Bilateral Economic Relations

On behalf of Switzerland’s foreign economic policy

Switzerland is a small, open economy. It benefits from international trade in goods and services and from investment abroad. Good economic policy relations with the various countries of the world are essential. The Bilateral Economic Relations Division promotes these relations and represents Switzerland’s economic and trade policy interests abroad. In so doing, the Division adheres to the strategic orientation of Swiss foreign economic policy set out by the Federal Council in 2004.

In addition, the Bilateral Economic Relations Division is responsible for controlling exports of war materiel and so-called dual-use goods, i.e. goods that can be used for both military and civilian purposes. The Division is also responsible for decreeing coercive measures to implement sanctions imposed by the UN, the OSCE or our key trading partners.

Bilateral Services for Countries

The aim of our work is to further develop and consolidate Switzerland’s well-established network of foreign economic policy contacts. In order to do this we have divided the world into four regions: America; Europe and Central Asia; the Middle East and Africa; and Asia-Pacific. We serve as an intermediary and coordination office within SECO and regularly liaise with a number of government agencies, Swiss diplomatic representations abroad and foreign representations in Switzerland. We bring Swiss and foreign administration experts together to discuss technical concerns.

Foreign economic policy is also a special interest policy because it influences the framework conditions under which Swiss firms are able to benefit from foreign markets. Liaising with business associations, chambers of commerce and Swiss firms in Switzerland and abroad is important. In addition, we gather country and region-specific information and prepare measures to strengthen the competitiveness of the Swiss economy on important foreign markets. However, we also take into account individual concerns relating to specific countries. If a Swiss firm informs us about a specific problem with a foreign government, we support and advise the firm in cooperation with our diplomatic representation on-site.

The head of the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research EAER and the director of SECO travel abroad on official missions and regularly receive representatives of foreign governments in Switzerland. Our core tasks also include preparing for and attending these meetings and coordinating the meeting agenda in Switzerland and abroad. Swiss business representatives are often invited to these meetings or included in trade missions. In this respect, we act as a direct liaison for the Swiss economy. Important concerns on the part of Swiss business are thereby given the opportunity to be heard on a political level abroad and can be registered at an institutional level, for example, in the form of bilateral economic agreements.

Export Controls

The supervision of the production, trade, brokerage and transfer (import, export, transit) of war materiel and weapons technology ensures compliance with Switzerland’s international obligations and the protection of its foreign policy principles. When evaluating applications for export, controlling authorities take into account the preservation of peace, international security and regional stability, but also respect for human rights and Swiss development cooperation efforts. The position of other countries involved in implementing export control measures is also taken into account. Export controls are only effective if they are coordinated as extensively as possible at international level. The War Material Act forms the basis for these controls.

Due to its highly developed industry, Switzerland is a major exporter of dual-use goods, which in addition to precision machine tools, also include chemicals and laboratory equipment. Appropriate controls should prevent such goods from being mis-used to produce weapons of mass destruction and delivery systems or to help a state to build up its conventional weapons to the extent that it would represent a threat to global or regional security. The Goods Control Act forms the basis for the implementation of decisions regarding international agreements (e.g. the Chemical Weapons Convention) or optional international control regimes, in which Switzerland participates. In terms of this act, armaments that are not covered by the War Material Act, such as military training aircraft and simulators, are also controlled.

Sanctions

Sanctions are increasingly imposed in conflict situations to implement international law and fundamental human rights. Non-military coercive measures approved by the UN Security Council, such as financial and trade restrictions, are binding on Switzerland. In addition, the Federal Council decides whether Switzerland wishes to adopt the sanctions of its key trade partners (in particular the EU) or the OSCE. It is our duty to implement these sanctions in Switzerland. The Embargo Act provides the legal basis for the adoption and implementation of sanctions. Examples of the implementation of UN sanctions can be seen in the ordinances on measures against al-Qaeda and the Taliban and against the Islamic Republic of Iran. The Ordinance on Measures against Myanmar provides an example of the independent imposition of sanctions based on the EU model.

Last modification 04.02.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Bilaterale_Wirtschaftsbeziehungen.html

Relations économiques bilatérales

Au service de la politique économique extérieure de la Suisse

La Suisse est une économie ouverte de petite taille. Elle profite des échanges internationaux de marchandises et de services ainsi que des investissements à l’étranger. Il est donc capital d’entretenir de bonnes relations économiques avec les divers pays du monde. Le centre de prestations Relations économiques bilatérales s’engage pour leur promotion et défend les intérêts économiques et commerciaux de la Suisse vis-à-vis de l’étranger. Il suit les axes stratégiques définis en 2004 par le Conseil fédéral en matière de politique économique extérieure.

Il est par ailleurs responsable des contrôles des exportations de matériel de guerre et de biens à double usage, autrement dit les biens pouvant être utilisés aussi bien à des fins civiles que militaires. Il est enfin chargé d’arrêter les mesures de coercition concrétisant les sanctions de l’ONU, de l’OSCE ou de nos principaux partenaires commerciaux.

