Acquisition of additional skills and advanced qualifications

To meet the demand for specialists on the Swiss labour market, it is vital for the skills structure of the working population to continually develop in line with the economy’s needs. Over the medium term, this can be achieved on the one hand through the labour market-oriented educational pathway. On the other hand – and in the near term, too – the adult working population can adapt to changing job profiles on the labour market by building on their existing skills, acquiring higher qualifications and continuing their professional development.

Switzerland today already boasts an education system with a complementary offering of vocational and academic study options that ensures a high degree of permeability both within and between the two educational fields. As a result, both young people and adults with quite different interests and strengths have access to vocational and general education opportunities at all levels. A particular hallmark of Switzerland’s vocational training system is its high level of correlation with the labour market, since training content and national qualification procedures are defined by organisations situated in the world of work – professional associations and industry federations, for example.

One focal aim of the federal government’s skilled labour policy is to strengthen the range of advisory services and advanced learning opportunities for adults. It promotes the use of such offerings to help ensure that the working population stays abreast of the labour market’s increasingly demanding skills requirements.


Specialist staff
Last modification 28.02.2022

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Arbeit/Fachkraefteinitiative/nachqualifizierung.html

Formation continue et rehaussement du niveau de qualification

La structure des qualifications de la population active se doit d’évoluer en permanence en fonction des besoins de l’économie afin de répondre à la demande en personnel qualifié sur le marché du travail suisse. D’une part, cette évolution peut se faire à moyen terme par le biais d’un parcours de formation orienté marché du travail. D’autre part, la population active adulte peut répondre à court terme à l’évolution des profils professionnels sur le marché du travail grâce à des formations de rattrapage, des formations complémentaires ou par le biais de la formation continue.

La Suisse dispose déjà d’un système de formation et d’une palette complémentaire de formation professionnelle et formation académique, qui présente une grande perméabilité tant à l’intérieur des domaines de la formation qu’entre eux. Il propose aux jeunes et aux adultes, dont les intérêts et les points forts sont très différents, des offres de formation professionnelle et générale à tous les niveaux. La formation professionnelle se distingue par un fort lien avec le marché du travail, puisque tant les contenus de la formation que les procédures de qualification nationales sont définis par les organisations du monde du travail, telles que les associations professionnelles ou les organisations de branches.

Dans le cadre de la politique de personnel qualifié, la Confédération renforce notamment l’offre de conseil et de formation continue pour les adultes. Il encourage leur utilisation dans le but de permettre à la population active d’évoluer en permanence en fonction des exigences croissantes du marché du travail en matière de qualifications.


Contact spécialisé
Dernière modification 28.02.2022

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Arbeit/Fachkraefteinitiative/nachqualifizierung.html