Promotion Activities Directorate

standortfoerderung

Towards sustainable economic growth

The Swiss economy competes in a global market. Global economic structural change also requires our companies to adapt to constantly evolving challenges. The Promotion Activities Directorate provides Switzerland as a business location with targeted help in this adjustment process, thereby contributing towards a sustainable increase in the value added of the Swiss economy. The directorate’s priorities focus on the promotion in other countries of Switzerland as a location for business, on export promotion and export risk insurance, regional and spatial planning policy, the improvement of general conditions for SMEs and on tourism.

The founding or resettlement of leading technology companies broadens the spectrum of our economy. Stakeholders who are at a disadvantage in the adjustment process due to their size or structure benefit from the Promotion Activities Directorate’s SME policy, particularly in the shape of information flows or the creation of platforms intended to encourage cooperation. The regions receive support for their own, long-term independent economic development beyond cantonal and national borders. We strive to ensure that our economic policy measures include adequate incentive mechanisms.

SME Policy

Over 99 per cent of private sector companies in Switzerland are SMEs. In all they employ two thirds of the working population. Compared with large firms, SMEs are more heavily affected by administrative burdens and financing issues. We act as an intermediary between businesses and the federal administration, concentrating on two main tasks: Firstly, on reducing administrative hurdles for the companies, for example in the form of the SME compatibility test which is applied to test the compatibility of new laws with the needs of SMEs, or through practical and comprehensive information for existing SMEs and start-ups – for example via a specially created Internet portal for SMEs (www.kmu.admin.ch). The second area of emphasis is on corporate financing, e.g. by supporting the system of business-orientated loans for SMEs.

Export and Investment Promotion

We ensure a diverse range of services for export-orientated Swiss companies. Switzerland Global Enterprise (S-GE) carries out operational export promotion on behalf of the federal government. S-GE provides detailed information on foreign markets, helps the SME to find business opportunities abroad and lends support e.g. for attendance at key trade fairs. The Swiss Export Risk Insurance (SERV) provides Swiss companies with insurance against economic and political risks for their export business.

In terms of promoting the location, potential investors are given information and advice on all the important facts about Switzerland as a location for business and research. The federal government’s location promotion activities are conducted by S-GE and coordinated with those of the cantons.

Regional and Spatial Planning Policy

With the help of regional policy instruments we support the efforts of rural areas as well as mountain and border regions to introduce structural change and improve their competitiveness. We aim to improve the quality of the regions as a location for business through direct promotion in the form of contributions and loans for infrastructure investments, in particular incentives for cross-border collaboration in functional economic areas. By coordinating our activities with other, similarly-orientated federal tasks, we also strive to create synergies for projects in the assisted regions.

Tourism

As the federal government’s centre of excellence for tourism we strive to ensure advantageous conditions for companies in the tourism sector. Within the framework of the Federal Act on Innovation Promotion, Cooperation and Knowledge Building in Tourism, Innotour (www.inno-tour.ch) and the Federal Act on the Promotion of the Hospitality Industry, we support the innovation and investment activities as well as cooperation and knowledge building in Swiss tourism. We also provide support for marketing Switzerland as a travel destination and represent our country in international tourism organisations.

Last modification 20.01.2017

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Standortfoerderung.html

Direction de la promotion économique

standortfoerderung

Pour une croissance économique durable

L’économie suisse doit faire face à une concurrence mondiale. L’évolution structurelle de l’économie mondiale oblige nos entreprises à s’adapter sans cesse pour relever les défis qui se présentent à elles. La Direction de la promotion économique apporte un soutien ciblé aux processus d’adaptation de la place économique suisse et contribue de ce fait à accroître durablement la création de valeur de l’économie suisse. Nos principaux champs d’action sont la promotion de la place économique suisse à l’étranger, la promotion des exportations et l’assurance contre les risques à l’exportation, la politique régionale et l’organisation du territoire, l’amélioration des conditions-cadre pour les PME, ainsi que le tourisme.

