SECO's board of directors

Board Committee

Marie-Gabrielle Ineichen-Fleisch

Ineichen5

State Secretary Marie-Gabrielle Ineichen-Fleisch (*1961), Attorney, MBA, SECO Director and Director of the Foreign Economic Affairs Directorate since 1 April 2011. From 2007 Federal Council Ambassador and Delegate for Trade Agreements, Switzerland's chief negotiator at the World Trade Organisation (WTO) as well as member of the SECO Board of Directors and in addition to the WTO responsible for the OECD and free trade agreements as head of the World Trade Division in the Foreign Economic Affairs Directorate. Previously, from 1999 to 2007, head of the WTO sector. From 1995 head of section in the WTO section of the Federal Office of Foreign Economic Affairs FOFEA. 1992/1993 she worked at the World Bank (Washington D.C., USA) as assistant to Switzerland's Executive Director's. From 1990 to 1995 scientific adviser in the Legal Service and International Investment and Technology Transfer Service in the FOFEA. 1989 gained her MBA from INSEAD (Fontainebleau, F). 1988 Junior Consultant at McKinsey in Zurich. 1987 gained her law degree at the University of Berne qualifying as an attorney.


Eric Scheidegger

Scheidegger1

Ambassador Eric Scheidegger (*1961), Dr. rer. pol., head of the Economic Policy Directorate since 01.02.2012 and SECO Deputy Director since 01.02.2007. Before this head of the Promotion Activities Directorate from 01.10.2003 untill 31.01.2012. Previously head of SECO's Location Promotion Division from 01.06.2002 untill 30.09.2003. Prior to that, economic policy consultant to Federal Councillor Pascal Couchepin from 1998. Member of the NZZ economic editorial staff and correspondant for economy from 1994 to 1998. Issue Management in the «Gesellschaft zur Förderung der schweizerischen Wirtschaft» (association for the development of the Swiss economy) from 1992 to 1994.

Boris Zürcher

Zuercher1

Boris Zürcher (*1964), Dr. rer. pol., Head of the Labour Directorate since 1.8.2013. Previously Chief Economist and Director of BAK Basel Economics AG, Basel. 2007 to 2012 Chief Economist and Deputy Director at Avenir Suisse, Think Tank for Economic and Social Issues, Zurich. 2002 to 2007 economic policy consultant to Federal Councillors Pascal Couchepin, Joseph Deiss and Doris Leuthard in the Federal Department of Economic Affairs. 1999 to 2002 Head of the Labour Market Policy Division in the SECO. After completing an apprenticeship as a technical draughtsman, studied for university entrance examination through evening classes in parallel with work, took economics and sociology at the University of Berne. Lecturer at the University of Berne since 2003.

Eric Jakob

Jakob1

Ambassador Eric Jakob, (*1962), Dr. phil., Head of the Promotion Activities Directorate since 01.12.2012. Previously General Manager of Regio Basiliensis and the Intercantonal Coordination Office at Regio Basiliensis in Basel. 1995 to 2003 Assistant General Manager of this organisation. From 1993 to 1995 Swiss Adviser to Infobest Palmrain, an information and advisory body for cross-border matters in Village-Neuf (France). Prior to that Senior Project Leader within the framework of the PTT Initiative at that time «Communication and Model Community Basel», also worked as a journalist.


Board

The board includes all members of the board committee plus the following members:

Thomas A. Zimmermann

Zimmermann1

Thomas A. Zimmermann (*1971), Dr. oec., Head of the Organisation, Law and Accreditation Directorate since 01.05.2009. Previously head of the Staff Unit at SECO from 01.04.2006, Senior Desk Officer for North America in the Bilateral Economic Relations Division from 2003 - 2006. Research Associate at the Swiss Institute for International Economics and Applied Economic Research at the University of St. Gallen from 1998-2003.

Pascal Richoz

FOT_6043

Pascal Richoz (*1963), lic. ès lettres, Head of the Working Conditions Division since 1 September 2008. In the six months prior to that he acted as head of the Asylum Procedure Division at the Federal Office for Migration. Between 1990 and 2002, he was deputy head of section, then head of section and deputy head of division within the Stay and Return Division of the Federal Office for Refugees. Between 1989 and 1990, he assisted and advised the Delegate for Refugees. Between 1987 and 1989, he served on the staff of the Cantonal Aliens' Registration Office in Fribourg before becoming deputy head of section.

