Special Foreign Economic Services

Structuring negotiations and creating framework conditions

The Special Foreign Economic Services Division of the Foreign Economic Affairs Directorate is the federal government’s centre of excellence for the international movement of goods, non-tariff measures, trade in services, international investments and multinational enterprises, as well as international economic law. It represents the interests of Switzerland as a business location in these fields and is responsible for the early recognition of new developments. In order to obtain access to markets abroad and establishing an economic order in Switzerland conducive to competition, it participates in shaping international conditions. It is responsible for the negotiation of international agreements to safeguard the interests of the Swiss economy in various negotiations (e.g. in the context of the WTO and EFTA, with the EU, and on free trade and other bilateral trade agreements). It also represents Switzerland’s technical fields in the relevant international organisations (WTO, OECD, EFTA, UNCTAD, etc.). The Special Foreign Economic Services Division also ensures that the outcome of negotiations is transposed into Swiss law and monitors the conformity of domestic regulations with Switzerland’s international obligations providing the appropriate support where necessary.

International Economic Law

Our tasks as SECO’s centre of excellence for matters of international economic law include the negotiation of international economic agreements and representing Switzerland in international organisations. The focus being on competition law, corporate governance, as well as on institutional provisions, protective trade policy measures and the resolution of disputes. We represent Switzerland in the OECD and UNCTAD specialist committees. In cooperation with the specialised services, we ensure the coherence of the agreements in terms of rules on trade, services, investment and other rules within and between the various agreements concluded by Switzerland.

International Movement of Goods

Our section is the point of contact for autonomous, bilateral, plurilateral and multilateral matters regarding international trade in goods. With regard to the movement of goods we, along with the section responsible for non-tariff measures, form the centre of excellence for issues relating to market access for agricultural and industrial goods in Switzerland and abroad. One of our central fields of activity involves shaping general policies on customs, customs tariffs and rules of origin, including conducting negotiations on international agreements in particular with the EU (amongst others the 1972 free trade agreements including Protocol 2 for processed agricultural products, negotiations on agriculture, food safety and health) and free trade agreements with non-EU countries. Our aim is to lower customs duties and fees, and to simplify procedures at the border. We are also responsible (in collaboration with the Senior Customs Directorate and the Federal Department for Agriculture) for the implementation of the federal act on the import and export of goods made from agricultural products (so-called “Schoggi Act”).

Non-Tariff Measures

We are working towards achieving internationally harmonised or compatible product regulations and the mutual recognition of tests, certifications, conformity evaluations, inspections and approvals. Our aim is to provide Swiss businesses with access to foreign markets that is as unrestricted possible and to give Switzerland a competitive edge as a location for business through the international recognition or harmonisation of regulations and standards. We are responsible for the WTO Agreement on Technical Barriers to Trade and negotiate agreements on mutual recognition with the EU. We negotiate agreements on mutual recognition (including negotiations with the EU on agriculture, food safety and health as well as on REACH). We are also responsible for the implementation of the Federal Act on Technical Barriers to Trade and the formulation of the principles of Swiss policy on the elimination of non-tariff barriers to trade.

Services

Our task is to improve access to the markets and to eliminate discrimination in trading in services. Within the framework of the GATS/WTO agreement on services and free trade agreements, we endeavour to safeguard and improve market access for Swiss service providers and to ensure the non-discriminatory treatment on foreign markets. We pursue these aims in the various services sectors such as the financial sector, telecommunications, retail and wholesale, corporate services, freelance occupations, transport and logistics, tourism, construction, audiovisual services, postal and courier services, education and healthcare services and in the area of e-commerce. In addition, we handle issues relating to national legislation in the services sector, in particular, with the aim of ensuring compatibility with Switzerland’s international obligations and European legal standards.

International Investment and Multinational Enterprises

We are responsible for international rules and agreements on international investments, including Switzerland’s roughly 120 bilateral agreements on the promotion and protection of investments and the investment provisions in free trade agreements. We represent Switzerland in the specialist committees of international organisations (namely the OECD and UNCTAD). We also work towards improving the conditions for international investments and the contribution made by multinational enterprises to sustainable development. This includes helping to shape basic principles for responsible actions on the part of international companies (Corporate Responsibility), amongst other things within the framework of the OECD guidelines on what constitutes responsible behaviour on the part of business. We also focus on fighting bribery in international business transactions. We represent Switzerland in the relevant OECD committee where we aim, among other things, to prevent distortions to competition on international markets resulting from corruption.

Last modification 04.02.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Aussenwirtschaftliche_Fachdienste.html

Services spécialisés

Négociations et conditions-cadre

Les services spécialisés de la Direction des affaires économiques extérieures sont le centre de compétence de la Confédération pour les dossiers ayant trait aux échanges internationaux de marchandises, aux mesures non tarifaires, au commerce des services, aux investissements internationaux, aux entreprises multinationales et au droit économique international. Ils défendent les intérêts de la place économique suisse dans ces domaines et sont chargés de prévoir les nouvelles tendances. Afin de gagner l’accès à des marchés étrangers et d’établir un régime économique propice à la concurrence en Suisse, ils participent à l’élaboration d’un cadre économique national et international. Ils sont chargés de négocier des accords internationaux (dans le cadre de l’OMC et de l’AELE, avec l’UE et par le biais d’accords de libre-échange et d’accords économiques bilatéraux, entre autres) pour veiller à la défense des intérêts de l’écono-mie suisse, intérêts qu’ils défendent par ailleurs dans les organisations internationales compétentes (OMC, OCDE, AELE, CNUCED, etc.). Les services spécialisés veillent en outre à ce que les résultats des négociations soient repris dans le droit suisse et à ce que les règlementations indigènes soient compatibles avec les engagements inter-nationaux de la Suisse, apportant au besoin le soutien nécessaire pour ce faire.

