Economic Cooperation and Development

Improving living conditions, creating market access and opening up new horizons

Our division draws up the concept for the economic cooperation with selected, more advanced developing countries such as Indonesia and Peru, transition countries in Eastern Europe and Central Asia and the new EU member states (enlargement contribution). The main objective in this context is to promote economic, environmental and socially sustainable growth which creates new jobs, facilitates increased productivity and helps to reduce poverty and disparities. This is done by integrating these countries into the global economy and strengthening the competitiveness of their domestic economies. This work focuses on support measures for those countries who have committed themselves to a serious process of reforms geared towards performance. In this context, good government and equality between the sexes are seen as cross-sectoral themes. We work closely together with the World Bank group, the regional development banks and the trade organisations of the United Nations and represent the interests of Switzerland in these institutions.

Our division is organised along specialist lines and our work is focused on the five topic areas set out below for which the SECO is for the most part also responsible on the national level.

Strengthening economic and financial policy

Stable economic framework conditions and functioning institutions are essential for sustainable economic development. Our support is aimed at creating a stable monetary policy, a balanced financial budget and a strong financial sector. We provide help to our partner countries to create economic reforms which are favourable to generating growth, that contribute to greater budgetary stability, mobilise internal resources, create more efficient public services and improve governmental accountability. In the financial sector we provide support for the regulation and supervision of the financial markets, promote a healthy financial policy environment and the development of local capital markets.

Developing urban infrastructures and utility supplies

We provide support to ensure reliable and affordable energy and water supplies, to prove transport and traffic and to ensure the disposal of waste water and waste, all of which are essential for sustainable development. The aim is to establish basic public institutions and to make the operational and financial capacities of utility companies more professional. Another task is to promote the framework conditions to ensure that operating costs are placed on a sound financial basis. In this context particular attention must be placed on integrated urban development in order to increase the attraction of medium-sized city centres as a place to live and work and so that they can better fulfil their central role in generating economic growth. This will also promote social harmony and reduce the pressure on migration.

Support for the private sector and enterprise

A dynamic private sector built on a strong spirit of enterprise creates jobs, helps to increase tax revenues and, through the exchange of goods and services, plays a key role in economic integration. We are helping to improve the business environment for SMEs and to enable them to access outside financing. We contribute towards improving the efficiency of local financial markets and establishing a sustainable spirit of enterprise. Last but not least, we promote a range of measures which are aimed at prompting both domestic and foreign investment and in this way we are making a contribution towards the transfer of capital, know-how and technology to both developing countries and countries in transition.

Promoting sustainable trade

Opening up trade in a way which is geared towards rules and is non-discriminatory, creates new opportunities for all the market participants. The task is to utilise the existing locational advantages for economic development. We support measures that set out and improve the framework conditions for trade which is both socially and environmentally acceptable and which strengthen the international competitiveness of manufacturers and SMEs in the partner countries. We also smooth the way for the import of sustainably-manufactured goods and services into European markets in particular by promoting the application of quality standards as well as environmental and social criteria in the developing countries and those in transition. Last but not least, we are responsible for the system of preferential customs tariffs for imports from developing countries.

Paving the way for climate-friendly growth

The successes achieved over recent decades in combating poverty are being jeopardised by the consequences of climate change. We are helping to combat the causes of climate warming – often the result of inefficient industrial processes – and to enable the partner countries to achieve climate-friendly growth. We are concentrating on the areas of energy efficiency and renewable energies, the sustainable use of natural resources and on strengthening market and financing mechanisms in terms of climate protection. This work focuses on favourable and stable framework conditions, such as appropriate energy tariffs and standards, investment certainty, market access and protection for intellectual property.

Developing multilateral cooperation

We are responsible for the relationships between Switzerland and the World Bank group, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development as well as with the regional development banks for Africa, Asia and Latin America. In conjunction with the Development and Cooperation Directorate DEZA, we also define Switzerland’s approach and strategy on the decision-making committees of these institutions and as co-stakeholder we exercise the rights and obligations. These institutions provide financial resources and technical support as a way of contributing towards sustainable development and for reducing poverty in the developing countries and countries in transition. They are strategic partners in the implementation of the SECO’s bilateral support measures. The OECD, in particular the Development Aid Committee of the OECD (DAC) is another key partner.

Promoting programme and project quality

We develop quality standards and instruments for control, evaluation, risk management and financial controls and for implementing the corresponding measures. The aim is to guarantee the effectiveness of our measures and to minimise the risks involved. With the help of knowledge management, training, taking account of internationally recognised basic principles and proven methods, we promote an ongoing learning process on various levels (effectiveness, harmonisation of the assistance, fighting corruption, reducing poverty, political coherence, migration, the gender dimension). Other key instruments of accountability include the activity with regard to information and the organisation of events.

Last modification 04.02.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit_Entwicklung.html

Coopération et développement économiques

Améliorer les conditions de vie, ouvrir des marchés, générer du revenu et offrir des perspectives

Notre centre de prestations est chargé de concevoir et de mettre en oeuvre la coopération économique avec certains pays en développement avancés, tels que l’Indonésie et le Pérou, avec des pays en transition d’Europe de l’Est et d’Asie centrale, ainsi qu’avec les nouveaux Etats membres de l’UE (contribution à l’élargissement). Son but principal est de promouvoir une croissance économique, écologique et social durable, qui soutienne la création d’emplois, favorise une meilleure productivité et contribue à réduire la pauvreté et les inégalités. Pour ce faire, il mise sur l’intégration de ces pays dans l’économie mondiale et l’amélioration de la compétitivité de leurs économies domestiques. Son action se concentre sur des mesures de soutien accordées à des pays qui se sont engagés dans un processus de réforme sérieux et prometteur. Elle tient compte des thèmes transversaux que sont la bonne gouvernance et l’égalité de traitement des hommes et des femmes. Nous travaillons en lien étroit avec le groupe de la Banque mondiale, les banques régionales de développement et les organisations de l’ONU traitant du commerce et représentons les intérêts de la Suisse au sein de ces institutions.