Peter Gasser

Peter_Gasser_Web_2017_dop

Ambassador Peter Gasser (*1960), Attorney, head of the Free Movement of Persons and Labour Relations Divison in the Labour Directorate since January 1st 2008. As from 1997 head of the Basics and Analysis Unit in the Labour Market/ Unemployment Insurance Division. From 1992 to 1997 head of the International Labour Affairs Service in the Labour Market Division of the former FOEDL, Deputy Head of Bilateral Negotiations with the EU concerning Free Movement of Persons. Entrance into FOEDL as Scientific Collaborator in the Labour Market Division on June 1st 1989.

Oliver Schärli

Schaerli1

Oliver Schärli (*1973), lic. phil. I / MBA, head of the Labour Market/Unemployment Insurance Division in the Labour Directorate since 1st September 2014. As deputy head of the Labour Market/Unemployment Insurance Division, from August 2012 he was previously responsible for the Policy and Implementation Divisions. Between July 2010 and July 2012, as deputy head of the  America Unit in the Foreign Economic Affairs Directorate, he was responsible, amongst other things, for the countries of the USA, Canada and Mexico. In August 2007 he joined the SECO as Head of Group for Education and Employment in the Labour Market Activities Unit of the Labour Market/Unemployment Insurance Division.

Christian Etter

Christian Etter, chef des Services spécialisés économie extérieure à la Direction des affaires économiques extérieures

Ambassador Christian Etter, (*1953), Dr. rer. pol., Federal Council Delegate for Trade Agreements; head of the Special Foreign Economic Service Division in the Foreign Economic Affairs Directorate. Previously he was head of the EFTA/Free Trade Agreemetns Division in SECO/IO (from 2000). From 1996 to 2000 he was head of the Division for Financial, Economic and Trade Affairs at the Embassy of Switzerland in Washington, D.C. with the title of a diplomatic Minister. From 1991 to 1996 he was head of the International Services Division of the former Federal Office for Foreign Economic Affairs. He joined the FOFEA in 1985 as an economist.

Didier Chambovey

Chambovey2

Ambassador Didier Chambovey (*1961), Dr. oec. head of the Swiss Permanent Mission to the WTO and EFTA in Geneva since 1st September 2016. Previously, Federal Council Ambassador and Delegate for Trade Agreements, and head of the World Trade Division in the Foreign Economic Affairs Directorate. From 2006 to 2011, he was Deputy Secretary-General of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA). From 1998 to 2006 he served as deputy head of the Swiss Permanent Mission to the WTO and EFTA in Geneva. Before his appointment as section head in the WTO Division in 1993, he worked in the field of economic cooperation with the countries of Central and Eastern Europe. Didier Chambovey joined the Federal Office for Foreign Economic Affairs (FOFEA) in 1987 as scientific adviser in the GATT Division.

Raymund Furrer

furrer

Ambassador Raymund Furrer (*1960), lic.phil. l. Since 1 October 2015 in charge of the Economic Cooperation and Development Division and Delegate of the Swiss Government for Trade Agreements. Before this, Head of the Swiss Business Hub in the Gulf Countries and since 1 April 2014 additionally Consul General of Switzerland in Dubai. Between April 2008 and August 2012 heading the Multilateral Cooperation Division. Before this, Senior Advisor of the Executive Director at the World Bank in Washington, head of the Bilateral Economic Relations with Asia at SECO, Head of a WTO section at the Federal Office for Foreign Economic Affairs, first Secretary of the Swiss Delegation of the OECD at Paris, as well as employments at the Asian Development Bank and at the private Sector.

Markus Schlagenhof

foto_schlagenhof

Ambassador Markus Schlagenhof (*1965), lic.rer.publ. HSG, LL.M., Delegate of the Federal Council for Trade Agreements and head of the World Trade Division in the Foreign Economic Affairs Directorate since 1st September 2016. Previously, head of the WTO unit of the World Trade Division. From 2008 to 2012, head of the International Movement of Goods unit of the Special Foreign Economic Service Division, where he served as deputy head from 2006. In 2001, he was seconded to the Embassy of Switzerland in London as deputy head of the business section. From 1998 to 2001, deputy head of the Technical Barriers to Trade unit. In 1995, he joined the former Federal Office for Foreign Economic Affairs (FOFEA) and worked as an associate researcher in the WTO unit.


