Tourism Strategy of the Swiss Confederation

Banner_Tourismuspolitik

The Federal Council's tourism strategy is designed to create an internationally competitive tourism industry and make Switzerland an attractive and productive tourist destination.

The Federal Council’s tourism policy has the following four objectives:

1. Improving framework conditions
The Federal Council’s tourism policy aims to improve the framework conditions for tourism. Prioritisation is geared towards improving the way in which the federal government’s tourism policy is coordinated and exploiting synergies. Regulations should be streamlined wherever possible and processes and procedures at federal level should be simplified while taking into consideration the objectives of relevant sectoral policies. This should enable businesses in the tourism sector to broaden their entrepreneurial scope and bring down their costs.

2. Promoting entrepreneurship
The federal government’s tourism policy places great importance on promoting entrepreneurship. The focus is on increasing productivity, boosting the skills and competencies of all players, supporting structural change and strengthening the tourism labour market.

3. Exploiting the opportunities presented by the digital economy
The Confederation’s tourism policy aims to help the Swiss tourism industry make the most of the opportunities presented by the digital economy. The plan is to increase the support provided to the tourism industry in the digital transformation of its business models and processes. It should also aid in the digital transformation of tourism market development activities.

4. Enhancing the attractiveness of tourism offerings and market presence
As the attractiveness of tourism offerings and the market presence of Switzerland as a tourist destination are interlinked, they are treated as a single objective. The focus is on the development of investment incentives, and the exploitation of the momentum provided by major events – e.g. Winter Olympics, other major sporting events, and high-profile exhibitions, such as the Swiss or World Expo – being hosted in Switzerland. The objectives are interrelated. The aims have overlapping features, which will be taken into account in the implementation of federal tourism policy.

Four instruments are available to help implement federal tourism policy: Innovation promotion, cooperation and knowledge building in tourism (Innotour), Switzerland Tourism, the Swiss Society for Hotel Credit and the New Regional Policy.

Federal tourism policy and its tools are subsidiary to the work of the cantons, local authorities and tourism-related industries.
Maintaining dialogue with the cantons and with tourist associations (in particular the Swiss Tourism Federation, hotelleriesuisse, GastroSuisse, Seilbahnen Schweiz) is essential.

Last modification 12.06.2018

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Standortfoerderung/Tourismuspolitik/Tourismusstrategie_des_Bundes.html

Stratégie touristique de la Confédération

Banner_Tourismuspolitik

Par sa politique du tourisme, le Conseil fédéral souhaite rendre ce secteur compétitif au niveau international et faire de la Suisse une destination touristique incontournable.  

Tourismusstrategie_fr

La politique du tourisme de la Confédération fixe les quatre objectifs suivants :

1. Améliorer les conditions-cadre
La politique du tourisme du Conseil fédéral vise à améliorer les conditions-cadre qui régissent le tourisme. L’accent doit être mis sur le renforcement de la coordination de cette politique et l’exploitation des synergies. Il s’agit de réduire si possible la complexité des réglementations et de simplifier les procédures et les processus au niveau fédéral, en tenant compte des objectifs des politiques sectorielles pertinentes. Le but est ainsi d’augmenter la marge de manoeuvre entrepreneuriale et de baisser les coûts pour les entreprises touristiques.

2. Promouvoir l’entrepreneuriat
La Confédération accorde une grande importance à l’entrepreneuriat dans sa politique du tourisme. L’augmentation de la productivité, la qualification des acteurs, le soutien apporté au changement structurel et le renforcement du marché du travail dans le secteur du tourisme sont les principaux objectifs.

3. Utiliser les opportunités du numérique
La politique du tourisme de la Confédération doit permettre au secteur touristique d’exploiter au mieux les opportunités du passage au numérique. Il convient par conséquent de renforcer le soutien apporté au secteur dans la numérisation des processus et des modèles d’affaires. Il en va de même pour la prospection des marchés touristiques.

4. Renforcer l’attrait de l’offre et la présence sur le marché
L’amélioration de l’attrait des offres touristiques et le renforcement de la présence de la place touristique suisse sur le marché forment un seul et même objectif pour tenir compte de leur complémentarité. Les priorités sont axées sur le développement de la promotion des investissements et sur la mise à profit des impulsions émanant de l’organisation de grands événements comme les Jeux olympiques d’hiver, d’autres grandes manifestations sportives, et les expositions universelles ou nationales.

Les objectifs sont interdépendants. Cette interdépendance est prise en considération lors de la mise en œuvre de la politique touristique de la Confédération.

Quatre instruments de promotion existent pour mettre en œuvre la politique fédérale du tourisme : Innotour, qui encourage l’innovation, la coopération et la professionnalisation dans le domaine du tourisme, Suisse Tourisme (ST), la Société suisse de crédit hôtelier (SCH) et la nouvelle politique régionale (NPR).

La politique fédérale du tourisme et ses instruments sont subsidiaires aux efforts des cantons, des communes et des branches qui dépendent du tourisme. Dans ce contexte, le dialogue avec les cantons et les associations touristiques (en particulier avec la Fédération suisse du tourisme, hotelleriesuisse, GastroSuisse et les Remontées mécaniques suisses) joue également un rôle important.

Dernière modification 13.05.2019

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Standortfoerderung/Tourismuspolitik/Tourismusstrategie_des_Bundes.html