Droit économique international

En tant que centre de compétence du SECO en matière de droit économique international, nos activités consistent principalement à négocier des accords économiques internationaux et à représenter la Suisse dans des organisations internationales. Nous traitons en particulier les dossiers afférant au droit de la concurrence, au gouvernement d’entreprise, aux mesures de sauvegarde de politique commerciale, aux dispositions institutionnelles et au règlement des différends. Nous représentons la Suisse dans les comités spécialisés de l’OCDE et de la CNUCED. Nous collaborons avec les services spécialisés pour assurer la cohérence des dispositions ayant trait au commerce, aux services et aux investissements, notamment, dans les divers accords conclus par la Suisse.

Circulation internationale des marchandises

Nous sommes votre interlocuteur pour les questions de circulation internationale des marchandises s’inscrivant dans un cadre autonome, bilatéral, plurilatéral ou multilatéral. En matière de circulation des marchandises, nous sommes, avec le service chargé des mesures non tarifaires, le centre de compétence pour les questions d’accès aux marchés des produits agricoles et industriels, en Suisse comme à l’étranger. L’une de nos tâches principales consiste à élaborer la politique douanière et des règles d’origine ainsi qu’à conduire des négociations d’accords internationaux, en particulier avec l’UE (accord de libre-échange de 1972 y compris protocole 2 pour les produits agricoles transformés, les négociations sur l’agriculture, la sécurité alimentaire ou la santé), ou d’accords de libre-échange, au sein de l’AELE. Notre objectif est d’abaisser les droits de douane et les taxes, et de simplifier les procédures à la frontière. L’exécution de la loi fédérale sur l’importation et l’exportation de produits agricoles transformés (la «loi chocolatière») relève également de notre compétence (en collaboration avec la Direction générale des douanes et l’Office fédéral de l’agriculture).

Mesures non tarifaires

Nous nous engageons pour que les prescriptions techniques soient harmonisées et compatibles au niveau international et pour la reconnaissance mutuelle des examens, certificats, évaluations de la conformité, inspections et homologations. Notre objectif est de permettre un accès aussi libre que possible aux marchés étrangers et de rendre la place économique suisse concurrentielle par le biais de la reconnaissance internationale ou de l’harmonisation des prescriptions ou des normes techniques. Nous sommes chargés de l’Accord de l’OMC sur les obstacles techniques au commerce et de l’Accord de reconnaissance mutuelle des évaluations de la conformité avec l’UE. Nous négocions des accords sur la reconnaissance mutuelle (en particulier avec l’UE sur l’agriculture, la sécurité alimentaire et la santé, et via REACH). L’exécution de la loi fédérale sur les entraves techniques au commerce (LETC) et l’élaboration des principes de la politique suisse visant l’élimination des entraves non tarifaires relèvent aussi de notre compétence.

Services

Notre mission est d’améliorer l’accès au marché et de supprimer les discriminations dans le commerce des services. A travers l’accord sur les services du GATS/OMC ainsi que d’accords de libre-échange bilatéraux, nous visons le maintien et l’amélioration de l’accès aux marchés pour les prestataires de services suisses et un traitement non discriminatoire sur les marchés étrangers, en élargissant au maximum l’éventail des branches couvertes: finances, télécommunications, commerce de gros et de détail, services aux entreprises, professions libérales, transports et logistique, tourisme, construction, audiovisuel, services postaux et de courrier, formation et santé, et commerce électronique. Nous traitons par ailleurs des questions comme le droit national dans le domaine des services, avec notamment pour objectif d’assurer la compatibilité à la fois avec les engagements internationaux de la Suisse et avec les règles européennes.

Investissements internationaux et entreprises multinationales

Nous sommes chargés d’élaborer des règles et des conventions internationales relatives aux investissements internationaux, notamment dans le cadre des quelque 120 accords bilatéraux conclus par la Suisse en vue de protéger et de promouvoir les investissements ainsi que des accords de libre-échange. Nous représentons la Suisse dans les comités spécialisés de certaines organisations internationales (notamment l’OCDE et la CNUCED). Notre objectif est d’améliorer le cadre des investissements internationaux et de promouvoir la contribution des multinationales au développement durable. Il s’agit notamment de participer à l’élaboration de principes pour un comportement responsable des entreprises actives à l’international (responsabilité d’entreprise), notamment dans le cadre des principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales. Nous mettons également l’accent sur la lutte contre la corruption dans les échanges internationaux. Enfin, nous représentons la Suisse dans le comité chargé du dossier au sein de l’OCDE, entre autres dans l’optique d’éviter les distorsions de la concurrence découlant de la corruption sur les marchés internationaux.

Dernière modification 04.02.2016

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Aussenwirtschaftliche_Fachdienste.html