Free Movement of Persons and Labour Relations

Nationals from EU and EFTA states benefit from the free movement of persons. Employees from these countries thereby enjoy the same rights and benefits as Swiss nationals on the Swiss labour market.

The Free Movement of Persons and Labour Relations Division (PA) makes an important contribution to the implementation of the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons by supervising the accompanying measures against wage and social dumping and by monitoring the labour market. In this regard, the accompanying measures, the Declaration of General Applicability of Collective Agreements, the supervision of private employment agencies and the fight against illegal employment are particularly important.

Accompanying measures against wage and social dumping

The accompanying measures serve to protect employees against wage and social dumping, which could occur with the free movement of persons. As a specialised unit of the federal government we monitor the implementation of the instruments of the accompanying measures by the cantons and the social partners. The accompanying measures are used to check whether domestic and foreign employers are adhering to the standard wages and working conditions applicable for the corresponding area and sector, as well as to the minimum wage and working conditions stipulated in collective agreements for which a Declaration of General Applicability has been issued. The accompanying measures essentially comprise the following:

  • The federal act on employees posted to Switzerland (Posted Workers Act) imposes an obligation on foreign employers who send employees to work in Switzerland to comply with the minimum wage and working conditions applicable in Switzerland.
  • The simplified General Applicability of Collective Agreements and Standard Employment Agreements can be used to introduce binding minimum wages in the event of abusive undercutting of standard wage and working conditions applicable for the area and the sector.

The accompanying measures came into force on 1 January 2004. To date the accompanying measures have been reinforced twice in line with the expansion of the EU through the addition of new Member States.

We provide the general public with all the relevant information on the accompanying measures, thereby ensuring the necessary transparency. For example, the Internet platform www.entsendung.admin.ch contains all the necessary information on Swiss wage and working conditions. This is to the benefit of both the employees as well as employers in Switzerland and abroad. We also ensure that these are implemented on an equal basis in the cantons. In this context significant importance is attached to the further training that we offer the cantonal implementation agencies.

Illegal employment

As a technical agency we inform the general public about and raise its awareness of the negative consequences of illegal employment and monitor the implementation of the Federal Act on Measures to Combat Illegal Employment which came into force on 1 January 2008.

The aim of the new act is to combat illegal employment in an efficient and pragmatic way. Simplified administrative procedures for paying social insurance and taxes are intended to offer employers an incentive to declare their employees’ wages even for smaller activities, such as household tasks.

In addition, cantonal control authorities were established with the act, these authorities employing inspectors. The act also provides for the exchange of data between the participating authorities.

We are creating the basis for proper cooperation among the authorities, thereby providing the guarantee for a coordinated approach to conducting systematic and efficient checks.

Declaration of General Applicability of Collective Wage Agreements

Our division is also responsible for the implementation of the procedure relating to the Declaration of General Applicability of Collective Wage Agreements. We check whether the statutory requirements for the declaration of general applicability have been met and maintain close contact with the social partners who are responsible for concluding the general wage agreements. With the Declaration of General Applicability, the provisions of a general works agreement apply to all companies within a sector. Some provisions (e.g. relating to minimum wages and working hours) also apply to companies who have registered offices abroad and who send employees to work in Switzerland. The collective agreements for which a Declaration of General Applicability has been issued are therefore of significant importance for the accompanying measures.

Federal Mediation Board for resolving collective labour disputes

We also manage the Secretariat of the Federal Mediation Board for the Resolution of Collective Labour Disputes. The Federal Mediation Board is a government mediation body which is consulted only at the express wish of the parties involved and only if all attempts to reach agreement between the parties (employer or employer organisations and trade unions) through direct negotiation have been unsuccessful.

Private employment agencies and recruitment services

As a specialist unit of the federal government we are responsible for monitoring private employment agencies and recruitment services within the framework of the Recruitment and Hiring of Services Act. We grant federal placement and hiring permits to companies that provide cross-border services. We also manage the directory of authorised employment agencies and recruitment services. We work in close cooperation with the cantonal offices to enforce this Act.

We work to ensure the uniform enforcement of the Recruitment and Hiring of Services Act and to protect the employees who use the services of private employment agencies or recruitment services.

Economic and international matters

We are the centre of excellence for immigration in the SECO. We deal with matters relating to immigration and emigration – in particular in connection with the treaty on the free movement of persons between Switzerland and the EU. We also deal with matters relating to the Aliens Act (citizens of third party states) as well as the policy on asylum. We are also responsible for the immigration network within the SECO.

Last modification 04.02.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/direktion-fuer-arbeit/Personenfreizuegigkeit_Arbeitsbeziehungen.html

Libre circulation des personnes et Relations du travail

Les ressortissants de pays de l’UE et d’Etats de l’AELE bénéficient de la libre circulation des personnes. Les travailleurs en provenance de ces pays ont les mêmes droits que les Suisses sur le marché du travail suisse.

En assurant la surveillance de l’exécution des mesures d’accompagnement contre la sous-enchère abusive par rapport aux conditions de salaire et de travail ainsi que l’observation du marché du travail, le centre de prestations Libre circulation des personnes et Relations de travail fournit une contribution importante à la mise en oeuvre de l’accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP). Les mesures d’accompagnement, l’extension du champ d’application de conventions collectives de travail, la surveillance des entreprises de placement privées et la lutte contre le travail au noir ont une importance particulière dans ce contexte.