Structurés par domaine de spécialisation, nous travaillons sur les cinq grands thèmes ci-après, pour lesquels le SECO assume généralement la compétence au niveau national.

Renforcement de la politique économique et financière

La stabilité de l’environnement macroéconomique et le bon fonctionnement des institutions sont deux facteurs nécessaires au développement économique durable. Notre soutien vise la stabilité de la politique monétaire, l’équilibre du budget et la robustesse du secteur financier. Nous aidons nos pays partenaires à élaborer des réformes économiques favorables à la croissance, qui contribuent à la stabilité budgétaire, mobilisent les ressources internes, rendent les services publics plus efficients et renforcent l’obligation des gouvernements à rendre des comptes. Dans le secteur financier, nous soutenons la réglementation et la surveillance des marchés financiers, promouvons un environnement monétaire sain et le développement de marchés des capitaux locaux.

Développement des infrastructures et de l’approvisionnement urbains

Nous soutenons la mise en place d’un approvisionnement en eau et en électricité fiable et abordable, l’amélioration des transports et l’élimination des déchets et des eaux usées, essentielle au développement durable. Il s’agit de mettre en place des infrastructures publiques de base, de professionnaliser les capacités des entreprises d’approvisionnement en termes de gestion et de finances et de promouvoir les conditions propres à asseoir le financement de leurs coûts d’exploitation. Le développement urbain intégré joue un rôle important dans l’attrait des centres urbains de taille moyenne, qui leur permet de mieux assumer leur rôle central dans la croissance économique. Cette approche permet aussi de promouvoir la paix sociale et de réduire la pression migratoire.

Soutien au secteur privé et aux PME

Un secteur privé dynamique, porté par des entreprises vigoureuses, est pourvoyeur d’emplois et de recettes fiscales. Par les échanges de biens et de services, il joue un rôle clé dans l’intégration économique. Nous soutenons l’amélioration du contexte commercial pour les PME et leur facilitons l’accès au financement externe. Nous contribuons à améliorer l’efficacité du secteur financier et à créer un entrepreneuriat durable. Enfin, nous encourageons des mesures visant à générer des investissements domestiques et étrangers, afin de contribuer au transfert de capital, de savoir-faire et de technologies dans les pays en développement ou en transition.

Promotion du commerce durable

La libéralisation des échanges selon des règles et exempte de discriminations crée de nouvelles opportunités pour tous les acteurs du marché. Il faut exploiter les avantages comparatifs existants au profit de la croissance économique. Nous soutenons des mesures qui instaurent ou améliorent un cadre propice à des échanges respectueux des impératifs sociaux et de l’environnement et renforcent la compétitivité des producteurs et des PME des pays partenaires sur le plan international. Nous facilitons aussi l’importation sur les marchés européens de biens et services produits durablement, en particulier en promouvant l’application de standards de qualité et de critères environnementaux et sociaux dans les pays en développement ou en transition. Enfin, nous sommes responsables du système des préférences tarifaires pour les importations provenant de pays en développement.

Encouragement d’une croissance respectueuse du climat

Les effets du changement climatique mettent en péril les progrès réalisés ces dernières décennies dans la lutte contre la pauvreté. Nous participons à la lutte contre les causes du réchauffement climatique, souvent dû à des processus économiques inefficaces, et déployons des efforts afin de permettre une croissance respectueuse du climat dans les pays partenaires. Nous nous concentrons sur l’efficience énergétique et les énergies renouvelables, l’exploitation durable des ressources naturelles et le renforcement des mécanismes de marché et de financement dans la protection climatique. Des conditions-cadre favorables et stables, des tarifs et des normes énergétiques adaptées, la sécurité des investissements, l’accès au marché et la protection de la propriété intellectuelle sont au coeur de nos préoccupations.

Développement de la coopération multilatérale

Nous gérons les relations de la Suisse avec le groupe de la Banque mondiale, la Banque européenne pour la reconstruction et le développement et les banques régionales de développement africaine, asiatique et d’Amérique latine. Nous collaborons par ailleurs avec la DDC pour définir la position et la stratégie de la Suisse dans les comités décisionnaires de ces organisations, et pour superviser les droits et les obligations de la Suisse découlant de son statut de copropriétaire. Ces institutions fournissent des moyens financiers et un soutien technique pour le développement durable et la lutte contre la pauvreté dans les pays en développement ou en transition. Ce sont des partenaires stratégiques pour la mise en oeuvre des mesures de soutien bilatéral du SECO. L’OCDE est un autre de nos grands partenaires, en particulier son Comité d’aide au développement (CAD).

Amélioration des programmes et des projets

Nous développons des normes de qualité et des instruments pour la gestion, l’évaluation, la gestion des risques et le contrôle des finances et mettons en oeuvre les mesures nécessaires, afin d’assurer l’efficacité de nos mesures et de réduire les risques. La gestion des connaissances, la formation, la prise en considération des principes reconnus et des méthodes efficaces sur le plan international sont autant d’instruments qui nous permettent de promouvoir un apprentissage continu à plusieurs niveaux (efficacité, harmonisation de l’aide, lutte contre la corruption, réduction de la pauvreté, cohérence des politiques, migration, égalité entre femmes et hommes).

Dernière modification 04.02.2016

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Aussenwirtschaft/Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit_Entwicklung.html