Location promotion

Location promotion

In order to hold its ground in the competition for business locations and to succeed in attracting foreign companies (direct investments), two conditions must be met:

  • Good economic conditions for business activities;
  • Awareness of Switzerland's appeal as a business location among decision-makers.

Informing potentially interested investors and businesses about the locational advantages in Switzerland are therefore just as important as the individual locational advantages themselves (including flexible labour markets, highly qualified workers and a relatively low tax burden). This is an important task for the national location promotion. Through targeted public relations and marketing activities, the Agency identifies potential investors in selected target markets. In addition, it coordinates the activities of the various actors and contributes to the uniform identity of Switzerland abroad.

Under the Federal Act on the Promotion of Switzerland as a Business Location (SR 194.2), the federal government has promoted the establishment of foreign companies in Switzerland since 1996 within the framework of the «Switzerland. Trade & Investment Promotion» [1] programme. Encouraging specific companies to base themselves in Switzerland is and remains the core task of the cantons. This division of labour makes sense and is a good example of the implementation of a joint task between the federal government and the cantons.

Since 1 January 2008, Switzerland Global Enterprise (formerly known as Osec), a private association, has assumed operational responsibility for the federal government's location promotion programme. A corresponding service agreement was concluded between SECO and Switzerland Global Enterprise (S-GE) for 2016 - 2019.

SECO's Export and Location Promotion Section in turn supervises the external service provider, develops strategies for location promotion and, as the competent administrative authority, represents Switzerland's interests as a location for business in the context of economic policy legislation.

Switzerland Global Enterprise
Stampfenbachstrasse 85
CH-8006 Zurich
Tel. +41 (0)44 365 51 51


[1] «Switzerland. Trade & Investment Promotion» is the official name for the location promotion programme, administrated by S-GE under a service agreement with SECO. This programme name is also a registered trademark of SECO.

Publications

S-GE-Geschäftsbericht 2015 (PDF, 2 MB, 22.03.2016)Only available in German and French

Evaluation Nationale Standortpromotion - Schlussbericht (PDF, 1 MB, 24.02.2016)Infras, IMP-HSG, Eco'Diagnostic. August 2014
Only available in German

Evaluation Nationale Standortpromotion - Zusammenfassung (PDF, 122 kB, 24.02.2016)Infras, IMP-HSG, Eco'Diagnostic. August 2014
Only available in German and French

Regionalökonomische Auswirkungen von Firmenansiedlungen (PDF, 331 kB, 24.02.2016)Die Volkswirtschaft, 9/2012
Only available in German and French

Last modification 18.05.2016

Top of page

Contact

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
Export and Location Promotion
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Berne
Tel. +41 58 464 86 06
Fax +41 58 464 86 00

Print contact

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Standortfoerderung/Exportfoerderung_Standortpromotion/standortpromotion.html

Standortpromotion

Standortpromotion

Um im Standortwettbewerb bestehen zu können und bei der Ansiedlung ausländischer Unternehmen (Direktinvestitionen) erfolgreich zu sein, sind zwei Bedingungen zu erfüllen:

  • Gute volkswirtschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen für unternehmerische Tätigkeiten;
  • Wissen um die Attraktivität des Unternehmensstandortes Schweiz bei Entscheidungsträgern.

Ebenso wichtig wie die einzelnen Standortvorteile (z.B. flexible Arbeitsmärkte, hohe Qualifikation der Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmer, verhältnismässig geringe Steuerlast u.a.m.) ist es also, potenziell interessierte Investoren und Unternehmen darüber zu informieren. Dies ist eine wichtige Aufgabe der nationalen Standortpromotion. Durch gezielte Kontaktpflege und Marketingaktivitäten identifiziert die nationale Standortpromotion mögliche Investoren in ausgewählten Zielmärkten. Zudem koordiniert sie die Aktivitäten der verschiedenen Akteure und leistet einen Beitrag zum einheitlichen Auftritt der Schweiz im Ausland.

Auf Grundlage des Bundesgesetzes zur Förderung der Information über den Unternehmensstandort Schweiz (SR 194.2) fördert der Bund seit 1996 im Rahmen des Programms «Switzerland. Trade & Investment Promotion» [1] die Ansiedlung ausländischer Unternehmen in der Schweiz. Die konkrete Ansiedlung der Unternehmen ist und bleibt Kernaufgabe der Kantone. Diese Arbeitsteilung ist sinnvoll und ein gutes Beispiel für die Umsetzung einer Verbundsaufgabe zwischen Bund und Kantonen.

Seit 1. Januar 2008 nimmt der privatrechtliche Verein Switzerland Global Enterprise (vormals Osec) die operative Verantwortung für die Standortpromotion des Bundes wahr. Dazu wurde zwischen dem SECO und Switzerland Global Enterprise (S-GE) eine entsprechende Leistungsvereinbarung für die Jahre 2016-2019 abgeschlossen.

Das Ressort Exportförderung / Standortpromotion des SECO seinerseits übt die Aufsicht über den externen Leistungserbringer aus, entwickelt die strategischen Grundlagen im Bereich Standortpromotion weiter und vertritt als zuständige Verwaltungsstelle die Anliegen des Unternehmensstandorts Schweiz im Rahmen der wirtschaftspolitischen Gesetzgebung.

Switzerland Global Enterprise
Stampfenbachstrasse 85
CH-8006 Zürich
Tel. +41 44 365 51 51


[1] «Switzerland. Trade & Investment Promotion» ist die offizielle Bezeichnung für das Standortpromotionsprogramm, welches S-GE gestützt auf eine Leistungsvereinbarung mit dem SECO ausführt. Diese Programmbezeichnung ist zudem eine eingetragene Marke des SECO.

Letzte Änderung 13.05.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO
Ressort Exportförderung / Standortpromotion
Holzikofenweg 36
3003 Bern
Tel. +41 58 464 86 06
Fax +41 58 464 86 00

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Standortfoerderung/Exportfoerderung_Standortpromotion/standortpromotion.html