Mesures d’accompagnement contre la sous-enchère abusive par rapport aux conditions de salaire et de travail

Les mesures d’accompagnement servent à protéger les personnes qui travaillent contre la sous-enchère abusive par rapport aux conditions de salaire et de travail qui pourrait accompagner la libre circulation des personnes. En tant qu’organe spécialisé de la Confédération, nous surveillons la mise en oeuvre, par les cantons et les partenaires sociaux, des instruments prévus par les mesures d’accompagnement. Lesdites mesures permettent de contrôler si les employeurs indigènes et étrangers respectent les conditions usuelles de travail et de salaire dans la branche et dans la localité ainsi que les conditions minimales de salaire et de travail prescrites par les conventions collectives de travail dont le champ d’application a été étendu. Le train de mesures englobe pour l’essentiel les éléments suivants:

  • La loi f édérale sur les conditions de travail et de salaire applicables aux travailleurs détachés en Suisse et sur les mesures d’accompagnement (loi sur les travailleurs détachés) impose aux employeurs étrangers qui envoient des travailleurs en Suisse de respecter les conditions minimales suisses de salaire et de travail.
  • L’extension facilitée du champ d’application de conventions collectives de travail et l’édiction de contrats-types de travail permettent d’introduire des salaires minimaux obligatoires en cas de sous-enchère abusive par rapport aux conditions usuelles de salaire et de travail dans la branche et dans la localité.

Les mesures d’accompagnement sont entrées en vigueur le 1er juin 2004. Elles ont été renforcées à deux reprises jusqu’ici dans le contexte de l’extension de l’UE à de nouveaux Etats-membres.

Nous mettons toutes les informations nécessaires sur les mesures d’accompagnement à la disposition du public, dans un esprit de transparence. Ainsi, la plateforme internet www.detachement.admin.ch contient toutes les informations nécessaires sur les conditions suisses de salaire et de travail. Les travailleurs et les employeurs en bénéficient, en Suisse comme à l’étranger. Nous garantissons par ailleurs une exécution uniforme du droit dans les cantons, notamment en dispensant une formation continue aux membres des organes cantonaux d’exécution.

Travail au noir

En tant qu’organe spécialisé de la Confédération, nous sensibilisons le public à la question du travail au noir et l’informons de ses conséquences néfastes. Nous surveillons l’exécution de la loi fédérale concernant des mesures en matière de lutte contre le travail au noir, qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2008.

L’objectif de cette nouvelle loi est d’endiguer le travail au noir, avec pragmatisme et efficacité. Des simplifications administratives dans la déclaration aux assurances sociales visent à inciter les employeurs à déclarer les salaires de leurs employés, même pour des activités de faible ampleur, par exemple dans les ménages. La loi prévoit en outre la création d’organes de contrôle cantonaux employant des inspecteurs. Nous préparons les bases nécessaires pour permettre une véritable collaboration entre les autorités, la coordination des démarches entre elles étant la garantie de l’efficacité et du caractère systématique des contrôles.

Extension du champ d’application de conventions collectives de travail

Notre domaine est compétent pour l’exécution des procédures d’extension du champ d’application de conventions collectives de travail. Nous examinons si les conditions légales d’une extension sont remplies et sommes en contact étroit avec les partenaires sociaux, qui sont compétents pour la conclusion de conventions collectives de travail. L’extension du champ d’application d’une convention collective de travail rend les dispositions de cette convention applicables à toutes les entreprises d’une branche. Certaines dispositions (p. ex. sur les salaires minimaux et la durée du travail) sont applicables aux entreprises ayant leur siège à l’étranger qui envoient des travailleurs en Suisse, ce qui, dans le cadre des mesures d’accompagnement, confère une grande importance aux conventions collectives de travail étendues.

Office fédéral de conciliation en matière de conflits collectifs du travail

Nous assurons le secrétariat de l’Office fédéral de conciliation en matière de conflits collectifs du travail. Cet office est un organe de conciliation étatique qui n’intervient qu’à la demande expresse des parties concernées et seulement si toutes les tentatives d’arrangement des parties (employeurs ou associations d’employeurs et syndicats) par des négociations directes ont échoué.

Agences de placement privées et entreprises de location de services

Dans le cadre de la loi sur le service de l’emploi et en notre qualité de centre de compétence de la Confédération en la matière, nous sommes chargés de la surveillance des activités des entreprises de placement privées et de celles des sociétés de location de services. Nous délivrons aux entreprises transfrontalières les autorisations fédérales de pratiquer le placement ou la location de services. Nous gérons également le registre dans lequel sont répertoriées les entreprises autorisées à pratiquer le placement ou la location de services. L’exécution de la loi se fait en étroite collaboration avec les autorités cantonales.

Nos activités nous permettent d’assurer une mise en pratique uniforme de la loi sur le service de l’emploi et de garantir la protection des travailleurs auxquels recourent les entreprises de placement et les sociétés de location de services.

Questions économiques et internationales

Nous sommes le centre de compétences du SECO pour la migration. Nous traitons des questions liées à l’immigration et à l’émigration, en particulier concernant l’accord sur la libre circulation des personnes entre la Suisse et l’UE. A cela s’ajoutent les questions liées à la loi sur les étrangers (concernant les Etats tiers) et à la politique de l’asile. Nous sommes également responsables du réseau Migration au sein du SECO.

Dernière modification 04.02.2016

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/seco/Staatssekretariat_fuer_Wirtschaft_SECO/direktion-fuer-arbeit/Personenfreizuegigkeit_Arbeitsbeziehungen.html