivants:

1. Concepts et principes

Ce chapitre explique l'objectif ainsi que les notions de base des principes directeurs de l'OCDE, définit leur champ d'application et souligne le fait que les principes sont des recommandations des gouvernements et n'ont pas un caractère juridique contraignant. Les entreprises multinationales sont soumises, en premier lieu, aux lois et aux règles des pays en question.

2. Principes généraux

Cette section recense les obligations fondamentales des entreprises. Il s'agit principalement de la contribution des entreprises au développement durable, du respect des droits de l'homme, de l'applications de pratiques commerciales éprouvées et de l'encouragement du capital humain local pour créer une atmosphère de confiance réciproque entre les entreprises et le tissu social.

L'un des points insiste sur le fait que les entreprises devraient encourager leurs partenaires commerciaux à appliquer les principes directeurs de l'OCDE.

3. Publication d'informations

On observe un besoin croissant d'information du grand public concernant les activités des entreprises. Cette section décrit le champ d'action d'une communication d'entreprise transparente dans le cadre de la gouvernance d'entreprise, mais aussi dans le domaine social et environnemental.

4. Droits de l'homme

Le nouveau chapitre sur les droits de l'homme se fonde sur les principes énoncés par John Ruggie, le représentant spécial de l'ONU pour les droits de l'homme et les entreprises. Il stipule que la protection des droits de l'homme incombe aux Etats. Les entreprises sont néanmoins enjointes à respecter les droits de l'homme. Le chapitre décrit le devoir de diligence recommandé dans le domaine des droits de l'homme, qui doit permettre aux entreprises d'identifier suffisamment tôt les conséquences négatives de leurs activités et, ainsi, de les prévenir ou de les limiter. La nature concrète du devoir de diligence dépend de la taille de l'entreprise et de facteurs de risque tels que la région et le secteur.

5. Emploi et relations professionnelles

Les principes directeurs de l'OCDE s'appuient sur les droits fondamentaux du travail définis par l'Organisation internationale du travail (OIT). Les domaines de l'emploi, de la formation, des conditions de travail et des relations entre partenaires sociaux ainsi que le comportement attendu de l'entreprise sont décrits dans cette section.

6. Environnement

Il est conseillé aux entreprises de mettre en place un système responsable de gestion environnementale, ce dernier pouvant contribuer grandement au développement durable. Les recommandations énumérées dans cette section sont tirées des principes et des buts de la Déclaration de Rio sur l'environnement et le développement, de l'Agenda 21 et de la norme ISO correspondante.

7. Lutte contre la corruption

La corruption est l'un des principaux obstacles au développement. Les entreprises sont appelées à ne pas accorder de pots-de-vin ou d'autres avantages injustifiés dans leurs activités commerciales et à adopter les systèmes de contrôle nécessaires. La Convention de l'OCDE sur la lutte contre la corruption est la base des activités dans ce domaine.

8. Intérêts des consommateurs

Les entreprises devraient se conformer à des pratiques équitables dans l'exercice de leurs activités commerciales, mercatiques et publicitaires, prêter une attention particulière à la sécurité et à la qualité des biens et services offerts, et tenir compte du droit des consommateurs et de la protection de la vie privée.

9. Science et technologie

Dans les limites imposées par les exigences économiques et les aspects concurrentiels, les entreprises sont invitées à faire bénéficier les pays d'accueil des résultats de leurs activités de recherche et développement, et à favoriser ainsi le transfert de technologie. De même, elles devraient établir localement des liens avec les universités et les établissements de recherche et participer à des projets de recherche communs.

10. Concurrence

Cette section a pour objectif de souligner l'importance de la politique de la concurrence dans le bon fonctionnement des marchés nationaux et internationaux. Ce n'est que lorsque le prix des biens et des services est déterminé par les mécanismes du marché que bien-être social et croissance économique peuvent être atteints.

11. Fiscalité

Les entreprises contribuent aux finances publiques des pays d'accueil en payant des impôts. Une bonne collaboration avec les autorités compétentes est particulièrement importante, pour que ces dernières puissent percevoir les impôts.

Dernière modification 21.04.2016

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/OECD-Guidelines/OECD-Leitsaetze.html