International Labour Affairs

Social stability, social dialogue and improved sharing of the opportunities offered by globalisation

Open markets and societies are essential for ensuring prosperity and democracy. Globalisation brings change, creating situations where not all are able to benefit from greater prosperity. That is why social protection is needed to allow all sections of society to make the most of the opportunities offered by globalisation. Supporting the social dimension of globalisation at international level is the task of the International Labour Affairs Unit.

We represent Switzerland in the International Labour Organization (ILO), the only tripartite institution of the United Nations. The ILO is therefore entrusted with the task of promoting social justice and preserving human rights in the world of work. Its primary tasks are to promote labour rights, support the creation of dignity in work, further develop social protection and to encourage social dialogue in the search for solutions to deal with the problems of the world of work. We draw up the reports relating to the legal and practical implementation of the ILO treaties which have been ratified by Switzerland and organise the work of the tripartite federal commission on ILO affairs.

In terms of a coherent foreign policy, we promote compliance with the fundamental labour standards – on the one side within other international organisations (e.g. the UN, Bretton-Woods institutions, the WTO) and on the other side through the introduction of the new model provisions on “trade and sustainable development” formulated by the EFTA within the framework of bilateral and regional trade agreements. Through economic development cooperation programmes we have a global commitment to dignity in work. The aim of these programmes is to make a contribution towards respecting employee rights, promoting sustainable enterprises, growth in employment and reducing poverty by gradually developing a base for social protection.

We monitor the compliance with the criteria for socially acceptable manufacturing conditions; for example, under the corresponding act, fuels from renewable resources in particular are exempt from the duty on mineral oil. Last but not least, we are responsible for reporting on the implementation of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (UN Covenant I).

Last modification 04.02.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/direktion-fuer-arbeit/Internationale_Arbeitsfragen.html

Affaires internationales du travail

Stabilité sociale, dialogue social et meilleure répartition des chances dans la mondialisation

L’ouverture des marchés et des sociétés représente l’une des conditions nécessaires à la garantie de la prospérité et de la démocratie. Certains changements dus à la mondialisation ont pour conséquence que tous ne profitent pas de la prospérité croissante. C’est la raison pour laquelle une protection sociale est nécessaire en vue de permettre à toutes les couches de la société de profiter au mieux des avantages de la mondialisation. Promouvoir cette dimension sociale sur le plan international est du ressort de l’état-major Affaires internationales du travail.

Nous représentons la Suisse auprès de l’Organisation internationale du travail (OIT), la seule institution tripartite des Nations Unies. L’OIT est chargée de promouvoir la justice sociale et de veiller au respect des droits de l’homme dans le monde du travail. Ses tâches principales résident dans la promotion des droits des travailleurs, l’appui à la création de places de travail respectant la dignité humaine, le développement de la protection sociale et l’incitation au dialogue social dans la recherche de solutions aux problèmes du monde du travail.

Dans un esprit de cohérence en matière de politique extérieure, nous encourageons le respect des normes fondamentales dans le domaine du travail auprès d’autres organisations internationales (p. ex. ONU, institutions Bretton-Woods, OMC). Nous nous engageons par ailleurs dans le monde entier en faveur du travail respectant la dignité humaine par l’introduction des nouvelles dispositions sur le «Commerce et le développement durable» dans le cadre des accords commerciaux bilatéraux et régionaux sur les programmes de coopération au développement économique. Ces programmes doivent contribuer au respect des droits des travailleurs, à la promotion d’entreprises durables, à la croissance de l’emploi et à la réduction de la pauvreté par la mise en place progressive d’un socle de protection sociale.

Nous contrôlons le respect des critères d’acceptabilité des conditions de production sur le plan social; ainsi, les carburants issus de matières premières renouvelables sont exonérés de l’impôt sur les huiles minérales conformément à la loi.

Enfin, nous sommes chargés de la rédaction et de la publication d’un rapport concernant la mise en oeuvre du pacte international relatif aux droits économiques, sociaux et culturels (Pacte I de l’ONU).

Dernière modification 04.02.2016

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/direktion-fuer-arbeit/Internationale_Arbeitsfragen.html