Free Trade Agreement being negociated

The countries of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) signed a free trade agreement (FTA) with India in Delhi on 10 March 2024 after 16 years of negotiations. This is a significant milestone in Swiss trade policy and makes Switzerland and the other EFTA states the first European partner to conclude an FTA with India.

FTA EFTA–India – FAQ on conclusion of the negotiations

Press releases


Signing of free trade agreement with India

On 10 March Federal Councillor Guy Parmelin and his counterparts from Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway signed a free trade agreement with Indian Trade Minister Piyush Goyal in Delhi. Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Swiss President Viola Amherd sent video messages for the signing ceremony.

Specialist staff
Last modification 10.03.2024

Top of page