Trade in Services

Trade in services

Switzerland's external relations in the field of trade in services are structured on three levels, namely multilateral, European and bilateral with third countries.

At the multilateral level, trade in services is governed in particular by the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) of the World Trade Organization (WTO), whose basic obligations include market access and national treatment.

Switzerland's preferential relations with its European partners in the field of trade in services are based on the bilateral agreements with the European Union (EU) and the Convention establishing the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).

Bilaterally, Switzerland has a network of 18 free trade agreements (16 of which are within the framework of EFTA) that include trade in services and guarantee greater legal certainty as well as better market access with its partners than under the GATS.

Importance of services

The service sector covers many industries, including professional services (e.g. doctors, lawyers, architects) consulting, financial services, tourism, transport and logistics. The world of services ranges from independent individual service suppliers to multinational companies, but also constitutes the largest part of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).

As the most dynamic sector in Europe and worldwide, the service sector has the highest rate of economic growth. The service sector is also a central driving force of the Swiss economy: It accounts for more than 70 percent of the gross value added. Three out of four companies are active in the service sector, more than four out of five newly created companies are service companies and three out of four employees work in the tertiary sector.

The “Services Trade Cockpit” gives a new overview of the most important trade in services statistics (see pdf below). In 2019, the Swiss trade in services volume accounted for 252 billion Swiss Francs, with a surplus of around 9 billion Swiss Francs. That is more than one third of total trade. Between 2013 and 2019, trade in services saw an average growth of 3,2 percent per year. The EU is the most important trading partner. Looking at individual countries, the USA is at the top, followed by Germany and the United Kingdom. Seven European countries are among the top 10 trading partners. The most important sectors are license fees and financial services, followed by tourism, transport and ICT. However, R&D records the strongest growth.

SECO's role in trade in services policy 

The State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) takes position on draft regulations in the various service sectors, develops Switzerland's position and represents it in international negotiations. This includes identifying measures that promote the attractiveness of Switzerland as a business and investment location, strengthen its competitiveness and foster the creation of jobs in Switzerland.

It is also about ensuring that Swiss service suppliers benefit from favourable conditions for their exports abroad, and that they are not discriminated against compared to service suppliers in other countries.

Last modification 04.03.2021

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
Services
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Bern

Tel. +41 58 464 08 67
E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/handel_mit_dienstleistungen.html

Commerce des services

Commerce des services

Les relations extérieures de la Suisse en matière de commerce des services s’articulent sur trois niveaux, à savoir multilatéral, européen et bilatéral avec des pays-tiers.

Au niveau multilatéral, le commerce international des services est régi en particulier par l’Accord général sur le commerce des services (AGCS) de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC), dont les obligations de base sont notamment l’accès aux marchés et le traitement national.

Avec ses partenaires européens, la Suisse entretient des relations préférentielles en matière de commerce des services qui reposent sur les accords bilatéraux avec l’Union européenne (UE) et sur la Convention instituant l’Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE).

Sur le plan bilatéral, la Suisse dispose d’un réseau de 18 accords de libre-échange (dont 16 dans le cadre de l’AELE) qui incluent le commerce des services et garantissent avec ses partenaires une sécurité juridique accrue et un meilleur accès aux marchés par rapport à l’AGCS.

Importance des services

Le secteur des services comprend de nombreuses branches, notamment les professions libérales (par exemple, médecins, avocats, architectes), les services de conseil, les services financiers, le tourisme, les transports et la logistique. Le monde des services s’étend des prestataires individuels indépendants aux entreprises multinationales, et constitue également la plus grande part du tissu des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME).

Le domaine des services constitue, en Europe et à l’échelle mondiale, la première source de dynamisme économique et affiche le plus fort taux de croissance économique. Pour la Suisse également, le secteur des services est un moteur central de l’économie : ce secteur contribue à plus de 70% à la valeur ajoutée brute ; trois entreprises sur quatre sont actives dans ce secteur ; plus de quatre entreprises nouvellement créées sur cinq sont des entreprises de services ; et trois actifs sur quatre travaillent dans le secteur tertiaire.

Le « Cockpit du commerce des services » donne un nouvel aperçu des principales statistiques du commerce des services (voir « Services Trade Cockpit » ci-dessous) : en 2019, sur un volume de commerce de services de 252 milliards de francs, la Suisse a enregistré un excédent d’environ 9 milliards de francs. Ce volume représente plus d’un tiers du commerce extérieur total. Le commerce des services a augmenté en moyenne de 3,2 % par an entre 2013 et 2019. L'UE est le partenaire commercial le plus important. Au niveau des pays pris individuellement, Les États-Unis sont en tête, suivis par l’Allemagne et le Royaume-Uni. Au total, sept pays européens figurent dans le top 10. Les secteurs les plus importants sont les droits de licence et les services financiers, suivis par le tourisme, les transports et les services de télécommunication, d’informatique et d’information. La croissance la plus forte se situe dans le domaine de la recherche et du développement.

Le rôle du SECO en matière de politique du commerce des services  

Le Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie (SECO) prend position dans les projets de réglementation des différents secteurs de services et élabore la position de la Suisse et la représente dans le cadre des négociations internationales. Il s’agit notamment d’identifier quelles mesures pourraient être envisagées pour promouvoir l’attractivité de la place économique, renforcer sa compétitivité et favoriser la création de places de travail en Suisse.

Il s'agit également de veiller à ce que les prestataires de services suisses bénéficient de conditions propices à leurs exportations à l'étranger et qu’ils ne sont pas discriminés comparé aux fournisseurs de services d’autres pays. 

Dernière modification 04.03.2021

Début de la page

Contact

Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie SECO
Services
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Bern

Tel. +41 58 464 08 67
E-Mail

 

Imprimer le contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/handel_mit_dienstleistungen.html