 

Livia Leu

Leu2

Ambassador Livia Leu (*1961), lic. iur., attorney-at-law, Delegate of the Federal Council for Trade Agreements and Head of the Bilateral Economic Relations Division at the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO), Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER), since 01.08.2013. From 2009 to 2013 Swiss Ambassador to the Islamic Republic of Iran. From 2006 to 2008 Head of the Policy Division for Africa/Middle East in the Federal Department for Foreign Affairs (FDFA), Deputy Head from 2004 to 2006. 1998 to 2002 Deputy Head of Mission at the Swiss Embassy in the Arab Republic of Egypt. From 1994 to 1998 Councillor at the Swiss Permanent Observer Mission at the UN in New York. In 1989 she joined the FDFA. After two years of diplomatic training member of the diplomatic staff in the UN section of the FDFA from 1991 to 1994.

Last modification 02.10.2017

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/seco/Geschaftsleitung.html

Geschäftsleitung

Geschäftsleitungsausschuss

Marie-Gabrielle Ineichen-Fleisch

Ineichen5

Staatssekretärin Marie-Gabrielle Ineichen-Fleisch (*1961) Fürsprecherin, MBA, seit 1. April 2011 Direktorin des SECO sowie Direktorin der Direktion für Aussenwirtschaft. Ab 2007 Botschafterin und Delegierte des Bundesrates für Handelsverträge, Chefunterhändlerin der Schweiz bei der Welthandelsorganisation (WTO) sowie Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung SECO und neben der WTO zuständig für die OECD und Freihandelsabkommen als Leiterin des Bereichs Welthandel in der Direktion für Aussenwirtschaft. Zuvor von 1999 bis 2007 Leiterin des Ressorts WTO. Seit 1995 Sektionschefin in der Abteilung WTO des Bundesamts für Aussenwirtschaft (BAWI). 1992/1993 bei der Weltbank (Washington D.C., USA) als Executive Director's Assistant des schweizerischen Exekutivdirektors tätig. Von 1990 bis 1995 wissenschaftliche Adjunktin im Rechtsdienst und Dienst für internationale Investitionsfragen und Technologietransfer im BAWI. 1989 MBA des INSEAD (Fontainebleau, F). 1988 Junior Consultant bei McKinsey in Zürich. 1987 Abschluss des Rechtsstudiums an der Universtität Bern als Fürsprecherin.


Eric Scheidegger

Scheidegger1

Botschafter Eric Scheidegger (*1961), Dr. rer. pol., seit 01.02.2012 Leiter der Direktion für Wirtschaftspolitik und seit 01.02.2007 Stellvertretender Direktor des SECO. Zuvor von 01.10.2003 bis 31.01.2012 Leiter der Direktion für Standortförderung. Zuvor von 01.06.2002 bis 30.09.2003 Leiter des Bereichs Standortförderung im SECO. 1998 bis 2002 wirtschaftspolitischer Berater von Bundesrat Pascal Couchepin. 1994 bis 1998 Mitglied der Wirtschaftsredaktion der NZZ und Wirtschaftskorrespondent NZZ. 1992 bis 1994 Issue Managemement in der «Gesellschaft zur Förderung der schweizerischen Wirtschaft (wf)».

Boris Zürcher

Boris Zürcher (*1964), Dr. rer. pol., seit 1.8.2013 Leiter der Direktion für Arbeit. Zuvor Chefökonom und Direktor der BAK Basel Economics AG, Basel. 2007 bis 2012 Chefökonom und Vizedirektor bei Avenir Suisse, Think Tank for Economic and Social Issues, Zürich. 2002 bis 2007 wirtschaftspolitischer Berater der Bundesräte Pascal Couchepin, Joseph Deiss und der Bundesrätin Doris Leuthard im Eidgenössischen Volkswirtschaftsdepartement. 1999 bis 2002 Ressortleiter Arbeitsmarktpolitik im SECO. Nach einer Lehre als Maschinenzeichner, berufsbegleitende Matura auf dem zweiten Bildungsweg und Studium der Volkswirtschaft und Soziologie an der Universität Bern. Seit 2003 Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität Bern.

