Brexit

The United Kingdom is an important economic partner for Switzerland. In 2018, the United Kingdom was the sixth largest destination for Swiss goods (CHF 8.8bn) and the eighth largest source market for goods imported to Switzerland (CHF 7.7bn). At present, relations between Switzerland and the United Kingdom  are predominantly governed by the bilateral agreements with the European Union (EU), which will cease to apply to the United Kingdom after it leaves the EU. Switzerland wants to ensure that the existing mutual rights and obligations in its relationship with the United Kingdom continue to apply as far as possible after the United Kingdom leaves the EU, and to expand them if appropriate (‘Mind the gap’ strategy). Switzerland has concluded a trade agreement with the United Kingdom to this end. 

The trade agreement signed on 11 February 2019 in Bern ensures the continuation of the economic and commercial rights and obligations between Switzerland and the United Kingdom arising from the agreements between Switzerland and the EU. It lays the foundations for future economic and trade relations between Switzerland and the United Kingdom, both in the event of a ‘disorderly Brexit’ (‘no-deal’) and in the event of an orderly withdrawal (‘deal’).

The Agreement on the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the EU (‘Withdrawal Agreement’), negotiated between the United Kingdom and the EU, envisages a transition period set to run from the day the United Kingdom  exits the EU until at least 31 December 2020 (‘deal scenario’). During this period, the United Kingdom will continue to be part of the single market and the customs union. Under this scenario, the existing terms of the Swiss-EU bilateral agreements will continue to apply between Switzerland and the United Kingdom, with no changes to the current status quo. In this case, the trade agreement would enter into force after the end of the transition period.

However, given the uncertainty surrounding the ratification of the Withdrawal Agreement, the possibility of a ‘disorderly Brexit’, without a transition period in place, cannot be ruled out (‘no-deal scenario’). In the event of a no-deal, the trade agreement between Switzerland and the United Kingdom will be applied provisionally from the day the United Kingdom leaves the EU. The withdrawal date, initially set for 29 March 2019, has been extended by the European Council to 31 October 2019 at the latest.

The trade agreement replicates the vast majority of the trade agreements currently governing relations between Switzerland and the United Kingdom: the 1972 Free Trade Agreement, the Agreement on Public Procurement, the Agreement on the Fight against Fraud, part of the Agreement on Mutual Recognition in relation to Conformity Assessment and the 1999 Agricultural Agreement. Some agreements between Switzerland and the EU are based on the harmonisation or recognition of equivalence of rules between Switzerland and the EU (2009 Agreement on Customs Facilitation and Security, certain sections of the Agricultural Agreement including the ‘Veterinary Agreement’ Annex, and certain sections of the Agreement on Mutual Recognition in relation to Conformity Assessment) and cannot be fully replicated at this stage.

The implications of these scenarios for economic actors are explained in detail in the following document: Economic relations between Switzerland and the United Kingdom after Brexit (as of 29.03.2019) (PDF, 225 kB, 29.03.2019).

On 15 May 2019, the Federal Council opened consultation proceedings on the trade agreement. The consultation will end on 5 September 2019. The Federal Council will then submit the dispatch on approving the agreement to Parliament.

Texts of the agreements signed between Switzerland and the United Kingdom on 11 February 2019

Text of the Memorandum of Understanding signed between the SECO and the Department for International Trade

Last modification 15.05.2019

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/brexit.html

Brexit

Das Vereinigte Königreich ist wirtschaftlich ein wichtiger Partner der Schweiz. Es war 2018 der sechstwichtigste Absatzmarkt für Schweizer Warenexporte (8,8 Mrd. Franken) und der achtgrösste Herkunftsmarkt für Warenimporte (7,7 Mrd. Franken). Die Beziehungen Schweiz–Vereinigtes Königreich basieren zum heutigen Zeitpunkt massgeblich auf den bilateralen Abkommen mit der Europäischen Union (EU), die nach dem EU-Austritt nicht mehr auf das Vereinigte Königreich anwendbar sein werden. Die Schweiz will im Verhältnis mit dem Vereinigten Königreich die bestehenden gegenseitigen Rechte und Pflichten über den Zeitpunkt des EU-Austritts des Vereinigten Königreichs hinaus so weit als möglich sicherstellen und allenfalls ausbauen (Strategie «Mind the Gap»). Zu diesem Zweck hat die Schweiz ein Handelsabkommen mit dem Vereinigten Königreich abgeschlossen. 

