Promotion Activities Directorate

Swiss companies must respond to global competition on a daily basis. The Promotion Activities Directorate provides support to companies, benefiting the economy as a whole.

The Promotion Activities Directorate’s key responsibilities at a glance

  • SME policy 
  • Export promotion 
  • Location promotion 
  • Regional and spatial planning policy 
  • Tourism policy

Over 99 per cent of companies in Switzerland are small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). They employ two thirds of the working population and are therefore often regarded as the backbone of our economy. SMEs are often heavily affected by administrative burdens and structural changes. The Promotion Activities Directorate helps improve the framework conditions for SMEs, facilitates access to financing and provides specific funding instruments to help boost their economic performance. In doing so, it seeks to harness the opportunities offered by digital transformation.

For exporters and investors

The Swiss economy is heavily dependent on foreign trade. The Directorate helps Swiss companies that export goods and services. Switzerland Global Enterprise (S-GE), mandated by SECO, supports SMEs in accessing and positioning themselves in foreign markets.

The Directorate also supervises the Swiss Export Risk Insurance (SERV), which provides Swiss companies with insurance against economic and political risks for their export business.

Switzerland requires good macroeconomic framework conditions to remain an attractive business location on the international stage and to help foreign companies locate to Switzerland (direct investments). These include a flexible labour market, a highly qualified workforce and a moderate tax burden. However, this alone is not enough. As part of its location promotion activities, the federal government and the cantons – via S-GE – provide potential investors with all the important facts about what Switzerland has to offer as a location for business and research, and advise them on sustainable location opportunities in Switzerland.

Promoting regions for a stronger Switzerland

The Directorate supports structurally disadvantaged areas in rural areas and in mountain and border regions, and strengthens their competitiveness. It provides grants and loans to promote projects linked to innovation, cooperation, knowledge transfer and key infrastracture in accordance with the New Regional Policy (NRP). The aim is to improve the quality of the regions as a business location. The NRP also sets out incentives for inter-cantonal and cross-border cooperation in functional areas to make better use of their potential for economic development. Regional policy thus contributes to coherent spatial development.

Tourism has huge significance for the Swiss economy, especially in the Alpine region. For this reason, the Directorate creates favourable framework conditions for tourism businesses. It supports innovation and investment activities as well as cooperation and knowledge building in the Swiss tourism sector. The Directorate also promotes the marketing of Switzerland as a travel destination through a mandate to Switzerland Tourism, and supports the hotel and lodging industry through a mandate to the Swiss Association for Hotel Credit.

Last modification 05.01.2021

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/seco_portraet/direktion_standortfoerderung.html

Direction de la promotion économique

Les entreprises suisses se frottent au quotidien à la concurrence mondiale. La Direction de la promotion économique les soutient dans ce contexte, pour le bien de l’ensemble de l’économie.

Les principales tâches en bref

  • Politique PME 
  • Promotion des exportations 
  • Promotion de la place économique 
  • Politique régionale et d’organisation du territoire 
  • Politique du tourisme

Plus de 99% des entreprises en Suisse sont des PME. Elles emploient au total deux tiers des actifs et sont donc souvent qualifiées d’épine dorsale de notre économie. Les PME souffrent souvent fortement de la charge administrative et du changement structurel. La Direction de la promotion économique (DS) s’attache à améliorer les conditionscadre pour les PME, à faciliter leur accès au financement et à accroître leur performance économique par des instruments de promotion ciblés. Saisir les opportunités de la numérisation fait également partie de l’équation.

Pour les exportateurs et les investisseurs

L’économie suisse est fortement tributaire du commerce extérieur. La Direction de la promotion économique aide les entreprises suisses à exporter leurs marchandises et leurs services. Par le biais du mandat confié à Switzerland Global Enterprise (S-GE), elle aide les PME à accéder aux marchés étrangers et à se positionner sur le plan international.

Elle supervise en outre l’Assurance suisse contre les risques à l’exportation (SERV), qui assure les opérations d’exportation d’entreprises suisses contre les risques économiques et politiques.

Afin de maintenir sa compétitivité à l’échelle mondiale et d’attirer des entreprises étrangères (investissements directs), la Suisse a besoin d’un cadre économique favorable, qui se caractérise notamment par la souplesse du marché du travail, le niveau de qualification élevé de la main-d’œuvre et une charge fiscale modérée. Toutefois, c’est loin de suffire. Dans le cadre de la promotion économique, la Confédération et les cantons informent, par le truchement de S-GE, des principales caractéristiques de la place économique et scientifique suisse. Ils accompagnent en outre les investisseurs potentiels désireux de s’implanter en Suisse dans le respect des principes du développement durable.

Promouvoir les régions – renforcer la Suisse

La Direction de la promotion économique soutient les zones structurellement faibles situées dans l’espace rural en général, les régions de montagne et les régions frontalières, et renforce leur compétitivité. Elle encourage par des contributions et des prêts, au titre de la nouvelle politique régionale (NPR), les projets réalisés dans les domaines de l’innovation, de la coopération, du transfert de savoir et des infrastructures clés. Son objectif est de renforcer l’attrait économique des régions. La NPR favorise en outre la coopération intercantonale et transfrontalière au sein d’espaces économiques fonctionnels afin de mieux exploiter leur potentiel de développement économique. La politique régionale concourt ainsi au développement cohérent du territoire.

Le tourisme revêt une importance considérable pour l’économie suisse, notamment dans l’Arc alpin. C’est la raison pour laquelle la Direction de la promotion économique s’attache à créer des conditions favorables aux entreprises touristiques. Elle soutient les activités liées à l’innovation et à l’investissement ainsi que la collaboration et la professionnalisation dans le secteur touristique suisse. Elle promeut par ailleurs le marketing de la Suisse en tant que destination touristique à travers le mandat confié à Suisse Tourisme (ST), et soutient le secteur de l’hébergement via le mandat confié à la Société suisse de crédit hôtelier (SCH).

Dernière modification 20.01.2021

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/seco/seco_portraet/direktion_standortfoerderung.html