Steel and Aluminum Imports in the U.S.

Tariffs Imposed on Certain Steel and Aluminium Products as of March 23, 2018

On March 8, 2018, the US introduced tariffs of 25% on certain steel products and of 10% on certain aluminum products for national security reasons. The tariffs apply to imports from all partner countries (including Switzerland), with the exception of those from Canada, Mexico, Argentina, Australia Brazil and South Korea. However, steel and aluminium imports from Argentina are subject to a quota as well as the steel imports from Brazil and South Korea.

Tariffs Imposed on Steel and Aluminium Derivatives as of 8 February 2020

On 24 January 2020, the US announced that it would impose additional tariffs of 25% on certain derivative steel products and 10% on certain derivative aluminum products for national security reasons effective 8 February 2020 .  (https://www.whitehouse.gov/presidential-actions/proclamation-adjusting-imports-derivative-aluminum-articles-derivative-steel-articles-united-states/

Derivative steel and aluminium products from Argentina, Australia, Canada, and Mexico are exempted. Derivative aluminium products from Brazil, South Korea are exempted.

Product-specific exclusion requests
There is scope for demanding product-specific exclusions from the aforementioned tariffs. The US Department of Commerce is in charge of examining the requests.

Forms and detailed information on the product-specific exclusion process can be found on the following portal:  https://www.commerce.gov/232

See also the U.S. Department of Commerce press release regarding the June 13, 2019 launch of the new product exclusion request portal: 

User guide

FAQs (PDF, 548 kB, 11.03.2020) (frequently asked questions)  

How Should I Proceed?

General remarks:

  • Product-specific exclusions must be requested by US-based representatives or US-based clients of foreign companies. (“only individuals or organizations using steel [or aluminum] in business activities [e.g., construction, manufacturing, or supplying steel products to users] in the United States”)
  • The examination of the requests will take place from the perspective of national security and will allow to determine whether a product is manufactured in the United States in a satisfactory quality or in a sufficient and reasonably available quantity.

Requests submitted after 13 June 2019:

Contact with the US authorities:

Requests submitted until June 12, 2019:

  • The docket number for product-exclusion requests regarding steel is BIS-2018-0006, and the docket number for requests regarding aluminum is BIS-2018-0002.
  • The status of the requests can be checked at http://www.regulations.gov.

For further information:

Reporting Procedure and Entry into Force for Approved Exceptions

  • Requests submitted on or after 13 June 2019: The status of requests can be consulted directly on the US Department of Commerce website: https://www.commerce.gov/232 (for requests submitted before 13 June 2019: www.regulations.gov ; docket number BIS-2018-0006 or BIS-2018-0002)
  • Exclusion requests are approved only for one product. The exceptions are limited to the company or organization which submitted the request. Consequently exclusions will not apply to all clients or representatives horizontally.
  • Normally the time period for the U.S. Department of Commerce to make a decision on requests will not exceed 90 days.
  •  
  • Affirmative exclusion decisions will enter into force 5 working days after the responses are published www.regulations.gov. In principle, they are effective for one year. Renewals have to be requested through the aforementioned procedure.

Informationsaustausch mit der Schweizer Wirtschaft: Massnahmen der USA (PDF, 91 kB, 23.04.2018)This information is currently available only in German. A translation will follow soon.

List of steel and aluminium products subject to additonal US duty

List of Derivatives of Aluminium and Steel articles subject to additional US duty

Video tutorials by the DOC

User Registration and Login

Filing a New Exclusion Request

Filing a Rebuttal to an Objection

WTO Dispute settlement proceedings - Measures imposed by the United States on certain steel and aluminum products

On 9 July 2018, Switzerland launched WTO dispute settlement proceedings against import adjustment measures imposed by the United States on certain steel and aluminum products. Switzerland considers that these measures are contrary to WTO law. Consultations, which represent the first stage of WTO dispute settlement proceedings, failed to settle the dispute and Switzerland requested the establishment of a panel. The panel was established on 4 December 2018 and the proceedings are now ongoing. Six other dispute settlement proceedings – initiated by China, the European Union, India, Norway, Russia and Turkey – are currently under way concerning the measures taken by the United States.

Last modification 11.03.2020

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
World Trade
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Berne

E-Mail

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/handelsschutzmassnahmen/wirtschaftsbeziehungen_ch_usa.html

Importations d’acier et d’aluminium aux USA

Imposition de droits de douane sur certains produits en acier et aluminium à partir du 23 mars 2018

Les USA ont annoncé le 8 mars 2018 qu’ils allaient imposer des droits de douane de 25% sur certains produits de l’acier et de 10% sur certains produits de l’aluminium pour des raisons de sécurité nationale. Ces droits de douane s’appliquent à toutes les importations à l’exception de celles du Canada, du Mexique, de l’Argentine, de l’Australie, du Brésil et de la Corée. Cependant, les importations d’acier et d’aluminium de l’Argentine sont soumises à des contingents, de même que les importations d’acier du Brésil et de la Corée.

