Commodities

It is estimated that around 500 companies and some 10,000 employees are active in the commodities trading sector in Switzerland, which in addition to trading, also comprises shipping, transaction financing and inspection services. In 2018, revenue predominantly stemming from commodity trading amounted to CHF 33 billion, representing around 4.8 per cent of Switzerland’s GDP. Switzerland is one of the most important commodity trading centres in the world.

rohstoffberichtL

The reasons for Switzerland’s major role in global commodity trading can be traced to the country’s long tradition in the sector and to the favourable economic conditions for businesses across all sectors. These include stable political, economic and legal institutions, an internationally competitive corporate taxation regime and principles-based regulation. In addition to other factors that contribute to Switzerland’s appeal as a business location, such as the availability of qualified personnel and a generally high standard of living, the country’s sophisticated and stable financial system and the high density of leading companies in the freight business, trade finance and the inspection, verification, testing and certification services, also make it particularly attractive as a commodity trading centre.

As a business location, Switzerland faces intense international competition, also in the commodity trading sector, above all, from such places as Singapore, Dubai (United Arab Emirates), China (in particular Hong Kong), the USA, the UK, India and the Netherlands. Emerging markets in particular have succeeded in positioning themselves as attractive locations in the areas of taxation and regulatory costs. Switzerland therefore faces the challenge of maintaining and further strengthening its favourable business environment.

However, the growth of the sector brings with it additional responsibilities in terms of, among other things, human rights and environmental protection in commodity-exporting countries, in tackling corruption, and in connection with the phenomenon of the ‘resource curse’ in developing countries. These developments can also involve reputational risks for Switzerland, particularly when the conduct of companies domiciled in Switzerland runs contrary to positions taken and supported by Switzerland in the fields of development policy, peace promotion, human rights, and social and environmental standards.

That is why in 2015 the Federal Council adopted a position paper and action plan on corporate social responsibility (CSR), which sets out its expectations of companies with regard to their conduct, as well as the Confederation’s CSR-related activities. The Federal Council expects companies based or operating in Switzerland to take responsibility for all of their domestic and overseas activities in accordance with internationally recognised CSR standards and initiatives such as the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises. In order to promote corporate social responsibility at company level, the Confederation also supports the drafting and implementation of specific standards and initiatives for the commodity trading sector. This also includes OECD guidelines to help companies avoid contributing to conflicts or human rights violations.

On 9 December 2016, the Federal Council adopted a National action plan for the implementation of the United Nations Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights (UNGPs) to address the human rights situation. Switzerland is one of the first countries to have such a strategy to promote coherence between economic activities and human rights.

At the end of 2018, the Confederation published the first guidelines on human rights due diligence specifically for companies from the commodity trading sector.

Due to the growing importance of the sector in terms of domestic and foreign policy, the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) and the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER) established an interdepartmental platform on commodities. In November 2018, as a result of the background report on commodities published in 2013, the Federal Council adopted a new report with sixteen recommendations to strengthen competitiveness and innovation; integrity and sustainability and the analytical framework; and dialogue and coordination. It commissioned the interdepartmental platform on commodities to coordinate the implementation of the recommendations and to report to the Federal Council by the end of 2020.

Last modification 05.11.2019

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Rohstoffe.html

Matières premières

Selon les estimations, quelque 500 entreprises employant environ 10 000 personnes œuvrent en Suisse dans le secteur des matières premières. Ce dernier comprend - outre le négoce - le fret, le financement du négoce, l'inspection et le contrôle des marchandises. En 2018, les recettes du négoce de matières premières se sont élevées à 33 milliards de francs, soit environ 4,8 pour cent du produit intérieur brut (PIB) de la Suisse.  La Suisse est l'une des plus importantes places de négoce des matières premières au monde.

rohstoffberichtL

La position de premier plan de la Suisse dans le commerce mondial des matières premières trouve son origine dans la longue tradition de ce secteur et dans des conditions-cadres économiquement avantageuses pour les entreprises de tous les secteurs. Celles-ci se caractérisent par des institutions politiques, économiques et juridiques stables, une fiscalité des entreprises compétitive au plan international et une réglementation appropriée. Outre certains autres facteurs liés à l’emplacement (tels que la disponibilité d’une main-d’œuvre bien qualifiée ou la haute qualité de vie), le système financier hautement développé et stable ainsi que la forte densité d'entreprises de premier plan dans les domaines du fret, du financement du négoce, de même que dans l'inspection et le contrôle des marchandises, contribuent à l'attractivité de la place de négoce suisse des matières premières.

