Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CEPA) between the EFTA States and Indonesia, signed on 16.12.2018

The EFTA States (Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) and Indonesia signed a Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement, CEPA in Jakarta on 16 December 2018.

The agreement will increase legal certainty, improve the predictability of the bilateral economic relations and promote cooperation between the authorities. Parliament adopted the CEPA in the 2019 winter session. The referendum was submitted on 22 June 2020.

Tariff concessions are designed in such a way that all major Swiss export sectors can benefit from the agreement, including both industry and producers of agricultural products. In return, Switzerland will grant Indonesia duty-free access for industrial products. The tariff concessions granted in the agricultural sector are essentially the same as those in other free trade agreements.

However, the concessions regarding palm oil are a first for Switzerland. Provision is therefore made for accompanying measures providing clear requirements for sustainable palm oil trade (see below: Concessions regarding palm oil and Sustainability requirements for palm oil). Switzerland thus contributes towards international efforts to improve sustainability standards in this area.


Specialist staff
Last modification 29.10.2020

Top of page