Swiss Permanent Mission at the WTO and EFTA

Proactively representing Switzerland’s interests

The task of the Swiss Permanent Mission at the World Trade Organisation (WTO) and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) is to monitor and help shape the work of the economic international organisations in Geneva. In addition to the WTO and EFTA these include the bodies of the United Nations (UN) that deal with economic matters such as e.g. the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UN/ECE) and the International Trade Centre of the UNCTAD and the WTO (ITC).

Through its presence in the WTO and EFTA the Swiss Permanent Mission “proactively” represents the country’s priorities and interests in the field of international and economic relations. In coordination with the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research EAER, the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO and other departments, within the WTO the Swiss Permanent Mission is involved in a round of Doha negotiations that not only broadens access to the markets but also improves existing regulations and creates new ones where necessary. It also increases the cohesion between the multilateral trading systems and other policy areas such as the environment, finance and development.

The World Trade Organisation WTO

The WTO is the key international organisation for defining and monitoring the rules on trade and the only international institution to define the standards for international trading between nations on a global level. The WTO treaty negotiated and ratified by the members provides the basis for the organisation. The aim of this treaty is to promote the economic development of all member states through rules which ensure that global trading in goods and services is able to operate as freely as possible, unhindered and without any discrimination. Another aim is to ensure appropriate protection for intellectual property rights. The WTO’s primary tasks are to manage existing trade agreements, monitor their implementation within international law, provide a framework for conducting negotiations on these treaties, mediating in trade disputes as well as offering technical assistance and training for developing countries. The WTO works in close cooperation with other international organisations to make it more cohesive. Last but not least, the Secretariat of the WTO organises a biannual Confer-ence of Ministers which represents the organisation’s supreme body for all member states.

EFTA

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) is an intergovernmental organisation that promotes free trade between its members. Since 1995 these have been Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. The organisation is entrusted with three main tasks: to monitor the EFTA Treaty, the EEA (which includes Norway, Iceland and Lichtenstein and integrates these three EFTA states within the EU single market) as well as to negotiate and maintain free trade agreements with non-treaty countries. The EFTA has concluded an important network of free trade agreements with its four member states. To-date 25 of the 28 Swiss free trade agreements have been negotiated with non-EU partners within the framework of the EFTA.

Last modification 29.02.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Staendige_Mission_Schweiz_WTO_EFTA.html

Mission permanente de la Suisse près l’OMC et l’AELE

Représentation «proactive» des intérêts de la Suisse

La Mission permanente de la Suisse près l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) et l’Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE) a pour tâche de suivre les travaux des organisations internationales à Genève ayant un lien avec l’économie, et d’y participer. Ces dernières comprennent, outre l’OMC et l’AELE, les organes des Nations unies qui traitent de questions économiques, la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement (CNUCED), la Commission économique des Nations Unies pour l’Europe (CEE) ou encore le Centre du commerce international CNUCED/OMC (CCI).

Par sa présence à l’OMC et à l’AELE, la Mission permanente de la Suisse est en mesure de défendre «proactivement» les priorités et les intérêts de notre pays dans le domaine des relations internationales et économiques. En concertation avec le Dépar tement fédéral de l’économie, de la formation et de la recherche DEFR, le Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie (SECO) et d’autres départements, la Mission permanente de la Suisse près l’OMC s’engage en faveur d’un Cycle de Doha qui ne se limite pas à favoriser l’accès aux marchés, mais améliore aussi les règles en vigueur, en crée de nouvelles là où le besoin s’en fait ressentir, et améliore la cohérence entre le système commercial multilatéral et les politiques menées dans d’autres domaines, tels que l’environnement, les finances ou le développement.

L’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC)

Principale organisation internationale à définir les règles de commerce et leur surveillance, l’OMC est la seule à régler les relations commerciales entre Etats au niveau mondial. L’organisation repose sur les accords de l’OMC négociés et ratifiés par ses membres. L’organisation a pour but de favoriser le développement économique de tous les pays membres au moyen de règles permettant un commerce des biens et des services au niveau mondial aussi libre que possible, sans entraves ni discrimination. Par ailleurs, elle cherche à assurer de manière appropriée la protection de la propriété intellectuelle. L’OMC a pour tâches principales de gérer les accords commerciaux existants, de surveiller leur application dans le droit international, d’encadrer la négociation de nouveaux accords, d’arbitrer les différends commerciaux et de proposer une aide technique et des mesures de formation aux pays en développement. L’OMC travaille étroitement avec d’autres organisations internationales en vue de rendre plus cohérente leur collaboration. Enfin, le secrétariat de l’OMC organise tous les deux ans une conférence ministérielle regroupant tous les Etats membres et constituant l’organe suprême de l’organisation.

L’AELE

L’Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE) est une organisation intergouvernementale visant à promouvoir une zone de libre-échange parmi ses membres. Depuis 1995, elle regroupe l’Islande, le Liechtenstein, la Norvège et la Suisse. L’organisation assume trois tâches principales: la surveillance de la Convention AELE et de l’EEE (dont la Norvège, l’Islande et le Liechtenstein font partie et qui intègre ces trois pays au marché intérieur de l’UE), la négociation et le suivi d’accords de libre-échange avec des Etats tiers. Avec ses quatre Etats membres, l’AELE a développé un réseau important d’accords de libre-échange. A ce jour, 25 des 28 accords de libre-échange entre la Suisse et des partenaires extérieurs à l’UE ont été négociés dans le cadre de l’AELE.

Dernière modification 29.02.2016

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Staendige_Mission_Schweiz_WTO_EFTA.html