Investment Chapters in Free Trade Agreements

In addition to BITs, which are intended to protect investments that have already been made in the partner country (post-establishment phase), it is also possible to establish international rules to ensure that investors have free access to markets (pre-establishment phase). This makes it more difficult for the partner country to amend the legislation for protectionist reasons. Switzerland negotiates provisions on the establishment in industrial sectors (chapters on investment) and in services sectors (chapters on trade in services) in its free trade agreements.

The key obligation of the contracting states is the non-discrimination of foreign investors compared to its own investors (national treatment) and compared to investors from a third state (most favoured nation treatment). The contracting states may make reservations to the principle of non-discrimination in specific lists. Switzerland's reservations with regard to national treatment relates to the acquisition of land, to certain provisions of corporate law and to various laws governing the energy sector. Within the framework of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), Switzerland is party to free trade agreements (which include corresponding market access provisions on investment) with Chile, Singapore, South Korea, Colombia, Peru, Ukraine, Hong Kong and several Central American States (Costa Rica, Guatemala, Panama). It has also signed a bilateral free trade agreement with Japan. Deteriorations of investment conditions for investors from partner countries are not allowed. Any discriminatory state measure in a given sector must therefore be compensated for by improvements of access conditions for investments in other sectors.

Specialist staff
Last modification 20.04.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Internationale_Investitionen/Vertragspolitik_der_Schweiz/Investitionskapitel_FHA.html

Chapitre ayant trait aux investissements dans les accords de libre-échange

En plus des API, qui visent à protéger les investissements déjà effectués (phase post-investissement) dans le pays partenaire, il est également possible d'assurer le libre accès au marché pour les investissements (établissement) par le biais de règles de droit international. Cela permet notamment de rendre plus difficile la modification de lois par l'Etat partenaire à des fins protectionnistes. Dans les accords de libre-échange, la Suisse négocie des dispositions en matière d’accès au marché pour les établissements dans les secteurs industriels (chapitre investissement) et dans les secteurs des services (chapitre relatif au commerce des services).

Il s'agit en premier lieu de ne pas discriminer les investisseurs de l'autre partie à l'accord par rapport aux investisseurs locaux (principe du traitement national) et aux investisseurs de pays tiers (principe de la nation la plus favorisée). Dans des listes par pays, les parties peuvent spécifier des réserves au principe de non-discrimination. Les réserves de la Suisse en matière de traitement national se rapportent à l'acquisition de biens immobiliers, à certaines dispositions du droit des sociétés et à des prescriptions dans le domaine de l'énergie. La Suisse a conclu, dans le cadre de l'AELE, des accords de libre-échange contenant ce type d'engagements relatifs à l'accès au marché avec le Chili, Singapour, la Corée du Sud, la Colombie, le Pérou, l'Ukraine, Hong Kong et plusieurs Etats d’Amérique centrale (Costa Rica, Guatemala, Panama) ainsi qu'au niveau bilatéral avec le Japon. La détérioration des conditions d'investissement pour les investisseurs des pays partenaires dans les secteurs réservés n'est pas admise, à moins qu'elle ne soit compensée par des améliorations dans d'autres secteurs.

Contact spécialisé
Dernière modification 20.04.2016

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/Wirtschaftsbeziehungen/Internationale_Investitionen/Vertragspolitik_der_Schweiz/Investitionskapitel_FHA.html