Das am 11. Februar 2019 in Bern unterzeichnete Handelsabkommen gewährleistet die Fortführung der Rechte und Pflichten im Wirtschafts- und Handelsbereich gemäss den zwischen der Schweiz und der Europäischen Union (EU) bestehenden Abkommen. Es bildet die Grundlagen für die künftigen wirtschaftlichen und handelspolitischen Beziehungen zwischen der Schweiz und dem Vereinigten Königreich sowohl für den Fall, dass dieses die EU ohne Abkommen («No-Deal») verlässt, als auch für den Fall, dass es geordnet aus der EU austritt («Deal»).

Das zwischen dem Vereinigten Königreich und der EU ausgehandelte Austrittsabkommen («Withdrawal Agreement») sieht eine Übergangsphase vor, die vom Austrittsdatum bis mindestens zum 31. Dezember 2020 dauern würde («Deal»-Szenario»). Während dieser Übergangsphase wäre das Vereinigte Königreich weiterhin Teil des europäischen Binnenmarktes und der Zollunion. Die Bestimmungen aus den bilateralen Abkommen Schweiz−EU wären damit auch weiterhin auf die Beziehungen zwischen der Schweiz und dem Vereinigten Königreich anwendbar, womit sich im Vergleich zur heutigen Situation nichts ändern würde. In diesem Fall würde das Handelsabkommen nach Ablauf der Übergangsperiode in Kraft treten.

Da es nach wie vor sehr unsicher ist, ob das «Withdrawal Agreement» zwischen dem Vereinigten Königreich und der EU ratifiziert wird, ist nicht auszuschliessen, dass die Übergangsphase nicht zustande kommt und das Vereinigte Königreich «ungeordnet» aus der EU austritt («No-Deal»). Im Falle eines No-Deals würde das Handelsabkommen zwischen der Schweiz und dem Vereinigten Königreich ab dem Datum des Austritts aus der EU provisorisch angewendet. Das ursprünglich auf den 29. März 2019 festgelegte Austrittsdatum wurde vom Europäischen Rat auf den 31. Oktober 2019 verschoben.

Das abgeschlossene Handelsabkommen stellt eine Replikation eines Grossteils der Handelsabkommen dar, die die Beziehungen zwischen der Schweiz und dem Vereinigten Königreich aktuell regeln. Es umfasst das Freihandelsabkommen von 1972, das Übereinkommen über das öffentliche Beschaffungswesen, das Betrugsbekämpfungsabkommen, einen Teil des Abkommens über die gegenseitige Anerkennung von Konformitätsbewertungen (MRA) sowie des Agrarabkommens von 1999. Einige Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und der EU beruhen auf der Harmonisierung oder der Anerkennung der Gleichwertigkeit der Vorschriften zwischen der Schweiz und der EU (Abkommen über Zollerleichterungen und Zollsicherheit von 2009, gewisse Sektoren des Agrarabkommens, darunter der Anhang «Veterinärabkommen», und gewisse Sektoren des MRA) und können daher zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt nicht in ihrer Gesamtheit repliziert werden. 

Die Konsequenzen der einzelnen möglichen Szenarien für die Wirtschafsakteure werden im folgenden Dokument ausführlich behandelt: Wirtschaftsbeziehungen zwischen der Schweiz und dem Vereinigten Königreich nach dem «Brexit» (Stand 29.03.2019) (PDF, 257 kB, 29.03.2019).

Am 15. Mai 2019 eröffnete der Bundesrat die Vernehmlassung zum Handelsabkommen. Diese dauert bis am 5. September 2019. Der Bundesrat wird danach dem Parlament die Botschaft über die Genehmigung des Abkommens übermitteln.

Texte des am 11. Februar 2019 zwischen der Schweiz und dem Vereinigten Königreich unterzeichneten Abkommen

Text des zwischen dem SECO und dem Department for International Trade unterzeichneten Memorandum of Understanding

Letzte Änderung 15.05.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/brexit.html