Location promotion

Location promotion

In order to hold its ground in the competition for business locations and to succeed in attracting foreign companies (direct investments), two conditions must be met:

  • Good economic conditions for business activities;
  • Awareness of Switzerland's appeal as a business location among decision-makers.

Informing potentially interested investors and businesses about the locational advantages in Switzerland are therefore just as important as the individual locational advantages themselves (including flexible labour markets, highly qualified workers and a relatively low tax burden). This is an important task for the national location promotion. Through targeted public relations and marketing activities, the Agency identifies potential investors in selected target markets. In addition, it coordinates the activities of the various actors and contributes to the uniform identity of Switzerland abroad.

Under the Federal Act on the Promotion of Switzerland as a Business Location (SR 194.2), the federal government has promoted the establishment of foreign companies in Switzerland since 1996 within the framework of the «Switzerland. Trade & Investment Promotion» [1] programme. Encouraging specific companies to base themselves in Switzerland is and remains the core task of the cantons. This division of labour makes sense and is a good example of the implementation of a joint task between the federal government and the cantons.

Since 1 January 2008, Switzerland Global Enterprise (formerly known as Osec), a private association, has assumed operational responsibility for the federal government's location promotion programme. A corresponding service agreement was concluded between SECO and Switzerland Global Enterprise (S-GE) for 2016 - 2019.

SECO's Export and Location Promotion Section in turn supervises the external service provider, develops strategies for location promotion and, as the competent administrative authority, represents Switzerland's interests as a location for business in the context of economic policy legislation.

Switzerland Global Enterprise
Stampfenbachstrasse 85
CH-8006 Zurich
Tel. +41 (0)44 365 51 51


[1] «Switzerland. Trade & Investment Promotion» is the official name for the location promotion programme, administrated by S-GE under a service agreement with SECO. This programme name is also a registered trademark of SECO.

Publications

S-GE-Geschäftsbericht 2015 (PDF, 2 MB, 22.03.2016)Only available in German and French

Evaluation Nationale Standortpromotion - Schlussbericht (PDF, 1 MB, 24.02.2016)Infras, IMP-HSG, Eco'Diagnostic. August 2014
Only available in German

Evaluation Nationale Standortpromotion - Zusammenfassung (PDF, 122 kB, 24.02.2016)Infras, IMP-HSG, Eco'Diagnostic. August 2014
Only available in German and French

Regionalökonomische Auswirkungen von Firmenansiedlungen (PDF, 331 kB, 24.02.2016)Die Volkswirtschaft, 9/2012
Only available in German and French

Last modification 18.05.2016

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
Export and Location Promotion
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Berne
Tel. +41 58 464 86 06
Fax +41 58 464 86 00

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Standortfoerderung/Exportfoerderung_Standortpromotion/standortpromotion.html

Promotion de la place économique

Promotion de la place économique

La Suisse doit remplir deux conditions essentielles pour s'imposer face à la concurrence internationale et attirer des entreprises (investissements directs):

  • créer un cadre économique favorable à l'activité des entreprises;
  • faire connaître aux décideurs les bonnes conditions d'implantation qu'offre la Suisse.

Il ne suffit pas de disposer d'avantages comparatifs importants (marchés du travail flexibles, main-d'œuvre hautement qualifiée, faible charge fiscale, etc.), encore faut-il porter ces atouts à la connaissance des investisseurs et des entreprises potentiellement intéressés. Cette tâche importante incombe à la promotion de la place économique suisse, laquelle identifie, par des contacts et des activités de marketing ciblés, les investisseurs potentiels des marchés visés, coordonne les activités des différents acteurs et contribue à une image homogène de la Suisse à l'étranger.

Sur la base de la loi fédérale concernant la promotion des conditions d'implantations des entreprises en Suisse (RS 194.2),la Suisse encourage depuis 1996, dans le cadre du programme «Switzerland. Trade & Investment Promotion» [1], l'implantation d'entreprises étrangères en Suisse. L'implantation proprement dite des entreprises relève cependant au premier chef des cantons. Ce judicieux partage des tâches illustre de manière exemplaire la mise en œuvre d'une mission commune de la Confédération et des cantons.

Depuis le 1er janvier 2008, l'organisme de droit privé Switzerland Global Enterprise (anciennement l'Osec) assure la direction opérationnelle de la promotion économique de la Confédération. A cet effet, une convention de prestations a été conclue entre le SECO et Switzerland Global Enterprise (S-GE) pour la période allant de 2016 à 2019.

De son côté, le secteur Promotion des exportations / Promotion de la place économique du SECO exerce la surveillance des prestataires externes, développe les bases stratégiques de la promotion de la place économique et défend, en tant que service administratif compétent, les intérêts de la place économique suisse dans le cadre de la législation sur la politique économique.

Switzerland Global Enterprise
Stampfenbachstrasse 85
CH-8006 Zurich
Tél. +41 44 365 51 51


[1] «Switzerland. Trade & Investment Promotion» est la désignation officielle du programme de promotion de la place économique que S-GE déploie sur la base d'une convention de prestations conclue avec le SECO. Cette désignation est en outre une marque enregistrée du SECO.

Dernière modification 18.05.2016

Début de la page

Contact

Secrétariat d'Etat à l'Economie SECO
Promotion des exportations / Promotion de la place économique
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Berne
Tél. +41 58 464 86 06
Fax +41 58 464 86 00

Imprimer le contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Standortfoerderung/Exportfoerderung_Standortpromotion/standortpromotion.html