OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises

The OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises consist of recommendations from the governments of the 38 OECD members and other states (Argentina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Costa Rica, Croatia, Egypt, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Morocco, Peru, Romania, Tunisia and Ukraine) to companies operating from their sovereign territory. An updated version of the OECD Guidelines was accepted by the OECD Ministerial Conference on 25 May 2011. The OECD Guidelines give a comprehensive list of topics that describe responsible business conduct (corporate social responsibility) and are applicable to multinationals from the signatory states wherever they are operating. The Guidelines are an important tool in shaping globalisation.

The OECD Guidelines are the oldest comprehensive code of conduct that provides businesses with a framework for corporate social responsibility (CSR). They were negotiated multilaterally and adopted in 1976. Their stated aim was to guarantee the harmonisation of multinationals' activities with public policies, strengthen the basis of trust between companies and their host country, improve the climate for foreign investments and boost the contribution of multinational enterprises to sustainable development. The principles are voluntary and not of a binding nature. Member states, however, have undertaken to set up a National Contact Point (NCP) to which any non-compliance with the Guidelines can be reported. The NCPs will then proceed with informal arbitration proceedings.

The Guidelines are an integral part of the OECD Declaration on International Investments and Multinational Enterprises. They are a package of measures designed to promote direct investments between OECD states. The OECD Investment Committee monitors the Guidelines and organises a regular exchange of views.

Stocktaking on the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises

The OECD Guidelines reflect the expectation from 50 governments to businesses on human rights, labour conditions, the environment, the prevention of bribery, consumer interests, as well as information disclosure, science and technology, competition, and taxation. The purpose of the stocktaking is to take account of the key developments, achievements and challenges related to the Guidelines and their unique grievance mechanism the National Contact Points.

The OECD has conducted a public consultation to ensure the stocktaking exercise benefits from views and experiences of all stakeholders. Based on this exercise, options to ensure the continued relevance and effectiveness of the Guidelines in advancing responsible business conduct will be explored. 


Last modification 14.06.2022

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
International Investment & Multinational Enterprises
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Bern

E-mail

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/nachhaltigkeit_unternehmen/oecd-guidelines.html

Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales

Les Principes directeurs de l'OCDE à l'intention des entreprises multinationales sont des recommandations faites par les gouvernements des 38 Etats membres de l’OCDE et d'autres Etats (Argentine, Brésil, Bulgarie, Costa Rica, Croatie, Egypte, Jordanie, Kazakhstan, Maroc, Pérou, Roumanie, Tunisie et Ukraine) aux entreprises opérant depuis leur territoire. Le 25 mai 2011, la réunion ministérielle de l’OCDE à Paris a adopté la version actualisée des principes directeurs, lesquels recensent un catalogue étoffé de thèmes relatifs au comportement responsable des entreprises (responsabilité sociale des entreprises ou RSE), qui s’appliquent partout où des entreprises multinationales des Etats signataires exercent leurs activités. Les principes directeurs sont un instrument important pour accompagner et orienter la mondialisation.

Les Principes directeurs de l'OCDE à l'intention des entreprises multinationales sont les normes de comportement les plus anciennes offrant aux entreprises un cadre en matière de responsabilité sociale (RSE). Ils ont été négociés par la voie multilatérale et adoptés en 1976. Ils visent à garantir la conformité des activités des entreprises multinationales avec les politiques nationales, à renforcer la confiance entre les entreprises et le pays d'accueil, à améliorer les conditions pour les investisseurs étrangers et à renforcer la contribution des entreprises multinationales à un développement durable. Le respect des principes directeurs par les entreprises est volontaire et n'est pas juridiquement contraignant. Les Etats membres se sont toutefois engagés à gérer un point de contact national (PCN) auprès duquel toute violation desdits principes peut être signalée. Le PCN entame alors une procédure de conciliation informelle.

Les principes directeurs font partie intégrante de la Déclaration de l'OCDE sur l'investissement international et les entreprises multinationales. Il s'agit d'un paquet de mesures destinées à favoriser les investissements directs entre Etats de l'OCDE. Le Comité de l'investissement de l'OCDE supervise les principes directeurs et organise un échange d'opinions régulier.

Exercice de bilan sur les Principes Directeurs de l'OCDE à l'intention des Entreprises Multinationales

Les Principes directeurs de l'OCDE reflètent les attentes de 50 gouvernements à l'égard des entreprises concernant les droits de l'homme, les conditions de travail, l'environnement, la prévention de la corruption, les intérêts des consommateurs, ainsi que la publication d'informations, la science et la technologie, la concurrence et la fiscalité. L'objectif du bilan est de prendre en compte les principaux développements, réalisations et défis liés aux Principes directeurs et à leur recours, les Points de contact nationaux.

L'OCDE a organisé une consultation publique pour s'assurer que l'exercice de bilan bénéficie des points de vue et des expériences de toutes les parties prenantes. Sur la base du bilan, les options permettant de garantir la pertinence et l'efficacité des Principes directeurs pour faire progresser la conduite responsable des entreprises seront examinées.


Les principes directeurs de l'OCDE: pour une conduite responsable des entreprises multinationales (PDF, 163 kB, 28.04.2016)Article de Johannes Schneider et Lukas Siegenthaler, paru dans 'la Vie économique' 9-2011

Dernière modification 14.06.2022

Début de la page

Contact

Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie SECO
Investissements internationaux et entreprises multinationales
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Bern

Courriel

Imprimer le contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/nachhaltigkeit_unternehmen/oecd-guidelines.html