La place économique suisse est confrontée à une forte concurrence internationale aussi dans le secteur des matières premières, notamment vis-à-vis de Singapour, de Dubaï (Emirats arabes unis), de la Chine (en particulier Hong Kong), des Etats-Unis d’Amérique, de la Grande-Bretagne, de l'Inde et des Pays-Bas. Des places économiques émergentes se sont positionnées de manière particulièrement attractive en matière de fiscalité et de coûts réglementaires par rapport à la Suisse. La Suisse est donc mise au défi de maintenir et de renforcer ses conditions-cadres avantageuses.

L'importance croissante du secteur s’accompagne d’une responsabilité elle aussi en croissance, concernant entre autres les droits de l'homme et la situation environnementale dans les pays exportateurs de matières premières, la lutte contre la corruption et le phénomène dit de la « malédiction des matières premières » dans les pays en développement. Ces évolutions peuvent aussi comporter des risques pour la réputation de la Suisse, notamment si le comportement des entreprises domiciliées en Suisse devait aller à l’encontre des positions défendues et soutenues par la Suisse dans les domaines de la politique de développement, de la promotion de la paix, des droits de l'homme ainsi que des standards sociaux et environnementaux.

C’est pourquoi le Conseil fédéral a publié en 2015 un document qui définit sa position et un plan d’action en matière de responsabilité sociétale des entreprises (RSE). Il y fournit des informations sur ses attentes à l'égard des entreprises et sur les activités de la Confédération en matière de RSE. Le Conseil fédéral attend des entreprises établies ou actives en Suisse qu’elles assument leur responsabilité, en Suisse comme à l’étranger, conformément aux normes internationalement reconnues en matière de RSE, telles que les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales. Afin de promouvoir la RSE au niveau des entreprises, la Confédération soutient également l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de standards et d’initiatives spécifiques visant à promouvoir une extraction des matières premières et un commerce durables. Cela comprend également un guide de l’OCDE, qui aide les entreprises à s'assurer qu'elles ne contribuent pas à des conflits ou à des violations des droits de l'homme. 

En ce qui concerne le domaine des droits humains, le Conseil fédéral a adopté le 9 décembre 2016 un plan d’action national sur la mise en œuvre des principes directeurs des Nations Unies relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme (NAP). La Suisse figure parmi les premiers pays à se doter d’une telle stratégie visant la promotion de la cohérence entre activités économiques et droits de l’homme.

Fin 2018, la Confédération a publié le premier guide sur la diligence raisonnable en matière de droits de l’homme spécifique aux entreprises de commerce des matières premières.

Compte tenu de l’importance croissante du secteur pour la politique intérieure et extérieure, les départements fédéraux des affaires étrangères (DFAE), des finances (DFF), et de l'économie, de la formation et de la recherche (DEFR) ont créé une « plateforme interdépartementale pour les matières premières ». À la suite du rapport de base sur les matières premières, publié en 2013, le Conseil Fédéral a adopté en novembre 2018 un nouveau rapport contenant seize recommandations visant à renforcer la compétitivité et la force d’innovation, l’intégrité et la durabilité, le cadre analytique, le dialogue et la coordination. Il a chargé la plateforme interdépartementale « Matières premières » de coordonner la mise en œuvre de ces recommandations et de rédiger un rapport d’ici fin 2020.

Dernière modification 05.11.2019

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Rohstoffe.html