European Economic Area (EEA)

Since its inception, one of EFTA's main objectives was to regulate relations between the European Union (at that time the European Economic Community, EEC) and the EFTA States. A first important step in this regard was taken in 1972, when the EFTA States concluded individual FTAs with the EEC.

From the mid-1980s, the level of economic integration substantially increased within the EU, in particular due to the implementation of the internal market programme (introduction of the "four freedoms": free movement of persons, goods, services and capital). In order to facilitate the participation of the EFTA States in the EU's internal market, the EFTA States and the EU negotiated the Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA). With the exception of Switzerland, all EFTA States ratified the EEA Agreement. Finland, Austria and Sweden became EU members shortly afterwards. Switzerland's accession to the EEA Agreement was rejected in a referendum in 1992. As a consequence, Switzerland has negotiated a series of bilateral sectorial agreements with the EU. The EEA Agreement's membership currently includes the 27 EU Member States on the one hand, and Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein (the so-called EEA-EFTA States) on the other.

The EEA Agreement is regularly revised in order to bring it in line with developments in the relevant EU law (the so-called "acquis communautaire"). As a member of EFTA, Switzerland benefits from an observer status in the EFTA pillar of the EEA. This allows Switzerland to closely monitor and follow developments both of the EEA and the EU's "acquis communautaire".

Last modification 14.03.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/internationale_organisationen/efta/EWR.html

Espace économique européen (EEE)

Dès sa création, l'AELE a eu notamment pour objectif de régler les relations entre ses membres et l'Union européenne (UE, à l'époque Communauté économique européenne, CEE). Une première étape importante fut franchie en 1972, lorsque les pays de l'AELE conclurent des accords de libre-échange individuels avec la CEE.

Dès le milieu des années 80, l'intégration économique s'intensifia au sein de l'UE, particulièrement grâce à la mise en œuvre du programme de marché intérieur (réalisation des quatre libertés: libre circulation des personnes, des marchandises, des services et des capitaux). L'accord sur l'espace économique européen (EEE) fut négocié entre l'UE et les pays de l'AELE pour permettre à ces derniers de participer dans une large mesure au marché intérieur. A l'exception de la Suisse, tous les pays de l'AELE ratifièrent l'Accord sur l'EEE. La Finlande, l'Autriche et la Suède adhérèrent peu de temps après à l'UE. L'adhésion de la Suisse à l'Accord sur l'EEE fut rejeté en 1992 en votation populaire. Depuis la Suisse a négocié une série d'accords bilatéraux avec l'UE. Les 27 pays membres actuels de l'UE d'une part et la Norvège, l'Islande et le Liechtenstein d'autre part (dits Etats EEE-AELE) sont parties contractantes à l'Accord sur l'EEE.

L'accord EEE est régulièrement adapté à l'évolution du droit pertinent de l'UE, à savoir l'acquis communautaire. En outre, la qualité de membre de l'AELE garantit à la Suisse un statut d'observateur au sein du pilier AELE dans l'Espace économique européen (EEE). Cette activité permet à la Suisse de suivre de près l'évolution de l'EEE et du droit européen (acquis communautaire).

Dernière modification 14.03.2016

Début de la page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/fr/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/internationale_organisationen/efta/EWR.html