Eric Jakob

Jakob1

Botschafter Eric Jakob, (*1962), Dr. phil., seit 01.12.2012 Leiter der Direktion für Standortförderung. Zuvor Geschäftsführer der Regio Basiliensis und der Interkantonalen Koordinationsstelle bei der Regio Basiliensis in Basel. 1995 bis 2003 stellvertretender Geschäftsführer dieser Organisation. Von 1993 bis 1995 Schweizer Berater bei Infobest Palmrain, einer Informations- und Beratungsstelle für grenzüberschreitende Fragen in Village-Neuf (Frankreich). Davor Projektleiterverantwortung im Rahmen der damaligen PTT-Initiative «Kommunikations- und Modellgemeinde Basel» und journalistisch tätig.


Geschäftsleitung

Der Geschäftsleitung gehören alle Mitglieder des Geschäftsleitungsausschusses sowie die folgenden weiteren Mitglieder an:

Thomas A. Zimmermann

Zimmermann1

Thomas A. Zimmermann (*1971), Dr. oec. HSG, seit 01.05.2009 Leiter des Leistungsbereichs Organisation, Recht und Akkreditierung. Zuvor seit 01.04.2006 Leiter des Stabes im SECO, 2003 - 2006 Länderverantwortlicher für Nordamerika im Leistungsbereich Bilaterale Wirtschaftsbeziehungen des SECO. 1998-2003 Research Associate am Schweizerischen Institut für Aussenwirtschaft und Angewandte Wirtschaftsforschung an der Universität St. Gallen (SIAW-HSG).

Pascal Richoz

FOT_6043

Pascal Richoz (*1963), lic. ès lettres, Leiter des Leistungsbereichs Arbeitsbedingungen seit 1. September 2008. Zuvor war er während sechs Jahren als Abteilungsleiter im Direktionsbereich Asylverfahren des Bundesamtes für Migration tätig. Zwischen 1990 und 2002 war er zunächst stellvertretender Sektionschef und anschliessend Sektionschef und stellvertretender Leiter der Abteilung Aufenthalt und Rückkehr des Bundesamtes für Flüchtlinge. 1989 und 1990 arbeitete er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter beim Delegierten für das Flüchtlingswesen. Er begann seine Laufbahn 1987 bis 1989 als Mitarbeiter und anschliessend als stellvertretender Sektionschef in der Abteilung für Fremdenpolizei des Kantons Freiburg.

Peter Gasser

Peter_Gasser_Web_2017_dop

Botschafter Peter Gasser (*1960), Fürsprecher, seit 1.1.2008 Leiter des Bereichs Personenfreizügigkeit und Arbeitsbeziehungen in der Direktion für Arbeit. Ab Oktober 1997 Leiter des Ressorts Grundlagen und Analysen im Bereich Arbeitsmarkt/Arbeitslosenversicherung, von 1992 - September 1997 Leiter des Dienstes für internationale Arbeitsmarktfragen in der Abteilung Arbeitsmarkt des BIGA stv. Verhandlungsleiter für die bilateralen Verhandlungen mit der EU im Bereich der Personenfreizügigkeit. Eintritt ins BIGA am 1.6.1989 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in der Abteilung Arbeitsmarkt.

Oliver Schärli

Schaerli1

Oliver Schärli (*1973), lic. phil. I / MBA, Leiter des Bereichs Arbeitsmarkt/Arbeitslosenversicherung in der Direktion für Arbeit seit 1.9.2014. Zuvor verantwortete er seit August 2012 als stellvertretender Leiter Arbeitsmarkt/Arbeitslosenversicherung die Bereiche Politik und Vollzug. Zwischen Juli 2010 und Juli 2012 als stv. Leiter des Ressorts Amerika in der Direktion für Aussenwirtschaft u.a. für die Länder USA, Kanada und Mexiko zuständig. Im August 2007 Eintritt ins SECO als Gruppenleiter für Bildung und Beschäftigung im Ressort Arbeitsmarktmassnahmen des Leistungsbereichs Arbeitsmarkt/Arbeitslosenversicherung.  

