European Economic Area (EEA)

Since its inception, one of EFTA's main objectives was to regulate relations between the European Union (at that time the European Economic Community, EEC) and the EFTA States. A first important step in this regard was taken in 1972, when the EFTA States concluded individual FTAs with the EEC.

From the mid-1980s, the level of economic integration substantially increased within the EU, in particular due to the implementation of the internal market programme (introduction of the "four freedoms": free movement of persons, goods, services and capital). In order to facilitate the participation of the EFTA States in the EU's internal market, the EFTA States and the EU negotiated the Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA). With the exception of Switzerland, all EFTA States ratified the EEA Agreement. Finland, Austria and Sweden became EU members shortly afterwards. Switzerland's accession to the EEA Agreement was rejected in a referendum in 1992. As a consequence, Switzerland has negotiated a series of bilateral sectorial agreements with the EU. The EEA Agreement's membership currently includes the 27 EU Member States on the one hand, and Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein (the so-called EEA-EFTA States) on the other.

The EEA Agreement is regularly revised in order to bring it in line with developments in the relevant EU law (the so-called "acquis communautaire"). As a member of EFTA, Switzerland benefits from an observer status in the EFTA pillar of the EEA. This allows Switzerland to closely monitor and follow developments both of the EEA and the EU's "acquis communautaire".

Last modification 14.03.2016

Top of page

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/en/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/internationale_organisationen/efta/EWR.html

Europäischer Wirtschaftsraum (EWR)

Bereits bei der Gründung der EFTA war die Regelung der Beziehungen zwischen der Europäischen Union (EU, damals Europäische Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, EWG) und den EFTA-Staaten eines der Ziele der Organisation. Eine erste wichtige Etappe wurde 1972 erreicht, als die EFTA-Staaten individuell Freihandelsabkommen mit der EWG abschlossen.

Ab Mitte der 80er Jahre erhöhte sich der wirtschaftliche Integrationsgrad innerhalb der EU, insbesondere dank der Umsetzung des Binnenmarktprogramms (Realisierung der 4 Freiheiten: freier Personen-, Waren-, Dienstleistungs- und Kapitalverkehr). Um die möglichst weitgehende Teilnahme der EFTA-Staaten am EU-Binnenmarkt zu ermöglichen, handelten die EFTA-Staaten und die EU das Abkommen über den Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum (EWR) aus. Ausser der Schweiz haben alle EFTA-Staaten das EWR-Abkommen ratifiziert. Finnland, Österreich und Schweden sind kurz darauf der EU als Vollmitglieder beigetreten. Der Beitritt der Schweiz zum EWR-Abkommen wurde 1992 in einer Volksabstimmung abgelehnt. Seither hat die Schweiz mit der EU eine Reihe von bilateralen sektoriellen Abkommen ausgehandelt. Vertragsstaaten des EWR-Abkommens sind heute die 27 EU-Mitgliedstaaten einerseits und Norwegen, Island und Liechtenstein (die sog. EWR-EFTA-Staaten) anderseits.

Das EWR-Abkommen wird regelmässig an die Entwicklung des relevanten EG-Rechts (sog. Acquis communautaire) angepasst. Darüber hinaus gewährleistet die Eigenschaft als EFTA-Mitglied der Schweiz den Status als Beobachterin im EFTA-Pfeiler des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraums (EWR). Dies ermöglicht es der Schweiz, die Entwicklung des EWR- und des EG-Rechts (Acquis communautaire) aus der Nähe zu verfolgen.

Letzte Änderung 14.03.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco.admin.ch/content/seco/de/home/Aussenwirtschaftspolitik_Wirtschaftliche_Zusammenarbeit/internationale_organisationen/efta/EWR.html