La création ou l’implantation d’entreprises de haute technologie élargit l’éventail des branches de notre économie. Les agents économiques qui sont désavantagés, dans le processus d’adaptation, du fait d’inconvénients liés à leur taille et à leur structure bénéficient de la politique menée par la Direction de la promotion économique en faveur des PME, notamment par la mise à disposition d’informations ou par la création de plates-formes destinées à encourager la coopération. L’aide apportée aux régions vise à permettre, à terme, un développement économique autonome, pardelà les frontières cantonales et nationales. Nous veillons toujours à ce que nos mesures de politique économique intègrent des mécanismes d’incitation appropriés.

Politique en faveur des PME

Plus de 99% des entreprises marchandes de Suisse sont des PME, lesquelles emploient au total deux tiers de la population active occupée. Par rapport aux grandes entreprises, les PME sont davantage touchées par les charges administratives et les problèmes de financement. Dans notre rôle d’intermédiaire entre l’administration fédérale et les entreprises, nous mettons l’accent sur deux tâches principales. En premier lieu, nous nous efforçons de réduire la charge administrative des PME, par exemple par le biais du test de compatibilité PME, qui vise à analyser les projets de loi sous l’angle de leur compatibilité avec ce type d’entreprises, ou en fournissant aux PME existantes et aux personnes désirant créer une entreprise des informations pertinentes et complètes, notamment par le biais du portail PME (www.pme.admin.ch), que nous avons développé tout spécialement. Notre deuxième grande tâche est celle du financement des entreprises, par exemple en soutenant le cautionnement des arts et métiers pour les PME.

Promotion des exportations/Place économique

Nous fournissons aux entreprises exportatrices suisses un large éventail de services. La promotion opérationnelle des exportations est assurée par Switzerland Global Enterprise (S-GE), sur mandat de la Confédération. S-GE fournit des informations détaillées sur les marchés étrangers, aide les PME à exploiter les débouchés commerciaux à l’étranger et soutient par exemple les participations à des foires importantes. L’Assurance suisse contre les risques à l’exportation (ASRE) couvre les risques économiques et politiques dans le cadre d’opérations d’exportation réalisées par des entreprises suisses.

S’agissant de la promotion de la place économique, nous donnons aux investisseurs intéressés toutes les informations pratiques importantes sur l’économie et la recherche en Suisse et les conseillons, le cas échéant. La promotion économique de la Confédération, qui est assurée par S-GE, est coordonnée avec celle des cantons.

Politique régionale et organisation du territoire

A l’aide des instruments de la politique régionale, nous nous efforçons de faciliter les changements structurels et d’accroître la compétitivité du milieu rural en général, des régions de montagnes et des régions frontalières. Nous visons à renforcer l’attrait économique des régions, notamment grâce à la promotion directe sous forme de prêts et de contributions à des projets d’infrastructure. Nous nous efforçons en particulier de favoriser la coopération intercantonale et transfrontalière au sein d’espaces économiques fonctionnels. En coordonnant nos activités avec des tâches de la Confédération visant des objectifs similaires, nous nous efforçons de créer des synergies bénéficiant aux projets réalisés dans les zones éligibles.

Tourisme

Nous sommes le centre de compétence de la Confédération pour les questions liées au tourisme et veillons à créer des conditions favorables aux entreprises touristiques. Par ailleurs, sur la base de la loi fédérale encourageant l’innovation, la coopération et la professionnalisation dans le domaine du tourisme (loi Innotour, www.inno-tour.ch) et de la loi fédérale sur l’encouragement du secteur de l’hébergement, nous favorisons les activités liées à l’innovation et à l’investissement ainsi que la collaboration et la professionnalisation dans le domaine du tourisme. Nous contribuons également au marketing de la Suisse en tant que destination touristique et représentons notre pays au sein des organisations internationales du secteur du tourisme.

Dernière modification 20.01.2017

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/Direktion_Standortfoerderung.html