Didier Chambovey

Chambovey2

Botschafter Didier Chambovey (*1961), Dr. oec., seit 1. September 2016 Leiter der Ständigen Mission der Schweiz bei WTO und EFTA in Genf. Zuvor Botschafter und Delegierter des Bundesrates für Handelsverträge, Leiter des Leistungsbereichs Welthandel in der Direktion für Aussenwirtschaft. Von 2006 bis 2011 übte er die Funktion des Stellvertretenden Generalsekretärs der Europäischen Freihandelsassoziation (EFTA) und von 1998 bis 2006 jene des Stellvertretenden Leiters der Ständigen Mission der Schweiz bei der WTO und EFTA in Genf aus. Vor seiner Ernennung zum Sektionschef in der WTO-Abteilung im Jahre 1993 war er im Bereich der wirtschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit für die Länder Zentral- und Osteuropas tätig. Didier Chambovey trat 1987 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Abteilung GATT in den Dienst des damaligen Bundesamtes für Aussenwirtschaft (BAWI) ein.

Raymund Furrer

furrer

Botschafter Raymund Furrer (*1960), lic. phil. l, per 1. Oktober 2015 Leiter des Leistungsbereichs Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung und Delegierter des Bundesrates für Handelsverträge. Zuvor Chef des Swiss Business Hubs in den Golfstaaten und seit 1. April 2014 zusätzlich Generalkonsul in Dubai. April 2008 bis August 2012 Leitung des Ressorts Multilaterale Finanzierungsinstitutionen im Leistungsbereich Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung. Davor Senior Advisor des Schweizer Exekutivdirektors bei der Weltbank in Washington, Leiter des Ressorts Bilaterale Wirtschaftsbeziehungen mit Asien  Leitung einer Sektion WTO im damaligen Bundesamt für Aussenwirtschaft (BAWI), erster Botschaftssekretär der Schweizer Delegation der OECD in Paris, sowie Anstellungen in der Asiatischen Entwicklungsbank und im Privatsektor.

Markus Schlagenhof

foto_schlagenhof

Botschafter Markus Schlagenhof (*1965), lic. rer. publ. HSG, LL.M., Delegierter des Bundesrates für Handelsverträge, Leiter des Leistungsbereichs Welthandel in der Direktion für Aussenwirtschaft seit 1. September 2016. Zuvor leitete er das Ressort WTO im Leistungsbereich Welthandel. Von 2008 bis 2012 führte er das Ressort Internationaler Warenverkehr innerhalb des Leistungsbereichs Aussenwirtschaftliche Fachdienste, in welchem er ab 2006 als stellvertretender Leiter tätig war. 2001 wurde er zur Schweizerischen Botschaft in London als stellvertretender Leiter der Wirtschaftsabteilung detachiert. Zuvor war er von 1998 bis 2001 stellvertretender Leiter im Ressort Technische Handelshemmnisse. 1995 trat er ins Bundesamt für Aussenwirtschaft (BAWI) ein und arbeitete als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Ressort WTO.

Livia Leu

Botschafterin Livia Leu (*1961), lic. iur., Rechtsanwältin, seit 01.08.2013 Leiterin des Leistungsbereiches Bilaterale Wirtschaftsbeziehungen und Delegierte des Bundesrates für Handelsverträge. Von 2009 bis 2013 Botschafterin der Schweiz in der Islamischen Republik Iran. Zuvor von 2006 bis 2008 Leiterin Politische Abteilung Afrika/Nahost im EDA, deren stellvertretende Leitung sie von 2004 bis 2006 innehatte. 1998 bis 2002 stellvertretende Missionschefin der Schweizer Botschaft in der Arabischen Republik Ägypten. Von 1994 bis 1998 Botschaftsrätin der Schweizer Beobachtermission bei der UNO in New York. 1989 Eintritt ins EDA. Nach zweijährigem Diplomatenstage von 1991 bis 1994 Diplomatische Mitarbeiterin in der UNO-Sektion des EDA. Im Anschluss an ihr Rechtsstudium Anwaltspraktikum in Zürich von 1988 bis 1989.

Letzte Änderung 11.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/seco/Geschaftsleitung.html