Produits dérivés soumis aux droits de douane supplémentaires à partir du 8 février 2020

Le 24 janvier 2020, les USA ont annoncé qu’ils allaient imposer des droits de douane supplémentaires de 25% sur certains produits dérivés en acier et de 10% sur certains produits dérivés en aluminium pour des raisons de sécurité nationale qui ont pris effet le 8 février 2020. https://www.whitehouse.gov/presidential-actions/proclamation-adjusting-imports-derivative-aluminum-articles-derivative-steel-articles-united-states/ 
Les produits dérivés en acier et aluminium de l’Argentine, de l’Australie, du Canada et du Mexique sont exemptés. Les produits dérivés en aluminium du Brésil et de la Corée sont exemptés.

Demandes d’exclusion concernant les produits spécifiques :
Il est possible de demander des exemptions des droits de douane susmentionnés pour des produits spécifiques en acier et en aluminium. Le Département du Commerce américain est chargé d’examiner ces demandes.

Les détails de cette procédure ainsi que les formulaires sont disponibles sous :  https://www.commerce.gov/232

Voir également le communiqué de presse du département du commerce américain concernant le lancement, le 13 juin 2019, du nouveau portail consacré aux demandes d’exclusion des produits.

Guide d’utilisateur (en anglais)

FAQs (PDF, 548 kB, 11.03.2020) (questions fréquentes en anglais)

Comment procéder ?

Remarques générales :

  • Les demandes d’exclusions concernant les produits spécifiques doivent être soumises par les représentants américains des entreprises étrangères ou par les clients américains des entreprises étrangères. (“only individuals or organizations using steel or aluminum in business activities (e.g. construction, manufacturing, or supplying steel product to users) in the United States”).
  • L’examen des requêtes aura lieu sous l’angle de la sécurité nationale et permettra de déterminer si un produit est fabriqué aux Etats-Unis dans une qualité satisfaisante ou en quantité suffisante et raisonnablement disponible ou pour des considérations spécifiques de sécurité nationale.

Demandes soumises jusqu’au 12 juin 2019:

  • Le numéro de dossier pour les requêtes relatives à l’acier est BIS-2018-0006, celui pour celles concernant l’aluminium est BIS-2018-0002.
  • Le statut des demandes peut être consulté à l’adresse suivante :http://www.regulations.gov.

Contact auprès des autorités américaines :

Demandes soumises à partir du 13 juin 2019 :

  • Les demandes doivent être soumises à : www.trade.gov/232/steelalum
  • Les demandes d’exclusion sont en principe publiées dans un délai de 20 jours ouvrables.

Contact auprès des autorités américaines :

Procédure d’annonce et entrée en vigueur des exceptions approuvées

  • Demandes soumises à partir du 13 juin 2019 : Le statut des demandes peut être consulté directement sur le site du Département du Commerce américain : https://www.commerce.gov/232 (pour les demandes soumises jusqu’au 12 juin 2019 : www.regulations.gov, (numéro de dossier BIS-2018-0006 ou BIS-2018-0002)).
  • Les demandes d’exclusion ne sont approuvées que pour un produit. Les exceptions sont limitées à l’entreprise ou à l’organisation qui a soumis la requête. En conséquence, aucune exclusion vaudra pour tous les clients ou les représentants de manière horizontale.
  • Normalement, le délai dans lequel le département US du commerce doit rendre une décision sur les demandes ne doit pas dépasser 90 jours.
  • Les demandes d’exclusion qui auront été approuvées entreront en vigueur 5 jours ouvrables. Elles sont en principe valables pour une année. Les renouvellements doivent être demandés par le biais de la procédure susmentionnée.

List of steel and aluminium products subject to additonal US duty

List of Derivatives of Aluminium and Steel articles subject to additional US duty

Tutoriels vidéo du Département du commerce (en anglais)

Enregistrement et connexion des utilisateurs

Soumission d’une nouvelle demande d’exclusion

Soumission d’une réfutation à une objection

Procédure de règlement des différends à l’OMC contre les mesures prises par les Etats-Unis en matière d’acier et d’aluminium

Le 9 juillet 2018, la Suisse a initié une procédure de règlement des différends à l’OMC contre les restrictions à l’importation imposées par les Etats-Unis sur certains produits en acier et en aluminium. La Suisse considère que ces mesures sont contraires au droit de l’OMC. Les consultations – qui représentent la première phase de cette procédure – n’ayant pas permis de trouver une solution, la Suisse a demandé l’établissement d’un panel. Ce dernier a été établi le 4 décembre 2018 et la procédure suit actuellement son cours. Six autres procédures de règlement des différends contre les mesures américaines sont également en cours, à savoir les procédures initiées par la Chine, l’Inde, la Norvège, la Russie, la Turquie et l’Union européenne.

Dernière modification 11.03.2020

Début de la page

Contact

Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie SECO
Commerce mondial
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Berne

E-Mail

Imprimer le contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/handelsschutzmassnahmen/wirtschaftsbeziehungen_ch_usa.html