Relations bilatérales avec les autres pays

Notre travail vise à élargir et à approfondir le réseau de relations économiques de la Suisse. Pour ce faire, quatre secteurs sont responsables de quatre zones géographiques: Amérique, Europe et Asie centrale, Moyen-Orient et Afrique, Asie et Océanie. Nous assumons le rôle de coordinateur au sein du SECO et sommes en contact régulier avec divers services gouvernementaux étrangers, les ambassades de Suisse à l’étranger et les ambassades des pays étrangers en Suisse. Lorsqu’il s’agit de dossiers techniques, nous favorisons le dialogue entre spécialistes des administrations suisses et étrangères.

La politique économique extérieure est également une politique de défense des intérêts, puisqu’elle influe sur les conditions générales qui déterminent dans quelle mesure les entreprises suisses peuvent tirer profit des marchés étrangers. Il est crucial d’avoir un bon contact avec les associations économiques, les chambres du commerce et les entreprises suisses, sur notre territoire comme à l’étranger. Nous collectons en outre des informations spécifiques sur des pays ou des régions pour mettre au point des mesures permettant de renforcer la compétitivité de l’économie suisse sur les principaux marchés étrangers. Cela étant, nous tenons aussi compte de certains intérêts économiques individuels; si une entreprise suisse nous signale un problème concret qu’elle rencontre avec un gouvernement étranger, nous soutenons et conseillons cette entreprise conjointement avec notre représentation diplomatique sur place.

Le chef du Département fédéral de l’économie, de la formation et de la recherche DEFR et la directrice du SECO effectuent des missions officielles et reçoivent régulièrement des représentants étrangers en Suisse. Préparer et encadrer ce type de rencontres, ainsi qu’en coordonner la teneur fait également partie de nos activités principales. Il n’est pas rare que des représentants de l’économie suisse soient invités à ces rencontres ou qu’ils participent à des missions économiques. Dans ce dernier cas, nous les mettons directement en contact avec des interlocuteurs étrangers. C’est une manière de faire entendre les intérêts des milieux économiques suisses aux gouvernements étrangers et de les inscrire au niveau institutionnel, notamment dans des conventions économiques bilatérales.

Contrôles à l’exportation

Le contrôle de la fabrication, du commerce, du courtage et du transfert (importation, exportation, transit) de matériel de guerre et des technologies correspondantes garantit le respect des engagements internationaux de la Suisse et de ses principes en matière de politique étrangère. Lors de l’évaluation des demandes d’exportation, différents facteurs sont pris en considération: le maintien de la paix, la sécurité internationale et la stabilité régionale, mais aussi le respect des droits de l’homme et les efforts déployés par la Suisse dans le cadre de la coopération au développement. Etant donné que les contrôles des exportations ne sont vraiment efficaces que s’ils sont coordonnés à large échelle, nous tenons compte, dans les limites imposées par la loi fédérale sur le matériel de guerre, de la position d’autres pays participant aux mesures internationales.

Du fait de son industrie fortement développée, la Suisse est l’un des grands exportateurs de biens à double usage. Appartiennent notamment à cette catégorie les machines-outils, mais aussi les produits chimiques ou les appareils de laboratoire. Les contrôles de ces biens visent à empêcher qu’ils soient détournés pour la fabrication d’armes de destruction massive et de leurs systèmes vecteurs ou qu’ils servent à l’armement conventionnel d’un Etat qui menace la sécurité mondiale ou régionale. Ils se fondent sur la loi sur le contrôle des biens, qui reprend dans le droit national les dispositions de traités internationaux (p. ex. la Convention sur les armes chimiques) ou les décisions de régimes de contrôle internationaux non contraignants auxquels la Suisse participe. C’est également au titre de cette loi que sont contrôlés les biens d’équipement militaire qui ne tombent pas sous le coup de la loi sur le matériel de guerre, comme les avions d’entraînement militaires et les simulateurs.

Sanctions

Il est toujours plus fréquent que, dans le cadre de conflits, des sanctions soient prises pour faire respecter le droit international public et les droits fondamentaux. Les mesures de coercition non militaires décidées par le conseil de sécurité des Nations unies, telles que les restrictions financières ou commerciales, sont contraignantes pour la Suisse. Le Conseil fédéral décide en outre si la Suisse souhaite appliquer les mêmes sanctions que celles appliquées par ses principaux partenaires commerciaux (en particulier l’UE) ou l’OSCE. C’est à nous qu’il appartient de mettre en oeuvre ces sanctions en Suisse, en vertu de la loi sur les embargos. A titre d’exemple de l’application des sanctions de l’ONU, on peut citer l’ordonnance instituant des mesures à l’encontre de personnes et entités liées au groupe Al-Qaïda ou aux Taliban et à l’encontre de l’Iran. L’ordonnance instituant des mesures à l’encontre du Myanmar est un exemple de sanctions autonomes suivant l’exemple de l’UE.

Dernière modification 04.02.2016

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Bilaterale_Wirtschaftsbeziehungen.html