World Trade

A commitment to open foreign markets

Open foreign markets are of crucial importance to the Swiss economy. In addition to the bilateral agreements with the European Union, Switzerland’s foreign economic policy also relies on additional pillars. One of the Foreign Economic Affairs Directorate’s core tasks in the field of world trade is to help shape the world economic framework and, together with the special services concerned, to represent Switzerland’s economic interests in important multilateral organisations, particularly the World Trade Organization (WTO), the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

World Trade Organization (WTO)

Switzerland’s high share of foreign trade indicates just how close Switzerland’s ties are with other countries. Reliable international rules for international trade are particularly important. Our active membership of the World Trade Organization (WTO), one of the most important platforms for trade and commerce, is therefore a key element of our foreign economic policy. We participate in the negotiations in the WTO rounds and in WTO bodies (the Ministerial Conference, councils, committees, working groups, etc.). Through our commitment to the dismantling of trade barriers, including the improvement of access to public procurement markets, we contribute to increasing market opportunities for the Swiss export industry and to the strengthening of the domestic market over the longer term. The WTO’s dispute settlement rules, which prevent unilateral rulings and retaliatory measures and which promote overall stability, legal certainty and legal equality among members as well as the monitoring of the trade policy measures in order to combat potential protectionist trends at an early stage, are also very much in Switzerland’s interests. In the framework of the WTO, we are working towards the shaping of a coherent balance between trade and other areas of policy, such as environmental protection and health, the safeguarding of basic labour standards and consumer protection.

Free trade agreements/European Free Trade Association (EFTA)

Even though EFTA currently consists only of three states (Liechtenstein, Iceland and Norway) in addition to Switzerland, it has demonstrated for decades that it is capable of establishing a functioning and dynamic free trade area among its members and with other partner states. Furthermore, EFTA membership provides Switzerland with a useful observer status in the bodies of the European Economic Area (EEA). EFTA is, however, of particular importance to Switzerland as a forum for the negotiation of free trade agreements with non-EU partners. The conclusion of free trade agreements, for the most part within EFTA but also on a bilateral basis, is essentially aimed at guaranteeing Swiss companies conditions for economic cooperation that has legal certainty and is as predictable, free of obstacles and non-discriminatory as possible. These conditions include, in particular, at least the same level of access to international markets as that of Switzerland’s key foreign competitors. At present – in addition to the EFTA convention and the free trade agreement with the EU – Switzerland has a network of 28 free trade agreements with 38 partners outside the European Union. Negotiations are being conducted or planned with numerous other partners. While traditional agreements are restricted mainly to the movement of goods, i.e. first and foremost, to the elimination of customs duties and to the protection of intellectual property rights and competition regulations, more recent agreements also contain substantial provisions relating to public procurement, services, investment and sustainability. These negotiations require collaboration between SECO’s various special foreign economic services with whom we are working to ensure that the interests of the Swiss economy are represented as best as possible.

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

The OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) currently comprises 34 member states. It offers the government representatives of these countries a permanent platform for multilateral economic cooperation covering all economic, social and environmental areas, with the exception of defence and cultural policy. The OECD prepares legally binding decisions, politically binding recommendations or country specific evaluations and analyses, for example on economic growth, unemployment, education, trade, development cooperation, SMEs, sustainability, green growth, biotechnology, healthcare, competition, investment, corruption, research and innovation, etc. We monitor the work of the OECD and coordinate the relevant federal offices and special services to represent Switzerland in the OECD’s varied work.

G20

The basis for a new, global economic governance was created with the establishment of the “Group of 20” (G20) at the Summit of Heads of State and Government in Washington in 2008. Following the initial urgent decisions which had to be taken during the economic and financial crisis, the G20 has since established a structured method of working. As such, Switzerland saw itself faced with a new starting basis but remained convinced at all times of the importance of convergence towards the G20. It consequently reorganised its approach in order to actively defend its commercial and financial interests and to make a contribution towards resolving international problems. With this in mind it passed a strategy that provides for Switzerland to take a proactive position with regard to the central points of the G20 agenda and a stronger position within the international organisations appointed by the G20. Together with the State Secretariat for International Financial Affairs, SIF, and representatives of other departments, the SECO chairs the interdepartmental working group on the implementation of this strategy.

Last modification 29.02.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Welthandel.html

Commerce mondial

Notre mission: oeuvrer à l’ouverture des marchés étrangers

Il est primordial pour l’économie suisse d’avoir des débouchés sur des marchés étrangers ouverts. Au-delà des accords bilatéraux avec l’Union européenne, la politique économique extérieure de la Suisse se fonde sur plusieurs piliers: l’une des tâches principales de la Direction des affaires économiques extérieures consiste, dans le domaine du commerce mondial, à participer à l’élaboration des conditions-cadre qui régissent l’économie mondiale et, en collaboration avec les services spécialisés, à représenter les intérêts économiques de la Suisse dans les grandes organisations multilatérales, telles que l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC), l’Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE), l’Organisation pour la coopération et le développement économiques (OCDE) et le G20.

Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC)

La forte extraversion commerciale de la Suisse montre à quel point les relations qu’entretient notre économie avec l’étranger sont étroites. Il est donc primordial de disposer de règles du jeu fiables pour les échanges internationaux de marchandises. C’est la raison pour laquelle une participation active à l’OMC, l’une des plates-formes les plus importantes dans ce domaine, fait partie intégrante de notre politique économique extérieure. Nous participons aux cycles de négociations de l’OMC ainsi qu’aux activités de ses organes (Conférence ministérielle, conseils, comités, groupes de travail, etc.). En nous engageant pour la suppression des entraves commerciales, y compris en facilitant l’accès aux marchés publics, nous contribuons à élargir les débouchés pour l’industrie d’exportation suisse et, à plus long terme, à renforcer l’économie domestique. Les règles prévues par l’OMC pour le règlement des différends sont également tout à l’avantage de la Suisse, puisqu’elles empêchent les décisions et les mesures de rétorsion unilatérales et promeuvent, plus généralement, la stabilité, la sécurité juridique et l’égalité entre les membres, ainsi que le monitoring des mesures de politique commerciale, afin de contrecarrer dès que possible les tendances protectionnistes. Dans le cadre de l’OMC, nous cherchons par ailleurs à mieux concilier les échanges commerciaux et d’autres politiques sectorielles, dans le domaine de l’environnement, de la santé, du respect des normes internationales du travail et de la protection des consommateurs.

Accords de libre-échange/Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE)

Bien que, de nos jours, l’AELE ne compte plus que trois autres Etats en sus de la Suisse (Liechtenstein, Islande, Norvège), elle s’est imposée, depuis des décennies, comme une zone de libre-échange qui a fait ses preuves et se développe de manière dynamique pour ses membres et d’autres Etats partenaires. En tant que membre de l’AELE, la Suisse bénéficie en outre du statut d’observateur dans les instances de l’Espace économique européen (EEE). C’est en tant que plate-forme de négociation des accords de libre-échange avec les partenaires hors UE que l’AELE prend toute son importance pour la Suisse. La conclusion d’accords de libre-échange, dans le cadre de l’AELE, principalement, mais aussi au niveau bilatéral, a pour principal objectif de garantir aux entreprises suisses un cadre juridique prévisible et aussi libre d’entraves et de discrimination que possible afin de favoriser les échanges économiques. Par cadre propice, on entend notamment un accès au moins aussi favorable que celui qu’ont nos concurrents aux marchés internationaux. La Suisse dispose actuellement, outre la Convention AELE et l’accord de libre-échange avec l’UE, d’un réseau de 28 accords de libre-échange conclus avec 38 partenaires en dehors de l’UE. Des négociations sont en cours, ou en cours de préparation, avec de nombreux autres partenaires. Tandis que les accords traditionnels portent principalement sur les échanges de marchandises, soit, en premier lieu, sur l’abaissement des droits de douane et sont limités à la protection des droits de la propriété intellectuelle et des règles de la concurrence, les accords plus récents englobent également d’importantes dispositions sur les marchés publics, les services, les investissements et la durabilité. Ces négociations requièrent la coopération des divers services spécialisés du SECO dans les affaires économiques extérieures avec les autres services fédéraux, avec lesquels nous nous engageons pour défendre au mieux les intérêts des milieux économiques suisses.

Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE)

L’OCDE compte aujourd’hui 34 Etats membres. Elle constitue, pour les représentants des gouvernements de ces pays, une plate-forme permanente de collaboration multilatérale couvrant tous les domaines économiques, sociaux et environnementaux, exception faite des volets touchant à la défense et à la politique culturelle. Les travaux menés au sein de l’OCDE permettent de prendre des décisions qui engagent juridiquement les Etats et d’émettre des recommandations politiquement contraignantes ou des évaluations et des analyses spécifiques à un pays sur des domaines aussi variés que la croissance économique, le chômage, la formation, le commerce, la coopération au développement, les PME, la durabilité et la croissance verte, la biotechnologie, la santé publique, la concurrence, les investissements, la corruption, la recherche et l’innovation, etc. Nous suivons les travaux de l’OCDE et assurons la coordination entre les offices et les services spécialisés chargés de la représentation de la Suisse dans le cadre des activités de l’OCDE.

G20

La création du Groupe des 20 (G20) lors de la rencontre au sommet des chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement à Washington en 2008 est à la base d’une nouvelle gouvernance économique mondiale. Après les premières décisions urgentes qu’il fallait prendre dans le cadre de la crise économique et financière, le G20 a adopté un mode de travail bien structuré. Si cela entraînait une nouvelle situation pour la Suisse, celle-ci a toujours été convaincue de l’importance d’un rapprochement avec le G20. Elle s’est par conséquent réorganisée afin de défendre activement ses intérêts économiques et financiers et de contribuer à apporter des solutions aux problèmes internationaux. C’est en ce sens qu’elle a adopté une stratégie prévoyant un positionnement proactif de la Suisse sur les dossiers phare à l’agenda du G20 et un renforcement de notre position au sein des organisations internationales mandatées par le G20. Le SECO, le Secrétariat d’Etat aux questions financières internationales (SFI) et des représentants d’autres départements président le groupe de travail interdépartemental chargé de la mise en oeuvre de cette stratégie.

Dernière modification 29.02.2016

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Welthandel.html