South Asia

Asie du Sud

South Asia is the southern region of Asia, consisting of eight countries. It is the most densely populated region in the world, with a rapidly growing population, comprising a quarter of the world's population. India is the largest and most important economy in the region. The eight countries of the region are members of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC), an intergovernmental organisation established in 1985 that promotes the development of economic and regional integration. South Asia's economy is mainly based on agriculture and industry. The importance of services is also growing. Switzerland maintains close economic ties with the countries of South Asia and is an important trading partner and foreign investor in the region.

Last modification 23.08.2022

Top of page


State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
Bilateral economic relations Asia / Oceania
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Bern


Print contact