MRA Switzerland - EU

The agreement between the Swiss Confederation and the European Community on mutual recognition in relation to conformity assessment (MRA) entered into force on 1 June 2002 as one of the seven agreements concluded as part of a package known as the «Bilateral agreements I». The MRA is an instrument designed to remove technical barriers to the trade of industrial goods between Switzerland and the EU. It applies to the most important product sectors (such as machinery, medical devices, electrical equipment, construction products, lifts, biocidal products). The agreement covers more than a quarter of the value of all Swiss exports to the EU, and more than a third of all imports from the EU.

Better access to the EU market

The agreement ensures that, for the products covered by the agreement, Swiss manufacturers and conformity assessment bodies have, to the greatest extent possible, the same access to the EU market as their EU or EEA competitors. The MRA reduces the time needed and costs incurred to place products on the respective foreign markets.
The agreement helps to reduce significant technical barriers to trade by confirming on the one hand the harmonisation of Swiss and EU technical regulations, and on the other hand by eliminating the need for two conformity assessments, since one conformity assessment is sufficient to access the Swiss and EU market. Such an assessment can be carried out according to Swiss or EU technical regulations by a conformity assessment body recognised under the agreement.

How mutual recognition works

For most product sectors covered by the agreement, Swiss and EU technical regulation are deemed equivalent. The conformity assessments required for the EU internal market can be carried out by a Swiss conformity assessment body recognised under the agreement, and according to Swiss technical regulations. This applies to all the products covered by the agreement irrespective of their origin. In the two product sectors where the Swiss and EU legislations are not deemed equivalent (hot water boilers and a specific category of measuring instruments), products to be exported into the EU must be manufactured according to EU technical regulations. However, the required conformity assessment can still be carried out by a Swiss conformity assessment body recognised under the agreement.

Content of the agreement

The agreement consists of a general part and two annexes. The general part sets out several horizontal provisions that apply to all product sectors covered by the agreement. Annex 1 includes the sectoral chapters that cover the different product sectors while Annex 2 sets out general rules which apply to the designation of conformity assessment bodies recognised under the agreement.

In line with Article 10 of the MRA agreement, a Joint Committee is formed consisting of one representative for each part, which is charged with overseeing the orderly functioning of the agreement. The Joint Committee can amend the annexes to the agreement through a joint decision.

The Joint Committee’s most recent decision:

Decisions by the Joint Committee are drafted in English. It enters into force on 22.12.2017. A translation into the three official languages of the Swiss Confederation are published as soon as possible in the Official Compilation of the Federal Legislation.

Annex 1 of the Agreement (product specific provisions [chapters])

The chapters in annex 1 are divided systematically into five sections. They list the Swiss and EU legislative, regulatory and administrative provisions which apply to the product sectors, and define the scope of the agreement. The chapters also include some sector specific provisions, such as information exchange, market surveillance cooperation.

Recognised conformity assessment bodies

By designating a conformity assessment body the responsible Swiss authority confirms that the body fulfils the relevant technical regulations to carry out a conformity assessment.  Accreditation may be a prerequisite for the designation (and recognition) of a conformity assessment body.

List of recognised conformity assessment bodies

The following list contains all conformity assessment bodies notified by Switzerland and recognised by the EU.

A list (PDF, 617 kB, 20.02.2018) of all EU recognised conformity assessment bodies (incl. those in Switzerland) can be found in the NANDO database (New Approach Notified and Designated Organisations). For further information (including the list of conformity assessment bodies according to the «Old Approach») please refer to the European Commission's MRA website.

CE Marking

Information regarding CE Marking can be found here.
 


Specialist staff
Last modification 11.06.2018

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Technische_Handelshemmnisse/Mutual_Recognition_Agreement_MRA0/MRA_Schweiz_EU.html

ARM Suisse – UE

L’accord entre la Confédération suisse et l’Union européenne relatif à la reconnaissance mutuelle en matière d’évaluation de la conformité (ARM) est entré en vigueur le 1er juin 2002 dans le cadre des Accords bilatéraux I, paquet composé de sept accords. Il constitue un instrument visant à supprimer les entraves techniques au commerce dans la commercialisation de nombreux produits industriels entre la Suisse et l’UE et couvre les secteurs de produits les plus importants (par ex. machines, dispositifs médicaux, appareils électriques, produits de construction, ascenseurs, produits biocides). En valeur, l’accord couvre plus d’un quart de toutes les exportations de la Suisse vers l’UE et plus d’un tiers de toutes les importations de marchandises en provenance l’UE.

Importance de l’accord: accès facilité au marché intérieur de l‘UE

L’accord veille à ce que les producteurs et les organismes d’évaluation de la conformité (OEC) suisses bénéficient, dans la mesure du possible, des mêmes conditions d’accès au marché de l’UE que leurs concurrents de l’UE et de l’EEE dans les secteurs de produits couverts par l’accord. Il réduit les délais et les coûts liés à la commercialisation des produits sur le marché étranger concerné.
L’accord contribue à réduire d’importants obstacles techniques au commerce: des prescriptions nationales différentes relatives aux produits et la non-reconnaissance des évaluations de conformité étrangères. D’une part l’harmonisation entre les prescriptions techniques suisses et celles de l’UE est confirmée par le biais de l’accord. D’autre part, l’accord permet d’éviter une double évaluation de la conformité, dans la mesure où une seule évaluation de conformité est nécessaire pour accéder au marché, et qui peut effectuée sur la base des prescriptions techniques de la Suisse ou de l’UE par un des organismes d’évaluation de la conformité reconnus au titre de l’accord.

Fonctionnement de la reconnaissance mutuelle

Dans la grande majorité des secteurs de produits couverts par l’accord, la législation suisse est jugée équivalente à celle de l’UE. Les évaluations de la conformité nécessaires pour mettre un produit sur le marché intérieur de l’UE peuvent être réalisées par un organisme d’évaluation de la conformité (OEC) suisse reconnu au titre de l’accord sur la base des prescriptions techniques suisses. Ceci est valable pour tous les produits couverts par l’accord, indépendamment de leur origine. Dans les deux secteurs de produits dans lesquels la législation de la Suisse et celle de l’UE ne sont pas considérées comme équivalentes (appareils à gaz et chaudières ; instruments de mesure et préemballages), les produits exportés vers l’UE doivent être fabriqués conformément aux prescriptions techniques de celle-ci. L’évaluation de la conformité nécessaire peut toutefois être effectuée par un OEC suisse reconnu au titre de l’accord.

Contenu de l’accord

L’accord se compose d’une partie générale et de deux annexes. La partie générale contient des dispositions horizontales s’appliquant à tous les secteurs de produits couverts par l’accord. L’annexe 1 contient les chapitres sectoriels, qui portent sur les différents secteurs de produits. L’annexe 2, quant à elle, règle les principes généraux applicables à la désignation des organismes reconnus par l’accord.

Un comité mixte composé de représentants des deux parties est institué en vertu de l’art. 10 de l’accord. Il veille au bon fonctionnement de l’accord et peut, sur décision commune, modifier les annexes.

Annexe 1 de l’accord (dispositions spécifiques aux produits [chapitres])

Les différents chapitres sectoriels de l’Annexe 1 sont systématiquement divisés en cinq sections. Ils listent les dispositions législatives, réglementaires et administratives de la Suisse et de l’UE applicables dans les secteurs de produits concernés et précisent le champ d’application de l’accord. Les chapitres contiennent en outre des dispositions spécifiques aux secteurs de produits (échange d'information, coopération en matière de surveillance du marché etc.).

Organismes d'évaluation de la conformité reconnus 

L’autorité suisse compétente confirme par la désignation qu’un organisme satisfait aux prescriptions techniques pertinentes pour procéder à des évaluations de la conformité. L’accréditation peut constituer un prérequis pour la désignation (et la reconnaissance) d’un organisme.

Liste des OEC reconnus

Les OEC notifiés par la Suisse et reconnus par l’UE figurent dans la liste (PDF, 474 kB, 18.06.2019) ci-dessous. La liste de tous les OEC reconnus dans l’UE (y c. de la Suisse) peut être consultée dans la banque de données du registre électronique New Approach Notified and Designated Organisations (NANDO). Pour toute autre information (notamment la liste des OEC selon l’«ancienne approche» veuillez consulter le site internet de la Commission de l’UE consacré aux ARM.

Marquage CE

Des informations sur le marquage CE sont accessibles ici

Contact spécialisé
Dernière modification 27.11.2018

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Technische_Handelshemmnisse/Mutual_Recognition_Agreement_MRA0/MRA_Schweiz_EU.html